17 Burst results for "london review of books"

"london review books" Discussed on Spies of London

Spies of London

16:06 min | 1 year ago

"london review books" Discussed on Spies of London

"There for for taking and the KGB took it and assigned it to miladi Once home. Trained up had been in the Red Army had gone to school in America. He had this kind of international background. He sailed to New York or an ocean liner and became a spy as with all good spies. They all bought several names. He met a man on bench in Central Park who introduced himself as Emile goldfish. He was really William Fisher but better known as a Rudolf Abel. He had been born in New England in 1903, but to Russian parents. So the thing about communism Cold War spying post-war spying and indeed the moles of the thirties the King Philip and so on they will often driven by ideology and I've mentioned this several times on the walks and in podcast that it is difficult to put ourselves into the mindset of the thirties forties in Europe. War was inevitable sides had to be chosen and some people chose the Victoria side and some people chose the other side that's always happening but for some reason the echo And the ripples from that time still live with us today. It is very obvious for us to say that communism has its limitations that it's economically bankrupt ideologically bankrupt way. It works on a Ponzi scheme at the center where if you get rich and the masses the millions and millions of normal people get manipulated and lied to now that may be a very brief overview of Communism, but it's a pretty accurate one not to say Catholicism isn't without its faults, but it at least tries or strives to be meritocratic and fair that's a different conversation to say that it might not always work like that. But getting rich is part of the leader capitalism, whereas in communism. It's it's described as a kind of failing of an evil unless you're one of the elite of course in which case it's strongly encouraged communism has at its heart a a deep cynicism and a double life and from a distance from England from France Germany, even from Canada and America if you read the text books about communism, you think we'll okay. Everybody has a job every looked after wage. He has a home is no homeless people. Everybody's fed. Nobody's hungry. It kind of looks great at a time when people were hungry in Britain. They were starving in the thirties in America this kind of notion of a society which could be organized in which everybody got along and was nice to each other and looked out for each other and helped each other and there were no rich people and there were no poor people and everybody was middle class. These were powerful ideas for first of all, upper-middle-class people never had to work and never needed to but also for anybody working classes anybody would be attracted to that. Once they saw the poverty in wage Europe is completely understandable to me that intelligent people in huge numbers thought that communism was a good idea. You have Kim filter you have charge blade you have melodia Lonsdale all on different sides different Nash his different backgrounds, but all agreeing with each other that communism was better than Fascism and that it had to be one of the other there was no middle way you either a communist of the left or a fascist of the right place. And everybody hated the fascists there for anybody with a rational logical mind would become a communist. So that kind of thinking has led me to soften my opinions of filthy and the rest of that particular the episodes about guy Burgess and the walking special episodes as well. But I will be coming back to this with a Donald MacLean book to Alan Bennett has helped to persuade me that the spies were not the traitors that allows people like to think he wrote to at least two players about spies possibly more and one of them in particular about guy Burgess and he is off the view that there were no worse than the rest of them and that they weren't half wrong bad as people make out Lonsdale originally entered Canada using the identity of a live double that is a living Canadian communist who had volunteered his passport for the cause and in later on became this dead double goddamned to have a child born in Canada nineteen twenty-four who had emigrated to the Soviet Union with his finish mother and died there in nineteen forty-three melotti first got hold an identity card, which is easier to get than a passport wage. And then that led on later to a passport of Canada. He then writes too so s the the Chinese school at the University of London gets on a course there and somebody recommends to him. He should join the Royal Seas league in Saint James is on the S and James's which is interesting to me cuz I nearly joined that once cuz they have a deal with the London Library. They do have clubs all around the world and it strikes me as a very obvious place for a spy to arrive at home. You can live there in an International Community where not many questions will be asked meladi returned from Canada to New York crossing over Niagara Falls is Gordon Lonsdale in February 1955 and made his way back to London. Now, this is a book review in the style of the London Review Books. So we don't really mention the book very much. It is a Kindle single. It's only sixty or seventy Pages. It'll cost you about eighty pounds about a dollar home and it's fabulous definitely recommended. It's clean. It's short. It's factual. It's done by a pro. You can read it in about an hour, but it's just amazing. It's really good. There's a guy in Bridge. The one who eventually led to his downfall was Harry Horton Horton joined the Navy at sixteen and after the second world war took a position at the admiralty that led him to a posting in Warsaw in nineteen fifty-one by now in his mid-forties. They felt out of place in the Diplomatic community and Halton dealt in the black market selling penicillin. It seems to be money that drove him to reproach a secretary of the Polish Minister of Foreign Affairs in Warsaw. So Horton was in it for the money not for radiology, which immediately put him down the ladder in lonsdale's eyes and indeed many other people's eyes to he was British, but he portrayed his country for cash but nevertheless his wartime service and background eventually led him to a real life a top-secret job. The KGB were not sure that he could be bought as they pretended to be from Poland and said look, we're polish spies went to work for us. It was only later that they admitted that they were actually the kg be dead. But by this time Horton had a job at the underwater weapons establishment at Portland in Dorset, and he had absolutely white-hot connections there. So he was working on with his girlfriend off the sonar for Britain's first nuclear submarine, the dreadnoughts. Absolutely Prime information KGB had a few problems with him. He was difficult to manage and the eventually assigned him to God and Lonsdale home run him for I think a number of years certainly quite a while. It was the 11th of July 1959. When Horton was first introduced to Lonsdale both men had completely opposite opinions of each other still hated Horton and Horton thought they were kind of friends now no story about spies in Britain during this period of time would be complete without mentioning Peter right the Spy Catcher And fact the writer of the book called home I capture and this seems to be a common theme that Peter Reich wrote his book to make money because his MI5 pension was so bad. There is somebody in this story who had to go into business in retirement age. His his armor five pension was so bad. It makes you wonder whether am I five would have done better just to give them all a proper pension to be honest, especially at that time as public-sector pensions were supposed to be generous. Anyway, that's just my sniping and indeed the man who eventually betrayed Lonsdale and George Blake was given the codename sniper. It was late April nineteen sixty and someone had been sending Anonymous letters to the CIA written in German. So the agents sniper claimed that the Russians have two very important spies in Britain one in British intelligence the other in the Navy these two unknowns were codenamed Lombardo one and Lombardo to and this was during the aftermath of the philby scandals British intelligence were certain they had no mole, but he'd later turned out to be George Blake. It was the Navy one that worried people because they didn't know who it could be. This was Horton remember and the claim was that name sounded something like Hopkins or hopner, which is very far away in SpongeBob. And sound but the case was eventually handed to a guy called Charles L. Will it was later found that LOL was in one of the photographs found in one of lonsdale's briefcases some of the words he had unwittingly off or was he at a party with Lonsdale before Lonsdale was suspected. In fact lol became suspected as well by Peter right and others and part of the handling this month. Let painter right to suspect Hollister head of MI5 who I've also mentioned in a previous episode. This is absolutely why I start to think that human intelligence. This kind of agency wage work is never a good news. It leads everybody to a state of febrile paranoia on both sides of the table MI5 who are trying to catch these moles becoming more paranoid than everybody else and start seeing moles everywhere and the whole thing every ten or twenty years degenerates into this kind of paranoid meltdown which in any other business wage Walk of Life would be seen as absolutely potty and it seems absolutely normal when it's upper-middle-class people with degrees talking about Marxism and I think this kind of amateurishness which wage went on in the security services certainly through the late eighties and the fall of the Berlin Wall was partly what the 1994 intelligence had was trying to address was trying to say look if this thing is so secret that nobody actually knows about it. How do we know we're doing the right thing in the right way in the most efficient way is costing hundreds of millions of pounds a year to run these agents and to catch the foreign agents and all we end up doing is offering a paid each other now again, that's a simplification. But sometimes you have to simplify in order to illustrate the point. So on we go Halt and starts to meet Lonsdale in London and hand over paperwork and so on they train each other up of rather Lonsdale trends of Halton to take good photographs using spy cameras and other equipment and later on some of the briefcases that are dead. Stolen by MI5 apprehended by MI5 contain all this amazing 1960s spy equipment and I have to say that 1960s by equipment is way more exciting than modern technology because everything had its specific purpose. You wouldn't have a phone that could take pictures. You know that everybody had you know, there were Specialists cameras miniaturized cameras, which the mayor possession of such a device would cast suspicion on you. First of all, they were very expensive to make difficult to get hold of and why would any normal person have a spy camera because they take bad photos was now everybody's got a spy camera in the Palm this a thousand times better than what the KGB could make in the sixties. So the times have changed the technology has changed and I think there's something really romantic and exotic about this Old Town. She thinking about the umbrella on the bridge again, of course. So on we go the Watchers there were surveilled Horton was followed to a bench outside the Old Vic where he met Lonsdale and wage. When the MI5 guys followed Lonsdale after the meeting they realized he walked around in circles for a long time before going back to his car which had already previously passed in the street. This is spy trade craft. This is not something that you'll person would do. So the Finger of Suspicion went to Lonsdale as with all Spy operations, they didn't just arrest him because what they really wanted was to find out who he knew and what he was doing. He had a flat at the white box near Regent's Park flat 334. He had a bungalow in ruislip and this Bungalow in ruislip turns out to be pretty important not least to me because I used to live near here and I can imagine exactly where this Bungalow is. You can get the book if you want to know the exact address, but it's precisely positioned between ruislip station and ruislip Gardens at the end of a road and the the cul-de-sac leads into a footpath that's not wide enough for a car to go down. This means that you can approach or leave the cottage being sure that you're not being followed because obviously if you follow by pedestrian, you could spot them straight away and you certainly can log Live by a college town down a footpath even better. I said Gardens is across the road from North Pole to the RAF base, which is actually the base where Lonsdale was exfiltrated from when he was involved in a prisoner swap many years later. The location is fabulous. It was owned by two Russians. Again, they lied about their backgrounds and so on pass themselves off as other people Russian book dealers Lonsdale lived with them for many months. And in fact MI5 lost wages of them in London and it took them a while to catch him in ruislip and after he had been arrested and jailed the people in the house were also arrested and jailed as well for helping him. And because Lonsdale was the prize assets. He was sprung out of jail bath KGB in a prisoner swap with gravel win, another famous spy, all the people that helped and worked with the Hortons the Russians in the Rye slip Bungalow stayed in jail for many more years and long sell only got 25 years. Whereas famously George Blake. I think it was forty-two. It was so long that Blake escaped was Lonsdale didn't even need to escape cuz he was sprung out by a prisoner swap. The whole thing is a who's home. Of spies and Spike catches Peter writes here Rodger. Holly says here. Lonsdale's here legs here Philip. He's here and really none of them suspected God and Lonsdale if it was off that polish tip-off and Hortons amateurism. He might never have been caught it's easy to say that if this hadn't happened then that would never have happened people say that all the time but Lonsdale was such a professional and he'd grown to like his lifestyle in the west as wheeler to find which is crucial for me. I think if you hate to the west and you hate capitalism and you hate all of that, it's easy to sneak loyal to Communism but having lived in America lived in Canada lived in Britain, he got a taste for the lifestyle and although he remained loyal to Russia until the end. When his Allegiance was tested to save a lease and he may have been killed in a poisoning which if you've heard minor Valley episode, he will realize it still going on Lonsdale retained his allegiance to Russia until the towards the end, but he did enjoy birth. Left and I think he might never have been caught wearing not for the tip-off right became paranoid started to suspect Rodger Hollis, everybody else. He suspected anybody who wasn't him basically and indeed by catch a book has largely been discredited but they eventually traced Lonsdale to ruislip. They investigated the owners of The Bungalow found a communist past and Lonsdale was caught and given 25 years. This is a great lunch time read it'll take you about an hour or 90 minutes. If you're a slow reader, it's virtually free. It's less than a pound on Amazon. It's a Kindle single Gordon Carrera from the BBC is right tone. He's a very rational journalist. He's used all the usual sources that we took in archive Christopher Andrew and so on Nigel West a lot of this was already known but what I liked about this book is its shortness and the wage sticks the fats and really clearly describes a time and a place in Western European history. So that's got in Lonsdale not a sports bag, but a dead Russian boy who had his eyebrows. Stolen and used for Espionage Garden on stale died in suspicious circumstances after drinking vodka. He might have had a stroke his father died young equally. Well, he might have been poisoned so off on that bombshell I leave you for another week. We have lots coming up in the podcast. We have Donald MacLean. We have a few John le carre things lined up for you and I want to dig deeper into some of the locations on the same box as well. The original episodes were done in fifteen minute chunks to help you out. Keep it short one thing. I realized that the podcast allows is a walk virtual walk where the locations are further apart. So Spies of the home counties might be coming soon to take in John the carriers childhood home under home. He lived in grammar sinden as a professional man working for MI5 and MI6 and of course the race live Bungalow lived by Golden Lamb style so that Spite of the home counties. I will also revisit some of the London spy walks as well. We have a very full Autumn for you as the weather and the leaves turn off..

Gordon Lonsdale George Blake London Britain KGB Harry Horton Horton Canada America Europe Peter Reich Donald MacLean New York ruislip Horton Red Army Philip William Fisher Central Park Ponzi scheme
"london review books" Discussed on No Such Thing As A Fish

No Such Thing As A Fish

04:02 min | 3 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on No Such Thing As A Fish

"Code is fish. Okay. I'm with the podcast. Okay. It is time for our final factor the show, and that is Andy. My fact is that one bats can kill predators by crushing them with the bottoms. So it does require quite a lot of setup. This prank. I'm going to this friend defense mechanism. Yeah, prank. Okay. Fair enough. So there's an essay, the London review books, Barada, Catherine rental, which is all about while bats, and it's full of very interesting facts about them. So one bat Burrows, they dig lots of boroughs actually, and they have very, very hard bottoms. So we've mentioned before that sometimes they will plug the ground with the bums. Yeah. When they're prejudice around the practice might be able to a door. Yeah. And so it turns out also that the scientists have found shattered FOX skulls inside wombat boroughs. So for FOX follows a wombat into its burrow, the wombat will crush the FOX's head against the wall of its own borough and kill it very, very way to go. Well, the reef yeah, probably with dingoes they'll just slam them up against the roof, credible pranks Harry hill. Do the voice. You've been crushed. That's so good with them thumbs though because they can secure factors that they back have cubic feces. And then I didn't even know this. They stack that right. They stack their poo and it's supposed to be signed to think it might be something. So it was like status symbol to sort of put your in a high tower. You can't do because they're square because, yeah, so they do up to eighty two hundred a day or per night rather and they there for display purposes effectively. So they don't want them rolling off rocks when they put them up on a rock for it to be seen. Let's yes, tonight territory isn't it? Yeah. Attract people, but it's a bit rough on the baby wombats because one oversee marsupials. And as we said in a previous focused, the baby's face backwards in the power. And so this means is always pulling and the baby one butts face is usually poking out of its thing. The pouch just below as ours and it's just shoved in this pool the time. Yeah, it's not baby. He's got shit in your face AC two one hundred times a day. The head is just poking out, isn't it behind the back of the mother? Yeah. But the weird thing is that they don't have cubic Amos's that have square rain to produce the QB PU. There's a mystery. There's no really mystery because we know how they make it. So we do not have know how to make it. So it's in the beside it takes them fourteen to eighteen days to digest food very, very long. So by the time it gets out of them, it's really compact and it's all the nutrition taken out of it. You know, it's very efficiently done and they have ridges in the first bit of their intestine, which shapes the food as as being digested into. These cubic shapes, and then they have also have special bones in the bottoms to keep the poo in the cubic shape. Wow, am Bill cookie cutter. Holding the genuine, the in December. They do Christmas trees. It would be great if they could vary like a loon magician. Children's parties. She spoke the lumber. Well, I like about one bats as you can see pictures of them where when the young woman is in the pouches almost mature enough to leave its property, poking it set out an grazes. So it'll be eating gross out of the Bank and the mother will cross out the front and it just looks like it's a two headed. Mazey must've seen the dying because you you. I. Yeah, I've seen them in captivity this my favorite animal app say I saw one for the first time this year really mazing, but when we went to us, yes, an Australian zoos. Apparently they have the second highest danger rating. So the only things that beat them alliance and Bez and then as zookeeper the next thing you got to be terrified of is the one bath for large Guinea pig is quite yeah, and they, they run so fast as well..

FOX Andy Mazey Burrows London review Bez Harry hill Barada Amos Guinea eighteen days one butts
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

02:12 min | 3 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Hello my name's david runciman and this is talking politics today is one hundred episode trump has being out in the world doing stuff we really need to about that talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of culture politics ideas the new issue out this week contains essays by me and helen on the world cup and the e respectively so do please read us the subscribe at lb dot co dot u k forward slash talking and get six months of the alabi for just one pound initi i've got helen thomson with me and she's been with me for a lot of these hundred upsides and has been responsible for most of the good bits and also andrew preston pledged to welcome andrew back andrews historian of american diplomacy of american foreign policy so he is the perfect person to talk through some of this week's events andrew is also i think i'm allowed to say this canadian you can say that i think we out did you less time and i think maybe we can start with that because it is what's been going on telling to put to you variant of the question that was lost donald trump his pretty extraordinary press conference yesterday so speaking on wednesday morning one of the jani said to him mr president congratulations and then you cooled the canadian prime minister very weak and dishonest and you have just cooled the didn't quite busy light this murderous tyrant kim jon very talented guy sandra how do you feel is a canadian about that i mean it was a weird moment for sure and i think a lot of people not just from canada picked up on the weirdness of that moment it's done justin trudeau world of favors domestically politically because canadians of all stripes of all political persuasions are rallying behind him and i kind of had that gut reaction to i think a lot of canadians did that trudeau was standing up to the bully from the united states and it was sort of standing.

david runciman donald trump jani prime minister kim jon canada united states london review europe helen thomson andrew preston president justin trudeau six months one pound
"london review books" Discussed on With Friends Like These

With Friends Like These

02:02 min | 3 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on With Friends Like These

"They useful figure for sort of distilling this idea that you know celibacy is for losers you know that i mean i'm a catholic so in my own case it's like you know well your priests are all probably caused it gay men or you know sexual molesters like or restore pedophile pedophile of course great so then you and this is a very canny thing you did to kind of compare it to the just economic marketplace to right because he it's a parallel to what people are experiencing now economically which is extreme winners and losers with at the same time fetish asian of who the winners are in a dismissal of the losers are right right so and everybody who's grinches good and everybody who's not rich even whether it's sexier money is a loser stupid person who deserves what they get don't get then so then there are variously i responded and one way is to become more sort of conservative in certain ways to sort of you know reemphasize monogamy and chastity and have stronger tempos against divorced and all the kind of things that religious conservatives and two favorite and i didn't that's extremely unlikely to happen another possibility is what i think and you can tell me if i'm wrong about this but i think is sort of you know sort of wear a lot of people who identify as feminists sort of left wing a gala tarian would day we should go which is kind of broad base health rule shift and you know and i think this too big and really interesting essay in the london review books came out a couple of months ago that was called like is there a right to serve as anyone have the right to sex by philosophy professor named emmy estrin of awesome but basically that you know you can you can have this sort of gradual transformation of society which beauty standards shifts and.

professor emmy estrin london review
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:50 min | 3 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Remember when a new polar my name's david runciman on this is talking politics on this podcast we often find ourselves and we need to wait to see what happens in italy before we know where europe is heading so italy has now voted and god knows what it means but we're hits try and make some sense of it and we're gonna talk about germany too talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of books and ideas we've already had smell melanby right is on this podcast and we'll have some more soon as a reading list to pieces to accompany the podcast at lob code don't uk forward slash tokens along with a special subscription offer for talking politics listeners twelve issues of fearless expensive elegant writing for just twelve pounds it is a great pleasure as always to welcome back chris clock to this podcast i had some unbia had sled bits of food dentist into soon goods milk if he is now stress is historian of germany among many other things i'm a polygamist dealt with germany we also have chris pickton off after long negotiations we've moved on from sort of porridge porridge with milk to fruit and fiber and hound thompson he knows about everything you don't like it was ninety here we face some alias i liked thank mats that's what people think of jordan but i've got west things today with it not in the minds of the heat idiots on a new did say executive at you said she's been testicles in fact we that is the thing you just have to know that is your cooling god so let's start with germany not a thing because it simpler but at least it's at the stories further along in that it's taken about five months i think to form a government and it may tighter i mean who knows how long it's going to.

david runciman europe germany chris pickton thompson jordan executive italy london review uk milk twelve pounds five months
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:46 min | 3 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Naomi mugo remember move in hollywood names david rub some of mrs talking politics and i am really excited to say that we know in my office were at jeff loyd's house them here with jeff and abdullah behind and we're going to be talking about politics and reasons to be cheerful because we have podcast isn't usually cheerful and this week we're going to be so you usually reasons to be depressed someone said you'd the end of times for costa meters will reasons to be apocalyptic you'll reasons to be cheerful that from here talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of books and ideas we've already had some melanby right is on this podcast and we'll have some more sued there's a reading list to pieces to accompany the podcast that allow beat up code don't uk forward slash talking along with a special subscription offer for talking politics listeners twelve issues of fearless expensive elegant writing for just twelve pounds had we put out a lecture the i did you are very kind to come through in say a little bit by off to it's just before he ruled out without my bitter bosnian serb of again with a quality of the audio get i've used baggio a vehicle that was well we reach the recorded yahoo accurately i said this is not what she says he now it was about something we took about law which is why no one has the faintest idea what's going on in politics anymore and one of the themes what i was surprised we used to pose getting it wrong happens all the time journalists getting it wrong it's kind of hummus were there in the business of doing but politicians not having a clue what's coming next is being a theme of the last two years.

Naomi mugo jeff loyd costa meters yahoo hollywood abdullah london review europe uk twelve pounds two years
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:51 min | 3 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"In the member of the removal illuminating hello my name's david runciman mrs talking politics this week we're gonna talk about something that we touch on a low but i think we've never fully confronted who do we think jeremy corbyn really is and what does he want talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of books in ideas we've already had smell i'll writers on this podcast and we'll have some more sued as a reading this to pieces to accompany the podcast at lob code don't uk forward slash talking along with a special subscription offer for talking politics listeners twelve issues of fearless expensive elegant writing for just twelve pounds so to tackle this difficult question alan thompson with me and chris brook antenna and chris and i and other people this podcast have definitely circled around the kuban question a lot i think it's also true while we believe this podcast week get people telling us that we're not doing it right and one of the criticisms as way stayed with me is something that someone said quote while before the 2017 election which was that we didn't take kuban seriously enough and i can only speak for myself i think nuts fat i think it was true that there was a tendency to treat him as a kind of accident because he is the accident leader of led putting me we know the circumstances in which he entered the race and then one were in some sense accidental but any any anyone could say now that there's anything about his leadership does not deserve to be taken seriously it also reminds me a bit of the period before tony blair became prime minister.

jeremy corbyn alan thompson tony blair prime minister david runciman london review europe uk chris brook kuban twelve pounds
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:54 min | 3 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Immediately remember illuminating hello mornings david runciman of mrs talking politics where coming to you in a week where the stock market is all over the place we're going to talk about that we're going to talk about the housing market in the uk we're gonna talk about the market and donald trump by will sell talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of books in ideas we've already had smell upi writers is on this podcast and we'll have some assumed there's a reading list to pieces to accompany the podcast that lob code don't uk food slash tokens along with a special subscription offer for talking politics listeners twelve issues of fearless expensive elegant writing for just twelve pounds i'm joined by heaven thompson whose back and we're going to pick up where we left last week pleasure to welcome back aaron report our correspondent from minnesota and i was hoping we were going to be celebrating the minnesota vikings sorry philadelphia has to occasionally get a treat right well they've been around since 1913 three in their first one so good for them good for them and also a pleasure to welcome back chris brook we're gonna try and connects i think we're gonna make it the housing crisis in the uk which highlight talked about very very briefly the end of last week three to what's going on in the markets and the white the question of whether donald trump is up or down and i think what connects these things is that we spend a little time okay grenell's talking about the surface of politics the shortterm up and down in the new cycle evening the electoral cycle and there are some underlying fundamentals are awesome things that remain true regardless of who is in office and there are awesome factors that affect people's behave.

david runciman uk donald trump heaven thompson minnesota vikings philadelphia grenell london review europe upi aaron chris brook twelve pounds
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:50 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"England remember hello my name's david runciman on this is talking politics we're already well in 2018 we've had a cabinet reshuffle in britain the publication of an explosive book about donald trump in america political world is turning and we're gonna talk about the reformation as i say on other podcasts stay with us talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of books and ideas we've already had smell abby right is on this podcast and we'll have some more sued there's a reading list to pieces to accompany the podcast at lob code don't uk food slash talking along with a special subscription offer for talking politics listeners twelve issues of fearless expensive elegant writing for just twelve pounds i'm delighted circle helin thompson and john noulton with me today as you live had lost we helen has been reading them at mcculloch cced book about the reformation and he's keen to talk about the echoes now from then and as we also discussed last time at the end laucius join published ninety five theses about the new religion we'll come onto that of technology and we're gonna try anti these two things together we gonna make a link back the reformation but we're going to talk about the church of facebook will get the i hope we're going to try and it's raining it's not quite biblical ryan but it's not far off so this is what we know as my drip warning if you hear pitted patter that's what it is suhel you touched on this a bit when we're talking about some of our favorite books most year would boop will stop big and then we'll translate minimum we'll get his aqqaba coin a phrase from john from gutenberg zuckerberg what are the biggest codes that you see when you read about the reformation.

England david runciman donald trump helin thompson john noulton facebook ryan britain america london review europe abby helen mcculloch cced twelve pounds
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

02:02 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of books in ideas we've already had smell abby right is on this podcast and we'll have some more soon there's a reading this two pieces to accompany the podcast at lob code don't uk food slash tokens along with a special subscription offer for talking politics listeners twelve issues of fearless expensive elegant writing for just twelve pounds says little seasonal extra uh we got our superfood panel here helen iron chris chris me talk about some things that we've enjoyed reading or even things that we have actually had time to read yet but again to enjoy reading that we think he might enjoy to helen so leave red doesn't have to be super politics politics the really liked i really like turned don't collect spot on the history of the regulation which is what i've been waiting my way through theresa may wading at home ready to the sound is levy got exelon but it's a page than earth i'm not saying that it's necessarily a patient if you're not interested in the history of the reformation buddies after all live 500 on a grocery of martin luther is 95 theses and i think that there is quite a lot of not site parallel but in terms of the political world in which we live in but certainly some at least semi parallels on this is a time of enormous political turbulence in terms of in some sense the breakdown of the relationship between the ideal and the real in the catholic church are rebellion luther leads against that turns in a political direction of which he had no intention to go down whatsoever it becomes a classbased politics in many ways has the peculiar position of england in the story of this it goes on a rather singular journey shall we say in relation to what happens in the rest of the continent and i think that people have made some paolo side at think on this is certainly very persuasive.

theresa exelon martin luther england london review europe abby helen iron paolo twelve pounds
"london review books" Discussed on Monocle 24: The Monocle Daily

Monocle 24: The Monocle Daily

01:55 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Monocle 24: The Monocle Daily

"The vote vote vote the vote vote to celebrate this holiday season whip bringing you an opportunity to hear some of our most loved offers again hero monocle 24 every day this week in place of our current affairs show the daily we're playing an intimate chat with a talented novelist as we reboot past episodes of alliteration meet the writers we have to leave out some of our favorite spots the likes of young martell erica jong richard e grant holland coburn joann harris a rule still available on our website waiting to be discovered at your leisure and of course this a brand new episode added every saturday that 1500 london time the give them invoked ubs has over nine hundred investment analyst from over one hundred different opponents in over nine hundred root of the sharpest mowing muslim freshest thinkers in the world of finance today no one has more the one no smaller than the find out how we can help you contact us of yesterday wilkinson meet the writers lane georgina godwin my guest today is an awardwinning author poet musician and critic he was born in calcutta and grew up in bombay he's been awarded the commonwealth literature prize on the los angeles times book prize among others he's a fellow of the royal society of literature and professor of contemporary literature at the university of east anglia he's contributed fiction poetry and reviews to numerous publications including the guardian the london review books the times literary supplement the new yorker and grunter i'm at lives in calcutta oxford and norwich he's written seven novels the latest of which his friend of my youth which isn't a novel in the usual sense of the time but we'll get onto.

investment analyst wilkinson calcutta bombay professor new yorker calcutta oxford norwich joann harris london georgina godwin los angeles times royal society of literature university of east anglia
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

02:05 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"England remember colored my name is david runciman on this is talking politics donald trump is on his asian tour and we are going to dip autos back into the world of trump the russian investigation what's going on there but this week as also seeing another huge dump of information about tax avoidance the paradise papers and there's a link with trump to we're going to trump poll some of these pieces together talking politics is brought to you in partnership with london review books europe's leading magazine a books in ideas we've already had some allow be writers on this podcast john lanchester mary bid and we hope to have some more soon talking about the state of democracy and the state of the world as well as politics the lob has book reviews essays about ought poetry and exhibitions whether you want to get a deeper understanding a world events or just get away from it all and read about picasso and octopuses the lob will have something fascinating for you of joint day by helen thompson who is going to make the link for slater from trump to saudi arabia i were finally door a report who is here to tell us about american foreign policy on a load of other things to get feedback k i called my maitre d' jacket let go with gas which death jackets voters in baltimore it's it's a pleasure to welcome by andrew preston historian of the united states and we are going to try and piece together the trump story but before that early this morning i recall a conversation with jason showman about the paradise papers jason is professor of international relations her in cambridge he also happens to be one of the world's leading experts on tax havens and how they work he knows this stuff inside out and i started by asking him.

England david runciman donald trump helen thompson slater saudi arabia american foreign policy united states jason cambridge london review europe john lanchester baltimore andrew preston professor of international rel
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:50 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"What does machine learning have to do with autonomous driving how do you build a powerful opensource community will the cloud really consume the world tune in to stack that a new podcast from hewlett packard enterprise to dive into the world of emerging trends and learn how you can leverage this tech for the benefit of your business each week our hosts byron reese of giga home and florian laboured of missiles fear will tackle a new topic with the help of guests from airbnb google confident and other industry experts check out stack that on i tuned google play soundcloud stitcher a new study hb ecom and make sure to subscribe so you don't miss the latest episodes hello my name is david runciman on this is talking politics i am sitting in these station recovered at the london review of books not because were hiding but because i think this is where will get the best audio and i'm delighted that i am here with the philosopher and writer john gray many of our listeners will no john's work very well he is one of the most interesting and challenging commentators not just on politics but if this doesn't sound to pretentious the human condition talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine a books in ideas we've already had some llp writers on this podcast john lanchester mary bid and we hope to have some more soon talking about the state of democracy and the state of the world as well as politics the alabi has book reviews essays about poetry and exhibitions whether you want to get a deeper understanding a world events would just get away from it all and read about picasso an octopus is the lob will have something fascinating you.

google david runciman john hewlett packard enterprise byron reese florian airbnb london review of books writer john gray london review europe john lanchester
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:53 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Hello my name is david runciman on this is talking politics we are going to be talking this week about how different the world might be if one or two small things had come out slightly differently from the way they did guben brexit trump we're going to think about what the world would be like if some of those things hadn't happen talking politics is brought to you in partnership with a london review books europe's leading magazine a books in ideas we've already had some lob writers on this podcast john lanchester mary bid and we hope to have some more soon talking about the state of democracy and the state of the world as well as politics the alabi has book reviews essays about ought poetry and exhibitions whether you want to get a deeper understanding a world events or just get away from it all and read about picasso and octopuses the lob will have something fascinating for you this week hillary clinton has been in the united kingdom promoting her book giving into interviews getting an honorary degree from swanson university i think reconnecting with her well fruits and pretty much telling every audience she speaks to the she could would should have been the president of the united states so in honor of hillary rearmanent youth out but we can talk about some coulda widow sugars go ahead and thompson who is next bell political konomi i went that none alcoholic drink with one of the faith issues at all in cambridge he's written a book called island is not jimmy conch by patrick balkany because very thirsty knee was the very single first unitl chris brook who is next on political theory but they both know about lots of other things too that we went to the cinema to see the party it's a little black comedy about the lives of various people falling apart and help and that we enjoyed it very much indeed.

david runciman hillary clinton swanson university president united states cambridge jimmy conch patrick balkany chris brook london review europe john lanchester thompson
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:37 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine of books in ideas we've already had some allow be right is on this podcast john lanchester mary bid and we hope to have some more soon talking about the state of democracy and the state of the world as well as politics the el alabi has book reviews essays about ought poetry and exhibitions whether you want to get a deeper understanding a world event which is get away from it all and read about picasso and octopuses yellow be will have something fascinating fee go you on this podcast a while back the world changes so fast i can't even remember how different the world is now than it was even a few months ago but something that's changed just in the past few weeks is that the trajectory of the trump presidency seemed to be his approval rating just steadily ticks down to the point where it looked like it will must become the conventional wisdom that he hit his cool and his cores about thirty eight percent people who i think of the ones when he was campaigning he said i could sheikh summoning fifth avenue and my people wouldn't mind that group that doesn't seem to mind what he does and then just in the last ten days for the first time in his presidency and these are need smooth movements but they are significant it started to tick up again and now he's back up to forty 42 forty threat three percent people which isn't enough to win an election but it's possible although i suspect unlikely that something much has changed and the speculation is two things.

el alabi fifth avenue london review europe john lanchester thirty eight percent three percent ten days
"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

Talking Politics

01:57 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Talking Politics

"Hello my name is david runciman and this is talking politics thompson back with us this week lots to catch up on with halim's put in interest makes you i was wide away this morning i did not i want to west ham last night so i spent the evening hitting refresh and they won but i didn't watch tv live tv malaysian of four people just got bear rues juice stupid and also i'm delighted chris clock is with us professor history here in cambridge bestselling historian of germany and author a regular contributes with london review books going allied young television ardinger star john hitler's years shines hot shocked talking politics is brought to you in partnership with the london review books europe's leading magazine a books in ideas we've already had some allow be right is on this podcast john lanchester mary bid and we hope to have some more soon talking about the state of democracy and the state of the world as well as politics the el alabi has book reviews essays about out poetry and exhibitions whether you want to get a deeper understanding a world event or just get away from it all and read about kasai an octopus the lob will have something fascinating you we talk to you a few months ago about the german elections which were them a bit of a wealth the now five days away by then we speculation about possible surprises that might be coming we talked about the schoups bubble let bubble has burst and germany now has the ear equality in a world of chaos where it's democracy just seems uncannily stable nothing has changed i think if this time next week we're talking about angela merkel having lost it would be the biggest surprise of all i think it would put the other ones in the shade just because no pose even hinted that it.

david runciman halim west ham chris clock john hitler el alabi angela merkel professor germany london review europe john lanchester five days
"london review books" Discussed on Monocle 24: The Curator

Monocle 24: The Curator

01:41 min | 4 years ago

"london review books" Discussed on Monocle 24: The Curator

"Up to terry disorder gigantism or something and then i went and looked up or in y'all in it's the kind of a kebbah quote word for for moose it was actually a moose case someone you're allowed to kill one mussi year i think and there was a poacher who was killing multiple lisa leeson guess yeah exactly so they wanted to try to nail the sky and they wanted me to they'd found meet remains in his freezer and then the moves back out in the woods and they wanted to be able to tie those together to physically tie him to the killing of it so yeah that was bestseller kathy rugs in conversation with monaco's own georgina godwin on meet the writers shall we stick with the literary theme tom let's do it dining it's working for me let's tune into a highlight from this week's poetry themed addition of coq ten with rabbani joe dunn thorns a novelist and poet who wrote the novel submarine which of course was turned into a film a back in 2010 but he's written plenty more besides his poetry has been published by the esteem titles the new statesman and the london review books among others and he was publishes one of fabre's young poets in 2010 let's listen to joe um no merely led by phrase or even simply by putting the pen to the page and seeing comes i and i tend to produce a lot in a free sort of way with the idea that i'll just pluck at the ideas that i like and kind of shape some up of sending never respond to a public event yeah in the poet laureate that's like us the.

gigantism monaco georgina godwin tom joe dunn fabre lisa leeson london review