24 Burst results for "The New York review"

Biden, Un General Assembly And New York Times discussed on POLITICO Playbook Audio Briefing

POLITICO Playbook Audio Briefing

00:42 sec | 1 d ago

Biden, Un General Assembly And New York Times discussed on POLITICO Playbook Audio Briefing

biden un general assembly new york times Un america afghanistan Washington taliban
Examining the media coverage of the Trump investigation

On The Media

05:20 min | 7 months ago

Examining the media coverage of the Trump investigation

"Is the media midweek. Podcast i'm bob garfield and it was a tough monday morning for one guy. Been waiting on this decision since the middle of october and now the middle of february. We're finally getting this decision from the supreme court they are saying that the manhattan district attorney cy. Vance can in fact get to former president. Donald trump's tax returns. This is something that has been playing out in the courts for more than a year. Now that there is an oldie but a goodie the intriguing prospect of an allegedly rule breaking tax dodging constitution shredding president on riled prosecutors and fulton county georgia have launched a criminal investigation into former president. Trump's january phone call with the georgia secretary of state where he told secretary reference burger to quote fine. Vote lean. while new york's attorney general is investigating whether or not the trump organization misled investors by inflating assets. We should probably expect that. There will be charges filed against him that he will be indicted on. This case will probably go to trial. I think there's an excellent chance that he will be found guilty and if he is found guilty. There's an excellent chance he'll wind up in prison. Yeah not so fast. Late last year in the new york review writer lawyer and former federal prosecutor uncooked kadoorie reviewed the various arguments including his own ford. The prosecution of donald trump elsewhere he had characterized such as quote insane among his critics. One too many former prosecutors himself included represented in the commentariat to too few defense attorneys. Who know how to find holes in any complex case and three as he told brooke in december. No one is willing to say. We just can't know. I guess it's not a great way to get twitter. Followers or cable news hits but it just fundamentally true. There are lots of things we don't know and facts could change. And you know it's very rare that anyone saying that which brings us back to august. Virus vans says painter last year to door shebang as part of its investigation into president. Trump's business dealings time says. The bank complied with that subpoena. When that news broke a lot of people were strongly suggesting there might be a bank fraud case. What the manhattan. Da is looking at here is overstating the value of your assets to get loans understating the value of your assets when it comes tax time that kind of thing is straightforward textbook fraud. It's much easier for prosecutors to prove those kind of charges. Well just compare the two and then you know. He's in huge trouble. If they're not the same a bunch of people were. This is not just a bunch of people but a bunch of prominent former prosecutors with significant followings on twitter and cable news contributor gigs i was just really taken aback because i founded the fundamentally very misleading basically said. The speculation was insane. That you've done this at doj and it's simply not how fraud investigations are conducted. That is the word used in the wall street journal insane in particular about the suggestion that had been made by former acting solicitor. General under obama. And you'll cut. You'll i think it's totally possible for all of this to come out before the twenty twenty election in terms of new york's prosecutors getting this information on in acting on it and so that was really surprising to be coming from someone who is at least supposed to know better. According to convicted trump lawyer michael cohen trump inflated his assets when it was opportunities so deflated them when that was profitable. And if cohen is right. Doesn't that mean that a prosecutor could just compare one accounting book with another. Find the mismatch numbers. And you know it's over. No i mean. It's a very reasonable supposition. But when you're investing financial fraud case the fact that some documents some numbers may differ from one set to another is often. Just the start of a case you have to figure out why they differ doesn't matter why they differ who prepared them if their lawyers accountants and auditors involved. What did they have to say about. The relevant figures trump did not have a huge business. Right this is something. That i think david farrell hold at the post has been very good at illustrating for the public. Ns fairly small organization but that organization still had lawyers had an accountant. That is going to substantiate complicate any investigation if the lawyers overstepped and they can't prove that this was a conspiracy with which trump was involved. Then he's not liable that's correct. We don't even really know what trump's involvement was in the preparation of any of these figures that would be the crucial question. You'd want emails if they exist and of course he notoriously email. You'd want to know whether he had spoken to people and provided with them potentially with oral instructions now in the case of cohen. That is what he says right. That trump instructed people to falsify these figures but he's not a great witness is not a great witness at all. So you would want people to corroborate that you'd want much more than michael cohen. Ideally

Donald Trump New York Review Kadoorie Bob Garfield Georgia Manhattan Fulton County Vance Supreme Court Twitter New York Michael Cohen Trump Brooke Ford DOJ The Wall Street Journal David Farrell Cohen
How Pundits Are Inflating Trump's Odds of Facing Criminal Charges

On The Media

07:16 min | 10 months ago

How Pundits Are Inflating Trump's Odds of Facing Criminal Charges

"This week saw americans of all political humor's bewitched by wishful thinking some seeing donald trump after many stumbles finally on the path to victory in states and join texas and support of supreme court lawsuit which seeks to stop george michigan wisconsin and pennsylvania from finalizing their election. Results president trump on twitter. Call this case quote the big one and others foreseeing delectable prospect of rule breaking tax dodging constitution shredding precedent on trial there are credible allegations of donald trump has in tach fourth bankruptcy for four instances of possible obstruction of justice that robert mueller outlined his report on russian interference in the election. Meanwhile the president and his family actually have a whole lot more to deal with. New york's attorney general is investigating the trump organization misled investors by inflating assets as court filings and news reports hinted investigations well underway certain. Team ounce within the talk of sphere. We should probably expect that. There will be charges against him that he will be indicted on in this case. We're probably going to trial. I think is an excellent chance that he will be found guilty. Pius found guilty. There's an excellent chance he'll wind up in prison last month. In the new york review writer lawyer and former federal prosecutor amish kadoorie reviewed the various arguments including his own for the likely prosecution of donald trump but kadoorie also conceded that in fact. Such speculation is quote insane among his critiques of the media. Commentariat that there are too many former prosecutors himself included represented and that there are too few defense attorneys who know better than anyone had a scrambler prosecution and that no one is willing to say we just can't know. I guess it's not a great way to get twitter. Followers or cable news hits. But it's just fundamentally true. There are lots of things we don't know and facts could change. And you know. It's very rare that i see anyone saying that which brings us back to august. Virus vans sadness subpoena last year to dorsey bank as part of its investigation into president. Trump's business dealings times says the bank complied with that subpoena. When that news broke a lot of people were strongly suggesting there might be a bank fraud. Case what the manhattan. Da is looking at here is overstating the value of your assets to get loans understating the value of your assets when it comes tax time that kind of thing is straightforward textbook fraud. It's much easier for prosecutors to prove those kind of charges love. Compare the two and then you know. He's in huge trouble. If they're not the same a bunch of people were saying. This is not just a bunch of people but a bunch of prominent former prosecutors with significant followings on twitter and cable news contributor gigs. I was really taken aback because i found fundamentally very misleading. You basically said the speculation was insane. That you've done this at doj and it simply not how fraud investigations are conducted. Yeah no that is the word i used in the wall street journal insane in particular about the suggestion that had been made by former acting solicitor. General under obama. And you'll cut yo. I think it's totally possible for all of this to come out before the twenty twenty election terms of new york's prosecutors getting this information on in acting on it in so that was really surprising to be coming from someone who is at least supposed to know better. According to convicted trump lawyer michael cohen trump inflated his assets when it was opportunity to do so deflated them when that was profitable. And if cohen is right doesn't that mean that a prosecutor could just compare one accounting book with another find the mismatch numbers. And you know it's over no So it's a very reasonable supposition but when you're investigating financial fraud case the fact that some documents some numbers may differ from one set to another is often just the start of case you have to figure out why they differ does matter why they differ. Who prepared them if their lawyers. Accountants and auditors involved. What did they have to say about. The relevant figures trump did not have a huge business. Right this is something that i think david farrell hold. The post has been very good at illustrating for the public. And it's fairly small organization but that organization still had lawyers had an accountant that is going to substantially complicate any investigation. If the lawyers overstepped and they can't prove that this was a conspiracy with which trump was involved. Then he's not liable that's correct. We don't even really know what trump's involvement was in the preparation of any of these figures that would be the crucial question. You'd want emails if they exist and of course he notoriously does not use email. You'd want to know whether he had spoken to people and provided them potentially with oral instructions now in the case of cohen. That is what he says right. That trump instructed people to falsify these figures it's not a great witness is not a great witness at all and so you would want people to corroborate that you'd want much more than michael cohen. Ideally if you're just playing the odds the odds usually disfavor an indictment right. People do things that look problematic. You look a little closer. There are some times innocuous explanations or maybe you just can't build the case to prove what you think really happened so charges are not brought. There may not be a criminal case against the president. Even if the justice department looks aggressively at what we know so far and digs up additional things and that's itself a big. If you say that there's a bunch of suctions built into this genre of reporting the reporting on the president's future prosecutions that baffles skew. Your i mean. One of the assumptions is that there is a criminal case. It's just you know which one where do you find it. Another option is that sivan's will definitely be charging the president. Are you talking about the new york magazine. Piece that said considering the number of crimes he has committed the time span over which he has committed them and the range of jurisdictions in which his crimes have taken place. His potential legal exposure is breathtaking though certainly one of them. I think the la times columnists that you mentioned that assumption is also built into his piece. There was a piece of politico on december third about trump's pardon power that said well. He's got all this criminal exposure in the states and you know criminal exposures kind of a term of art just means like the risk of potential criminal charges. It is not really that informative because a lot of people have come criminal exposure. A lot of times and never get charged. And you know vance's office in particular. I say i find it really strange that this assumption has sort of taken hold at all because his office history presuming complex white collar. Cases is quite checkered including

Donald Trump New York Review Amish Kadoorie Kadoorie Dorsey Bank Twitter Robert Mueller Michael Cohen Trump Pius David Farrell New York Supreme Court Wisconsin Pennsylvania Michigan Cohen Texas DOJ
"the new york review" Discussed on The New Yorker Radio Hour

The New Yorker Radio Hour

03:38 min | 1 year ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The New Yorker Radio Hour

"Know. I think. I mean at one point I don't think it's terribly difficult to read. Very. To to write very. Much. Within the traditions of Orthodox Christianity at the same time that you are writing non-exclusively in a way that could be acknowledged by non Christian faith you know five years ago you wrote an essay called fear. Christianity in America today and you talked about. Christianity as. particularly in this country as more and more becoming associated with ignorance intolerance and belligerent nationalism. What are your concerns about that? Left. I think that anyone really am not anyone what can I say I? We have their legitimate grounds for concern. About whether or not the actual. BURDEN CHRISTIAN THOUGHT IS BEING Perpetuated. Whether it is being consulted even you know. I it really I think part of the reason that we're in such travel is because. you know who? Tocqueville said that we were great because we were religious basically you know and. And when we when the religion goes bad, you know when the salt has really lost safer than you think. then. We're really in trouble. This is a conversation that you had with. Other people with Barack, Obama not long after the publication of that that essay which was published in The New York review of books. Now, one thing that Obama has said about you and your writing is that he feels that you share a certain sense of hopefulness about this country about American values I have to ask. Are you reading the same newspapers that I am because this is this is. This is a rough time. Be Flip about it. No, no I have. It has to be said you know. I. It's there are. Elements in this country who seemed to be very highly motivated who are clearly who seemed to have a very, highly articulated notion of what? is to be desired who are completely cryptic from my point of view I. Mean there's there's energy behind a kind of change that systematically demolishes. Democratic conventions and you know. And toward what goal toward what is their horizon? You know I think we we I think if this were by any means a normal political movement, we would know what they want. We would. I mean, what do you do after? You've basically you know destroyed the credibility of the C. d. c. you know what do you do when you have a depopulated major government agencies and filled them of with people that you know they have no qualifications and no obvious good sense. You know I mean. It's it's as if they had taken mannequins into a government to replace the people that had been there previously. And.

Barack Tocqueville America The New York review
"the new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

WNYC 93.9 FM

02:51 min | 1 year ago

"the new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

"Include The New York Review of Books, said Journal of Ideas Online only at N y books dot com A revolution in Mexican art. Lawrimore on millennials in an interview with Russ Feingold on how the right stole the court Swan galleries with fine books and manuscript online, now auction July 30th with autographs by musicians, artisan writers and early printed books. More information at swan galleries dot com and on this one galleries up W N Y C independent journalism in the public interest. 93.9 FM and AM H one NPR News and the New York conversation. So the flowers maybe will called Wait. You get away for stations. Clothes that didnt Tio. You and me underneath the roof can wait just a visit or is the way it makes. I hope it rains. You. Maybe will be waiting now. Ah, a mid sixties mid.

"the new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

WNYC 93.9 FM

06:23 min | 1 year ago

"the new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

"Supporters include the New York review of books a journal of ideas the current art issue include Susan Thomas and Gerhard Richter Nicole Reddick on Simon Hanselman and Sophie Pinkham on socialist realism online at NY books dot com we're going through a health and economic crisis that is also an anxiety crisis so let's look at in the eye and move through it together I'm Brian Lehrer right now we're in this paradox of needing to support each other and isolated from each other at the same time W. NYC will be there for you bringing you the information you need to stay safe listener support powers are work right now we need your help if you can please donate at W. NYC dot org it's All Things Considered from NPR news I'm Mary Louise Kelly and I'm ari Shapiro dating wasn't easy before the pandemic and it certainly isn't now still many people are not letting the corona virus get in the way new they're not dating apps are reporting increased traffic at some couples are sheltering in place together but what if you just started seeing someone will moving in together might not be the best idea so what can you do to keep things going well you can go on a virtual dates eat dinner together or watch a movie and if things get stale look for ways to shake it up write letters take an online class together or cook the same thing at the same time and that's if they date ends poorly or the relationship sours be honest don't ignore texts and if you're gonna in things try a video chat now is not the time to ghost well most people are practicing social distancing in public some are also doing it at home as part of their hunker down series radio diaries brings us the story of Robert and Wendy Jackson four years ago Robert had a kidney transplant his immune system is severely compromised Wendy is an emergency room doctor who runs the risk of corona virus exposure at work so the couple made the difficult decision to live together six feet apart are you comfy in I am nice compass over ready to roll okay we are in our basement where I like to hang out in a house with his the man cave definitely not my natural habitat there's a bunch of turntables couple million CD's may be a huge TV screen a windy is about six feet from me she said in on a so for I'm sitting on a love seat that's opposite of her we've pretty much exists in the same house with at least six or eight feet apart we used to bathrooms we have more than one bedroom that we separate in yeah I'm glad you were able to put in action how social distancing although I was resistant of it and I don't understand it but I'm glad you did right definitely when I'm not doing what I'm supposed to do they made aware but you know it's still hard to stay six feet apart from someone you live with difficult yeah very difficult so we no longer can sleep in the same bed we can no longer occupy the same room for a long time so intimacy physical intimacy is definitely not happening right and that you know how important it is for me how do you think that affects you it's pretty rough I don't know what I miss most it's just the human touch a lot of things are better transmitted through touch them through talk I think there's just so much that we took for granted before all this started do you believe that you can be intimate without physical touch I think so and I might not have agreed are understood that prior to what's going on now you know just trying do little things like no fix your favorite meals are spray your pillow with lavender are the little emails or texts just you know little things to show that I'm still connected if not physically then emotionally I know for me the hard part is that night I think one night in particular that I remember when temperatures that dropped pretty low the wind was blowing really hard you know when we usually in bed together I can feel your warm feet next to mine so now it's like a co sheet so he was like an emptiness yeah no when it's bedtime missions okay night night going up or C. in the morning and that's it so sweetie are you fearful about getting sick contracting the virus well fear is not the word I would use but at the same time hello I'm not naive because I understand that being immune to suppress what that really means to me for me because I have to take you know a certain amount of drugs every day just to keep my body from rejecting his kidney I have to be careful this coming up I found myself feeling helpless a lot because I'm not sure you know what I can do you know we've been married for like what fifteen years I knew because I've seen you in action which you are very good doctor but what I didn't know is how serious you are about keeping me safe when I saw would describe Dimmick before you go to work you in tears because you are afraid you know that you're going to bring something home and and I have to encourage you that we are going to be okay I got a really good understanding of how much you cared about me my fear is infecting you even if I wasn't showing any symptoms at all it's always in the back of my mind because it's such a distinct possibility I understand why.

New York review Susan Thomas Gerhard Richter Nicole Reddick Simon Hanselman Sophie Pinkham journal of ideas
New York reviewing sites for more hospital beds, Cuomo says

AP News Radio

00:45 sec | 1 year ago

New York reviewing sites for more hospital beds, Cuomo says

"Governor Andrew Cuomo says New York City is getting one million much needed and ninety five masks right away and another million to other hot spots around the state which has identified six thousand new ventilators it combine he also wants for new field hospitals and says corona virus drug trials will begin here the FDA is going to accelerate two New York ten thousand doses is soon as we get those doses will work with hospitals the governor who ordered a virtual lockdown starting Sunday night to stop the spread says now is the time to practice a little humanity don't let the little things get too annoyed that's New York at its best it was New York after nine eleven I'm Julie Walker

Governor Andrew Cuomo New York City FDA Julie Walker
The Promise and Forgotten Journey by Silvina Ocampo

Bookworm

09:57 min | 1 year ago

The Promise and Forgotten Journey by Silvina Ocampo

"Of the joys on the path of a reader is seeing a name that you see for years and years. Who is this person as we know today? This person who we hear of and don't know is likely to be a woman who's been neglected. This woman Safina. Oh compo was considered to be one of the great unknowns of South American Literature. She worked with or who we spore his when he was putting together his collection of fantastic literature working on that anthology as well was her husband. Cassavetes who wrote a book that Voorhis praised very highly the invention of Morrell. I read born face and Casado race as a young man but until recently I had never read much to my discredit savina Ocampo. Now I can say in my defense. The two of her books a novel and a book of Stories have just been translated and published by city. Lights press many people know city. Lights Bookstore do you also know that froing getty has oppress attached to that bookstore? Yes there is a press and they have published Safina Compost Forgotten Journey which is a book of short stories. But if I am not giving away too much the forgotten journey is the journey out of the womb into the world. This is a journey. None of US succeed in remembering completely. He did not remember it or face. He saw that. Silvino aqap ball had the gift he said of clairvoyance and so now. We have to thrilling books. Forgotten Journey a book of her short stories and I mean the longest is six pages and then a novel called the promise and we say an awful because it is probably the longest thing she wrote. But it's fairly a hundred pages. I have three translators here who have been working on Silvino compo and they are just some of the translators who are working on Silvino Compo. Because she's about to be the discovery that we have all been waiting for. It's very exciting. And one of these translators is the marvelous Suzanne Joe Levin who goes by the name June. Wien many of you will know as soon as I tell you that. She has translated. Cabrera Infanta. Julio Cortazar Carlos Fuentes Man will tweak Severo Saad we hand Buick Assad Race. And she's translated a great deal of poetry more than forty book on translations she is the dean of Spanish South American literature and translation with her are to people who've been her students and who worked with her on each of these two books. Jill how did you come to know? Savina OCAMPO's work well I came to know Selena. Compost work Because I had the good taste and look to make amazing Literary critic when I was very young New York name a mirror years ago and he with him I was down in Argentina and Together we went to the House of Combo They were married. They were married and so I met them for the first time but of course I had already heard of them because I studied Latin American literature in college and And I was at graduate school that time so but getting to meet. These people was like so exciting. You know it's sort of like meeting Gods When you're a student you're studying. These people like absolutely amazing. Did you also meet for his? At that time. I actually met him the year before because he was brought to yell to give a lecture and evolve bone. Was there also Savino Campbell about whom we're speaking being cassavetes and all who were triumvirate of sorts? Once they married for fifty years he continued to be their dinner guest and You know he as I said. He said of her that she was clairvoyant. She didn't take many photographs. She did not like to be photographed when you see a picture of Safina or Campo. It's not unusual for hands to be crossed in front of her face and if fast if she were going to this or that party she would sing with this ugly face. Jessica Powell use started to read Cedar Fina under the direction of Jill Levine. Yes I was first introduced to Selena's work many years ago in a translation seminar that I took with Jill when I was a graduate student at UC Santa Barbara and after that class ended Jilin. I decided to collaborate on a novella which was actually the only work that Silvino Compo and her husband Blake Assad wrote together and so it was lower haight which is fantastic and we co translated it. And after that Jill and I started talking about you know Oh wouldn't it be wonderful to translate more of Selena's works and so then in Katie a? New Young came on the scene and she's completing her doctorate and her dissertation is in part on Compo Katie's Latif John worked on the translation of forgotton journey. A book of short pieces. There has been also. I don't want to confuse anyone a book of poetry from the New York review books as well as another book covering the entire spectrum of So Vena or Campos pros. I've found my own beginning point. Were these two thrilling little books. Let's here who would like to read a section of Savino Compo? Who'd like to go start with the first black? I can read a section of the Olive Green Dress. The first paragraph from journey forgotten journey. The very first book of Savino Gone Full. Let's hear the first paragraph of the Olive Green dress the olive green dress. The display windows stepped forward to greet her. The only reason she had left the House that morning was to go shopping. Miss Hilton blushed easily her skin translucent as a waxed paper like those packages who's wrappings reveal. All that's inside but beneath such transparencies where the thinnest layers of mystery behind the branching veins growing a little tree over the surface. She was ageless unjust when one noticed the deepest wrinkles on her face or her long white braids. It was possible to catch an unexpected glimpse of her youth in some childlike gesture. Other times she seemed to have the smooth skin of a young girl and light blonde hair precisely at the moment when she looked as if old age had caught up with her. The first paragraph of a very short story called the Olive Green Dress as I read. The stories seem to escape from me as I moved forward in them. There's a strange quality of presence and absence coal joint as she writes. It's quite extraordinary and this first paragraph. Because it's so zigzag you know I I saw it begins with a very odd sentence received like awkward. How could display windows stepped forward to greet you of course? That's that's very surrealist element of you. Know which was the time she was writing in but you know she she young as she old. It's like going from a woman's You know perception of herself but you were talking about how she felt about. She looked I mean. I thought this is kind of interesting example now. Above of that of of those issues and so as very twisty this is Jill Levine. Who is perhaps the Guardian Angel of these three translators bringing savina Ocampo's writing into our present

Jill Levine Silvino Compo Olive Green Dress Savina Ocampo Selena Savino Compo Cassavetes South American Literature Casado Lights Bookstore Savino Campbell United States Voorhis Cabrera Infanta Savino Morrell Julio Cortazar Carlos Fuentes Suzanne Joe Levin
"the new york review" Discussed on Call Your Girlfriend

Call Your Girlfriend

09:16 min | 1 year ago

"the new york review" Discussed on Call Your Girlfriend

"You you know I go back to this idea of women translation month right because on one level. I think I've thought a lot about how in works that are well regarded like works works that are seen as foundational. The Odyssey I think about who's missing from that right like which authors which creators are missing from what is perceived as canonical. I think about that a lot. I think a lot less about interpretation of that work and also how that is a loss that we experience as people who are interested in the world when when only a certain demographic is is critically interpreting that as well and I think like that layer is is what. I'm really I'm really getting out of this. This translation I mean I love this is just like full on Nerd raving now. I love work. That Lake makes me consider the kind of everyday things I'm consuming consuming even when it's not the work itself so when I when I when the Odyssey is closed sitting by my bedside table I am still thinking about now because it's forefront of my mind. How how things around me are translated right like who who is picking this item and packaging it for trader Joe's and like what was his original form? Or like you know just like every mundane choice about like who gets to be a translator of of Culture and art in the deepest broadest sense right. I mean it. It is such a gift that we have as humans that there are so many ways to understand each other and to have access to each other's ideas and words and brains and transgenders are a vital part of that and it's just so I don't know it's just it's just been making me think it's making me think I think a lot about You know who are the like. Who are there middlemen in the transaction of like understanding other human beings and it's it's and it also makes me think a lot for myself about You know like how my thoughts are organiz infringe versus how their earnings in English and even in the process of writing our book like like what kind of writer. I am an English because I think that that's the thing that I've been trying to understand about myself for a long time and it is now coming into focus for me a little bit and languages so mysterious and it's so so so so important the work of translation it's not just like the Work of translation in is not transcription and I think that a lot of people also just don't understand like they're not transmitter. Works Line by line translation. Inflation's or just gray I'm gonNA faithfully Hue to the the words that are here. It's like you are you are translating a mood. You're translating emotions you are. You are translating inciting a culture and all of that is. That's art. That is that is art and I am I am. I am fluent in languages that I do not have have the skill to translate works in that is that is true. That is a true labor of You know like intellects and art so I am very. I admire that a lot of one hundred percent. I love what you said about how like. There was never a one to one because of the mysteries of language. Right or like the the there is no such thing as a translated work. That is not an interpretation right and it's an it's very intimate process. I'm I'm thinking about. I will link to the show notes this piece that Tae Joo Cole wrote in The New York review of books but is essentially about like translation. An and it just. It's a really lovely sentiment. Because he talks about like his books being translated into other languages. And how you know. I'm I can't even imagine like the relationship that you have to have what someone who literally will take your words and convey them in another language and also just like he contextual is it so much into into the work of other literary translations uh-huh but it was just like a really lovely piece I will. I will link to in the show notes. I I don't know and this is like bringing up a lot of feelings for me. I love it a a lot of like a lot of feelings as a consumer of art. A lot of multi-lingual feelings like a lot of feelings of like what do I think I know that I don't know go. WHOA and and I feel like that? That's like actually the I don't know so much adult life has been this for me. It's like every day. I realized that a thing that I was told to believe is actually a not how it is and and that's a little bit rattling completely. I mean in like in some ways I think the process of growing up is continually recognizing how little the things you think you know are are true in any objective sense always be learning. It'd be learning. I'm trying to find this quote. There was it was. It was a book review. I think it was in the New York Times Book Review several months ago and it was a line embedded in a review of something. It wasn't like you know the the subject of an essay. But I'm paraphrasing the quote which goes something like all writing is working translation. Like you are taking things that are not experienced verbally. Certainly not in the written word and like experiences in the world and emotions and like dynamics and putting putting a name to them and that process is is extremely precise right like that is a translation as well. And that's something I thought about that quote which I'm so sorry to say that I do not have at hand end in order to credit the writer but I thought about that quote a lot like as we go through our own book writing process and there have been so many times when we're like how do we even begin to capture. This thing that like you know has happened between us or that like one or both of us have felt that there is just not a commonly accepted language for. Oh my gosh yeah. That's so that's so real it's like like speaking of that like That teacher drew coal piece. That I was I was telling you about one of the things that like tissue. Coal talks about With his translator. I'm just GonNa go ahead and read it to you because I feel it is still blowing my mind. So he's basically talking about the translator translated already four of his books into Italian right and so he says recently she it was translating at SAF mine. On the blackness of the Panther which ranged on various matters from race the color black and colonialism to panthers the history of Zoos and Rainer Rainer Maria Rilke. It wasn't an easy Texas translate in particular the word blackness in my title was a challenge to translate that word she had considered I'M NOT GONNA say these words Italian because I don't know how to say them Both of which suggested negritude but neither quite evoked a layered effect that blackness his hat in my original essays. She needed a word that was about race but also about the color block the way that she was looking for. Couldn't be the word for darkness in Italian which went too far are for in. The optical direction emitting racial connotations so she invented word thus the title and then they like been the title of the essay like totally changed. And I was like like this is this is hard work. Yeah I mean I. It's like the language of like for Ron Dante. You're gonNA like innovate Batesville. Ferranti and Dante. Listen I that's like from the teacher copious I love it. Yeah I love it and it reminds me of actually Another thing from this. Emily Wilson Intro to the Odyssey that I've been thinking about in terms of how how words that actually don't have a one to one translation or meaning get interpreted as having that so she talks about this term Zenia like X. Niagara which is the root of xenophobia. And if you ask me I like before reading this translation without access to a dictionary I would have said that. Means fear of strangers or like a dislike of strangers Well but she sort of says like she goes in deep to sort of say okay. Xenia really means guest. Friendship like it's a hyphenated term which has to do with the welcoming of a stranger her you kind of perceive if to possibly be appear I e someone with the financial resources to travel. Who is not enslaved who you are kind of obligated by right like maybe exactly and it's like a slightly more complicated version of the Christian? Welcome the stranger vibe. But but there's something about the hyphenated guest friendship that I thought was really interesting and and the fact that it is not just about the category of being being stranger or friend or stranger or kin. It's about this category of being a stranger who has every right to expect a warm reception like there's this idea of like there's a value embedded in that right like like the term itself implies that it is a value you to welcome a stranger on your doorstep. It's altered how I think about the terms enough OBE.

writer Ron Dante Rainer Rainer Maria Rilke Emily Wilson Tae Joo Cole New York Times Joe SAF Batesville Texas The New York review Ferranti
New York judge orders Trump to pay in charity lawsuit

AP News Radio

00:33 sec | 2 years ago

New York judge orders Trump to pay in charity lawsuit

"One the suit of the most filed comprehensive by new York's reviews Attorney of deadly General school allege attacks the president finds that many and his times family the suspects illegally showed warning use signs the trump foundation a study by the secret as an extension service's national of his businesses threat assessment and a presidential center looked campaign a deadly school a attacks judge from has two ordered thousand the president eight to twenty to pay seventeen two million the dollars study found to that various most students charities who commit such attacks and also signed were badly off bullied on deals had to a history close of disciplinary the foundation trouble and distribute and their behavior about one concerned point seven others but million wasn't in remaining reported funds many were absent to other groups from school before in the the attack agreements often the president through school admits suspension personally the head miss of the national using threat foundation assessment center funds Lena Allah fari and agrees tells to the pay AP back the majority money spent of these incidents on sports are preventable memorabilia researchers and hope champagne the information at a gleaned charity from the event report will help train Sager school officials mag Donnie and law Washington enforcement on how to better identify students who may be planning an attack and how to stop them before they strike Jennifer king Washington

New York President Trump Attorney Deadly General School Sager School Mag Donnie Washington Jennifer King Washington
A York Review

The Final Furlong Podcast

03:59 min | 2 years ago

A York Review

"Hey what's in the water for in tipperary. You want to five race cheltenham festival over five days. Are you insane because because all all ireland medals course tipperary water and your last week would bandwagon and wagon jumper blake senior hurling matching his life but somehow decided grew up. They're still gonna throw it in kennedy space bruce when we often but fourteen points sorry. You're not talk while i thought he'd be too posh per exactly exactly rugby. Ah would you believe really blake played in goal for tipperary back in the day really hurts run-and-shoot of lake family. I take it all back a monster under twenty one goal for have you know i could. I could barely rise above the safe nice but it was going to say that your dad who listen to this podcast i'm sure is incredibly proud of all your achievements and this is with you daily but there must be a little part of them but just dies inside that you want you want to hear what are you talking about. My heart career sure it wouldn't come watch. The matches dead's dead serious because blaming sese. I'm i am not exaggerating her end. This hurler bosh they used used the play me on <unk> is true. They used to play midfield and put let me up against the opposition's best player and make me pull and drag knocked lumps over because that's all capable to do shots hit him that he's no relation and he couldn't watch. I don't watch it yeah. Thirteen hundred hurling retired at the age of sixteen and concentrate on the hour of the early a bit more suitable my skill set earlings and incredibly violent sport and anybody who tells you differently is is lying to your face <hes> you can be when you're youngster be told to just go out. There and hit hit tha fella. He's i'm reading the sheen's brick shinbone. I was told one day breaking shinbone. If i was a horrible hurling players resolved by the way football lisa simpson famous quote of hack the bone i want i want i want to do a final furlong. Podcast kevin blake's hack the bone years before we move on rec- were you a decent hurler alright. Bryce commercials or motor overs cheesy. You've got it all can twice by domino. Put your thirteen or fourteen sure everyone's good at that age or at least statements to be unknown say good now that a gap the gap grows as you get older. I found let me put it this way. Rec- were you picked last like me or were you picked. I we need out there and kill the man go ahead kevin submarine the mid late i was once given the apple later said africa's best ever come from where did that gopro. Are you doing your own. Vanessa riles on the show. Now jesus christ rick sees a spring book by bursch. Yes i forgot you put you don't have the trevor noah accent so it just confuses me every now and again you should be dropping in leonardo dicaprio's accent

Kevin Blake Bruce Ireland Trevor Noah Leonardo Dicaprio Vanessa Riles Lake Family Lisa Simpson Domino Bryce Football Africa Gopro Apple Five Days One Day
"the new york review" Discussed on Conversations

Conversations

11:19 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on Conversations

"Robbed on the way and i was other young blocks exterior and that and i was talking to young english blow whose parents lived in chelsea council flat and what are you waiting for going to become an actor. I want to be in the theater. I'm gonna come an actor and he said identified. I should like the picked up whoo opportunity so what you do. He said he's a fireman now. I found out that everything that has a fine but they're influential. They're important people in the theater. I just wanted to get into the theater. I didn't care. I gotta get into the theater. I'm going to be an actor in some way. So when i went you said look at my dad's idea wrangham and he said i'll send you down to achieve. I went down to the chief fireman. He said so you want to be in the theater. He said i can get your pushing scenery tonight at the victoria palace. Here's your union cards dan. You got saddam pushing pushing scenery while i was pushing senior. There's a young actor there who said it to me look to get a job. You've got a right to the provinces. You've got to get in the small theaters. I ride to the provinces one of the provinces back said but we don't have any room for as an actor but you can push scenery me. He thought get out there. Get full-time job in it. Something will happen as in timothy west. One great actors came up there doing a series of plies. I got to know him mm-hmm and i said i want to be an actor doing the obscenity trial reading and i and he said you can play one of the pets i did that and the next minute. I didn't apply apply to coughing and the next play us doing up there. A coughing only a coughing orderly there was a play call national health and head down the it had coughing orderly and i thought they going to have to bring an actor up from from london and a pain to be a coughing. I said tim i can play that. I can call i can cough. I can be the coughing saving you money but i was in apply with some very very good actors sal. I was getting my l. is up and then from that i then went and did career in education where i went around at schools to three schools die doing stuff with the children and then i came down to london so nail being a wife or for something like eighteen months out of pannonia i think i'm down to two london and i read in the paper that was that i was looking for actors to god ah with a with a major theater company to go to the universities in america i wrote to them. I said common audition. I auditioned. I got a phone call from one of the actresses. That was auditioning listening may who said look. We haven't got pot for you for what the parts of the gang she said but we really liked your audition. My sister is the qasim director for the national. Theatre data is taken. Either from lee is putting in your company together. Would you like to addition. I said yeah i rang. Sista has come down audition. I came down. I did and two things for her was speech from brian for love's labor's loss and she said and you got to sing a song. She said she remy up. She said kay tomorrow. You're auditioning for paid a whole. I went down to pay the whole with my piece prepared setting the wings while another actor the d._c. Space then he sang an aria and i've got awed when the red red robin comes bob and along pretty badly but did you think it's something come up and d- mouth that's the big question after you're a stanford and that's the thing i i walked out onto the stage and they was peter whole sitting there and she said brian is going to do brian from lung fluid love's labour's lost and he's going to sing when the red red robin comes blah blah blah blah blah reagan osayemi black the saying that there or anything like it paid a whole smiled he he got me to do the peace again. Dan i went home that night they said. Would you like his contract with the national. This is conversations saragan oscar on a._b._c. Ready the brian after after working in theatre in the u._k. You came back to australia and appeared of course in bright camera at what you're a member of your first day on the set of that film. I remember that i had the worst mustache of any of the guys you singled out. Things asked me to play this character hancock and he said you gotta wear moustache gosh so i sat at a guy that massage and after about three weeks i looked at it and i thought this is dreadful. Iran bruce and i said bruce so i have to wear a massage. It'd be implied israel without actually brought. This is a real character. This is a real black. You gotta wear them stuff so i continued trying to grab this thing and eventually. I thought you know what it's not bad. It's not bad it. Give me a sense of some description description. It was sort of like <hes> caterpillar a bit. It was sort of like hey was sort of out of every but it was it was there wasn't you couldn't see through it just to see my skin. There was hey again but it was all wobbly but you know it is myself and so i go down there for the first rehearsal feeling pretty good and in wilkes rod melania the actor and he has got this thing that's so beautiful and so shaped and whatever and i sort of went and then john waters walter and john ward has had this thing and i remember going into a real like oh god they've gotten stashes and i've got this thing and in fact when the movie ended i reckon within five minutes i went into the toilet and i cut my mustache and i thought you know and then i sort of thought. I want any re-shoots on this. Maybe i couldn't wait to get off. I thought i looked so bad in that movie and also i thought you know i looked at i saw a cut of the movie and i thought oh my god what a dreadful characterized i do is just try out these lines all the time and that's the end of me as an actor infill and i done a few films before that but there was a pretty gonna be a pretty good film and then the movie came out and people went in this and and then you know semi agency in hollywood ran. I really liked you and this. We want to represent like wow. Maybe a bit of look at that movie again. It was such a big international success this film about an australian wool story. Why why did it resonate so much. Break them rant. Do you think well. I think a big reason for break appeared at the right time. Because in america there was a thing called the my lai massacre from vietnam <unk> an lieutenant kelly was obliged. Who is the one that was going to have to pay for this massacre and that's where it stopped on a lowly officer. They didn't go after the big boys on it and this was sort of the same thing and it's interesting like a number of people even today when i'll go somewhere vietnam vets that american will come up and say i really love that that movie and i remember review is signed to me. The new york review assigned to me in the right movie. You know it's about the my lai massacre isn't if that's been fashioned for that and we know this is a true story around so it really was at the right time for what was happening about vietnam that aside after hollywood came calling you ended up in a t._v. Series called the thorn birds moustache in that often not a shirt often walk recently. It's a little x. Rated needed some of the people who haven't seen it. How would you describe. That story was such a big deal. At the time well you know it was calling colleagues book which was massive all over the world and i an american company picked up the rights suit and turned into ten hours and it was basically the love story between a young <hes> young girl on on an australian heim state and her relationship russian ship with a catholic bishop and an illicit love story. Which of course was why it was such a bestseller. Let me tell you in italy. They turn that on every it christmas and watch that young girl yeah you know this is good but she when when she gets a few years he's older and he goes off to the vatican. She meets a sheera that i play <hes> and we marry and we have a child. That relationship doesn't work out because she's never really loved him. He's not the right man for but that was mainly and look and look and maggie was rachel would did you have to learn to shia shape for that film. How'd how'd that very hard. <hes> sharing one of those incredibly ya i remember the first time i started to do within like ten seconds sweat pouring off me site so difficulty in holding the sheep and doing the intensity of what you're doing and i remember one guy like after a minute i'd shape and i had no i went. I got up just done that but that took you know that was a you know every day for a couple of weeks before i started to actually was relaxed doing it. It was filmed in the states. I say in australia do you. How do they try oughta. Make it look astrology kingery border so they might i spent a lot of money on it said they used hawaii for queensland because a lot of kind cutting and all that sort of is that we used playschool playskool seamy valley outside of l._a. Seyni valley in california was with dravida was built. I think that's these days. I think that's probably massive the houses will every day but it was a very isolated area and look look like a strike california and eric becker same with a ministry liens onset none. I mean china and another australian fella who was number ninety six. I can't remember his name now. He played a character was sort of an item on sheera but it was really the honest writing. What were your first impressions impressions of miss rachel ward when he met her good sort. Speaking is a local speaking is brian. Is it true you read her palm on. I did this smooth mood i did i'd been somewhere and someone already seen on. I was watching t._v. Tell me the person's wrists their own egal's lines and those lines. We'll tell you how many children you guys have. I've actually got a photo of this at some stage was sitting in the share your shed between tixx and and we're taught medicine and i said i can tell you how children going to give me a hand so i'll and you're going to have three children and someone to me and of course we've had three children older. How long after you mitt did you to get married about nine months. I think we shot that in july. We got married in april of eighty three. I think about nine months nine or ten months in your good friend. Samuel is described that wedding as a mix of the most australian and the most posh british guests you could imagine was it a good day. There was a very good diet was a very funny. It was an unusual day. I mean like it was a terrifying die for me because i was getting married and it was scared witless like i knew this was big. I knew this was something i was getting into. That was big. Marriage is something with one person you're going to have children in. I like something was opening up us. Thirty five when i married and i hadn't contemplated i had relationships but not ever with a purpose of the guy anyway particularly and i was struck by the the enormity enormity of what i was getting into so it's pretty like fraught but it was held at a righteous mom and dad have a place in oxford and we had this the waiting there and yes yes <hes> you know the ratio mom and dad came from a certain area of society in england and so there was there was if you want to call it puzzles and pretty 'push people that login college and stuff like that and then i'd got a number of mites of mine came over for it and people like would who had done break and miran came up with jenny data who these days probably people now midwife she was in the first national theatre when i was.

brian america rachel ward australia red robin hollywood vietnam london victoria palace california chelsea timothy west Samuel saddam The new york review oxford italy remy mitt
"the new york review" Discussed on KSFO-AM

KSFO-AM

10:56 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on KSFO-AM

"The collective liberal mindset says dollars telling the Holocaust museum how dare you yes wow the museum's decision quote this is from the so called scholars yeah museums decision to completely reject ride any possible analogies to the Holocaust or two events leading up to it is fundamentally a historical the scholars wrote in a letter published in the New York review of books it has listen to this now it has the potential to inflict severe damage on the museum's ability to continue its role as a credible leading global institution dedicated to Holocaust memory man Holocaust education and research in the field of Holocaust and genocide studies wow and they think they're going to win the election they think they think that this is what will the this type of behavior I know these aren't the okay no wait a minute wait a minute I was gonna say I know these this does not include the candidates here's my question well somebody asked those candidates well somebody ask any of the candidates I know there've been related questions well but do they support if these three hundred scholars well yeah if in petitioning the Holocaust museum why wouldn't eight if if it's the liberals asking the question liberals are attempting to draw that analogy right there's no difference between you know that that that there is an analogy and a comparison to be made between the Holocaust and the legal immigration detention centers if they believe it then yeah they will ask the question should ask the question should they not hello wow I think so it's how they've acted up until now why stop now it's asked him the question if they support these three hundred scholars and petitioning the Holocaust museum yeah but this is again a demonstration as to as to where the left is right now and they're going further and further and further this isn't gonna stop it's not slowing down Gary remember November twenty sixteen after the election let's hark back we we don't park on off let's do some parking okay let's start back we're we're the biggest concern was we don't put on our books in jeans and go to the Midwest often enough where the folks are we need to listen to the folks now they sobered up about ten minutes later moved back to their liberal mindset at the at the media companies and decided not to do that but now you're at the point where it is just for what I don't want to hold anything back I want to punch my political opponents in the neck well since we're making comparisons and allergies why not continue it okay because I think it was a day after that article came out or maybe it was the same day was the same day that Snopes did the fact check of did Obama create the cages right and they said yes so then it is by the way you this is not for anybody listen this is not a path that we would ever go down worst simply responding to those who have gone down this path and are making these analogies and just stating that if we're going to follow these analogies that's continue it to its logical end right or it is illogical as the case may be so if Obama built the cages according to Snopes the left wing the fact checker then it is not Obama the head of the **** party that has built the concentration camps yeah I'm telling you is that it's never been more fun to do talk cranky what really has an I mean you're really you're dealing with children we're dealing we're dealing with children scholars are by the way there are no scholars left around scholars if if they're signing on to do this if they get it if they can't get that through their brain then there's nothing there right dollars three hundred dollars three hundred scholars people three hundred people that are smarter than you they must know they're also smarter Hey that they're also smarter than those at the Holocaust museum when it comes to things regarding the Holocaust wow Hey you idiots we really know what's going on yeah morons man I'm telling you I mean can okay first person and this is how this worked three hundred dollars right what's hard back you were working back as you too how this all plays out you get the first caller scholar number one is will call them saying all right what I'm gonna do I'm going after the Holocaust museum that's a good idea regarding surrounding the hall of the Holocaust now what I'm gonna do is I'm gonna go down the hall and find scholar number two the scholar number two is going to sign on watch this so now they're few hours later they're down the scholar number five who's a little bit skeptical but doesn't want to be called out for it okay final signed you would think that by the time the rich dollar number two hundred and twenty one someone says wait a minute you guys are just too but I'm I'm taking I'm taking your title as a scholar away we're not going to call you a scholar anymore here go shred this thing and don't be stupid anymore by the way one leg at a time that's how you put your pants on because you apparently I can't believe that you actually get dressed by yourself every morning without assistance this is so moronic because because because then they got they got to they got to like two hundred ninety nine and then you know what number we are number three hundred says well you're going to be number three hundred I'm gonna sign it I'm now what is this I'm signing again yeah we're going after the Holocaust museum and we're going to tell them where they're wrong when it comes to the Holocaust right they don't understand how detention camps in the United States that that they're denying that there's any type of comparison and of course we know they're exactly the same they're not scholars the Holocaust museum we are we're scholars scholars will tell them how it works wow wow so now so now you know we've gotten we're we're past we are now past the point where Martina Navratilova is the oppressor right now the Holocaust museum is the oppressor are the oppressors yes this is where we've gone now on the left the Holocaust museum are the oppressors wow for not making the absurd comparison that they're all great similarities between illegal immigrant detention camps and the concentration camps of **** Germany so now the Holocaust museum directors the staff the board did they are the oppressors of the victims so how did what was the context of the the first couple drafts of the letter dear organizer's administrators at the Holocaust museum with all due respect you guys don't know what you're talking about three hundred scholars you see now we while event occasion we get a we get a little frustrated with Republicans saying guys you can't beat this really if you're if if you if you and one we use some of just I don't know whether it's lazy I don't laziness I don't know what it is lack of imagination because you really don't need any imagination now like you can't message against this right you can't successfully message against this and dominate in the elections you actually lost seats in the house in twenty sixteen with a party that is supported by this kind of mindset it's not that hard no eight six six ninety run I for.

New York review three hundred dollars ten minutes
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

02:06 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"Saying. To me that's on your benefits of self employment. Monday nights, route Poche eleven PM eastern. You can check out the rack extra views. Ms MRs episode seven out viable eight will be on Tuesday will live Thursday night. Ten pm you some new version of the of review smackdown throat Aetna. Next run in all that fun stuff. Throwback thursdays. Ten p Mason recreation. Facebook Twitter Instagram back to show when podcast Google podcast. Tune in radio talk radio Facebook comes while talk radio network twitch TV system to describe use credit code rocket second Ford night shop. You got everything. Just tap rock. Just tap. All right. Even foamy almost social media's atlas word alienist ability and check out our very fine sponsor MED films to dot com slash NBC twelve eleven so we will be around tomorrow. We'll probably be doing some incarnation four-night with friends we might be talking about hall of fame. We might not just kind of depends on what's going on with it. But will at least be watching it while playing for night if it's still on so prepare for snarky this there. And then, you know, all the shows that he told you about regarding wrestlemainia so hell week. Hell we guys if gun. Yeah. Everybody. Please check out all the very fine stuff that we're doing over this weekend because it's going to be a lot and everybody's working super duper hard, especially rock who has to produce every single show produced every single thing. I. He's going to be busy. So yes. So please support it check it out swell talk radio dot com radio show dot com. So I'm Lindsay ward you've been seeing the rack here and we'll talk radio dot com, and we will be back Thursday with our review wrestlemainia till then by. Favorites. Talk radio dot com..

Facebook Lindsay ward p Mason recreation NBC
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

03:55 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"I've had enough internet issues. So get her back. This is not. Okay. We're good minor net. Pretty much up. I'm looking okay. I'm good. We're good GNC yet. No. K that's her. Okay. So there's that waiting on her. So. Yeah. That's that's a that was the thing that was a show. Welcome to take over a helluva. Oh, show the hell of. Yeah. Sure. So okay. I'm back. That wasn't me. Don't try throwing back towards me back to you. Then you throw back to me. And then she throws higher, and we back the brain Heathrow's stuff to tell you. How? Shop. So the Aibo died like right in the middle where you're talking about the eight ball eight ball, and then just nothing. So what the hell happened? He threw about me through about him. He threw tennis explain what happened. Well, Brennan Jenner the frisbee one day. The eight ball eight ball beat rock. He beat the eight ball except rock rock finished dead last year. There you go for points. Anyway, that's show. You you explain to your co hosts that picking somebody has no no say on his points omega. I don't think Lindsay not have any room to talk in terms of points. Explains. Like, he's pigging based on his points that doesn't change anything. Billing? Would win. If you didn't play favorites my team. So I stand by my team. That's yes. But I know WWE logic. And I know my team's gonna get fucked. Your team's gonna get fucked. My team got fucked. My team is fucked right now, actually, I have picky Lynch. I'm gonna do fine Martines winning so far so good Britain. I are fighting for dead last right now. Anyway, that's our show. That's our show or a mega plug yourself. So if you wanna see my stuff, my stuff is all over the internet. You can find it over at TJ reviews over on Facebook everywhere else, you can find it at TJ omega. That is the Twitter handle that is the YouTube channel with over a thousand videos to watch and then for some bonus content that you doesn't like it is over at TJ omega dot net. Guys can't see my stuff. My stuff is hidden. Well, except on Twitter at king kittens, and yes, we will do the count again one thousand nine hundred ninety three days. So one hundred something days, I could take off. Hundred twenty something. Hundred twenty six days, I could take off take off a third of a year. Yeah. So about that frisbee. Threw it back to you through victim me. All right to his everybody plugged their stuff. They have. I haven't. All right. You you. Go ahead. So tomorrow night Sieber live prove he will do the gray. And the great debate on wrestlers in movies all front stuff this midnight. If. Seven half hours wrestling. We Russell talk radio whoever's awake talk about it. I'll be alive. I say. Who was awake? So be red bull. Let's go maybe just me and Brent because everyone else falls asleep. So who knows five? I'm telling you this right now put the main event on at Olympic teen eleven thirty. I'm not gonna make it. I am seriously not gonna make you know, there are those of us that do have to work Monday morning, just.

Twitter Lindsay Brennan Jenner Lynch WWE Facebook Martines Aibo wrestling Brent YouTube Russell Britain one thousand nine hundred nine Hundred twenty six days one day
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

03:52 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"Mean, we have takeovers, and they have some great matches. But it's I'm thinking just fully constructed card. There's been better cards cards. There's been better stories every takeover is good in like, you said until the next one, and then that one tops it. But I mean in terms of the top five takeovers, or whatever, I don't even think I could name them. But there have been ones yet. New Orleans has good every show has its high points every show has a slow points that they have to look at it. He ever me really depends on on this leads almost a mood thing like deal. This is a lot of high impact, you know. Phase wrestling in this one, but I also have attachment to like how emotional Bailey's I win was. But wanna go back and watch that match the first iron woman match some really good every take her something. Good about it. Yeah. Finest this is the best one because they look like you're asking me to choose between like cake and ice cream and pizza level three of these things. All keep having all please. Yeah. Oh. For me. It's like, I don't look at it. As this show is better than this show. Like, I don't watch wrestlemainia go will this year was worse than last year. Like on on typical typical shows. I don't do that. Because I don't honestly I don't necessarily remember the last show depending on how much time has passed. So it's like, especially if it's been like three to six months. I don't remember everything that happened on that show. I just know it was a good show. So it's like, you know for this one. This is just going to go in the file as this was a good show to me. I enjoyed it. And I'm gonna move on from it. So that's kind of how I view it and maybe move away. Oh my God. The main roster half the follow this all my gun. Russell off the they have the follow takeover. Stop stop. I mean, this was really really strong show. They set the right tone for the weekend for WWE. But yeah. Made the comparison to let Russell maybe real mania. Let. Pig over repick over the main route can't compete with the next stop. Stop stop that stop. This is based this is basically the thing that WWE this is WWE structuring its entire weekend. The same way, they do the paper view. It's a hot open. He oh, it's a nice comfortable lull in the middle. And then we end huge. You have your bathroom break-up the hall of fame. You know, it's it's all good. Can we stop at the guy? The main rows came just stop. Please enjoy wrestlemainia don't compare it to because they're not the same type of show. Yeah. It's completely unfair in any way. It's it's still no wrestle kingdom omega. No, just just this is a Meghan last appearance on the rack. Omega. Just how dumb this them the compare. It is to make the comparison. But I mean, it's like if you were to take wrestlemainia, and you were gonna take the top five matches on that show and put it up against takeover then. Yeah. That could be a pretty apt comparison. But it's like you can't compare show that had five matches with when the has fifteen you can't do that. He brings up the Russell kingdom g one supercar smart. It's going have twelve matches and four hours enjoy that. That's your style. But he's getting Casey got in case. He don't have enough wrestling this weekend. Four hours twelve matches. Remember that when member that's a lot of Mets short period of time. You're gonna want more time for all those matches. Good thing. Resumes in twelve matches on the main show with five and a half hours. Joy that one wait how many total matches are there. Now that the raw tag team titles have been team. Eighty eight sixteen settlements are on the show so far. And now is it starting in two hours? Feels like it. Okay. Feels like it's gonna be long mania. It's N mania.

WWE Russell New Orleans Casey Bailey Mets Meghan Four hours four hours six months two hours
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

02:51 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"I'm just not used to it. Because it's like again, it's always very rush. So that that they did tell that for story with I fall was really wonderful. And then once they got the first fall, then it kind of increased a little bit in the pitch the pay star to pick up. And then after the second fall, then the pace really picked up. And that's when they start pull out some of the super spectacular stuff. In this match the way super kick PA. Fuck your soubriquet party. But we did. But we did I made a mention I made a mention in the chat. Like the first match seem slows felt like they were kind of a step behind going from spot the spot. And it was I was saying they really hope they find another gear here. Then after the first ball on another gear, and then another one and then another one, and then and then they just started inventing goddamn gears box Aguirre's to us, and and their names were Colorado Rodrigues. Well, those are tools not gears. They all came out everyone from his came out in this matchup. They're like, yeah. We we gotta be gotta we got. We got we got him. We got him full. We got a full on yet. It's like, no don't kicked out. And it's like, how do you get rid of them? So what do he backed out Cole on on this the outside? And then he just starts kicking them all knocking them all out. He then gets the ring eats a super kicked. We all thought. Ho crap. He's then, but no he kept going, and then as Lindsay mentioned the top tapped out right on this to call. There were so many spots where Felli there so many near falls that I was falling for this is one of those were the false finishes were really good and drawn out. Well in other times, you know, it's like, oh, he hits this move. He's kicking out it too with a lot of these. You're like, oh, this could legit be the end when he had been the super kick. And then came out of the corner into the flip flip piledriver, the springboard canadia-. Destroyer? Yeah. I thought that was it like, okay, that's a favorite like. Okay. Then those like getting this might where he knocked them all out in the super I thought. Okay. Jonah's mellow boomed super CAC down and went. Nope. Peak out back up again. Okay. All right. All right, but Johnny's champion. Yes. Johnny Gargano has finally climbed to the mountain. He is your inex- teach Hamparian. So Goldie is going to a good home Candace comes out and celebrates were all we celebrate with the family. Everybody's happy. Everybody's crying. We go up on the stage. And it's like, well is that it is that it is like, no, no, it's never this is part at the bottom. We're okay. The card that the bottom and shit, and then how walks Tomasa Giampa, and we're all sitting here. And it's like, oh my God. What the hell is about to happen? No. And it's like totally do we got away for the credit?.

Johnny Gargano Lindsay Cole Colorado Rodrigues Tomasa Giampa Jonah Aguirre Felli Goldie Candace
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

04:07 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"Kettles fills folder it'll pills. In order. We kind of expected this one. It was time. Yeah. Yeah. Like NFC UK been just begging for someone with star power to come along to be able to take that belt off peak convincingly, and Walter definitely fits that. After six hundred eighty five days, something has to end hit hit, wink, wink, Brent. I don't know what you're talking about rock lemming at some point. You have to give Pete arrest has been. Yeah title. Yes. Just. Yeah. It's just wrong to have someone run that long on sop. They all they all during the whole subtext to this. Because I understand what they're talking about. I'm just gonna move on. Brent you should really think about it saying anyway moving on. Living on. I mean, you Pete Pete his picked up the torch. And he carried the torch for UK for almost two years. He can't blame him at all. He did a wonderful job. But I mean, I'm sure he needed a break. 'cause there's a lot of pressure in your going everywhere, and you're doing everything and the dude and his girlfriend just had a baby not that long ago. So I'm pretty sure he wants to go home and spend time with his daughter. I don't think he's really been able to do a lot of. So that it's they now have a brand he held out when they didn't have full brand. Now, they do yet. The one thing also about this is Lindsay hold is Pete like twenty hours. He's like twenty three or twenty four. No Tyler is twenty two. Okay. So he's twenty two older. He's twenty five year old forty five. He's got plenty of time. He let them take a break. He's earned. It led him, you know, rest up. Stay with the kiddo have him chase a little bit. Or ultimately have someone. I don't know Tyler or someone else that if you can beat Walter it's going to become a compliment now. Yeah, there there's little doubt in anybody's mind that people hold that title again, he will for sure hold that title in. If he doesn't get moved to the main roster, which I don't think he will. I think they're going to keep him in UK because I think that's where he wants to be. He doesn't want to go any further. I'm sure he does actually wanna go further. That. But I don't think he wants to necessarily move to the states to do it. So and it's perfectly happy if he can't appear on shows like rumble, you know. Yeah. I mean, he killed her things can travel and he can come over for the big shows. And I think he's okay with that. But ultimately, I think he wants to stay in UK. But this match was this match was really good. It was really violent. It was a little slow. They did have some problems just because it's a Feis different issue. But they they were able to sort of get around it type thing. But yeah, it just it especially in the beginning. It was kinda like just the size difference alone. Was a little jarring that was it. But otherwise, this was a very good match aunts. Thank you Pete done. That's all have say. Thank you, Pete done for picking up, the torch and carrying the torch. You know, being a wonderful champion because he wants giving us some high quality. Matches in the. Up next see for the women's title home. I got this was awesome fort. They went out there and they delivered. Thing. Sure, I is a door -able, and we need more of her on our TV. We do her gear was amazing. She looked doorbell. Cari looked great Shane. I love Shane is gear. I thought it was really good Bianca was really good in this. She looked like a million bucks. I mean, I can't complain about this match at all the storytelling..

Pete Pete Walter UK Tyler Brent NFC Bianca Shane Cari Lindsay six hundred eighty five days twenty five year twenty hours two years
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

02:35 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"Of it every chance he got? Are. We going to top talk about how the fact that Walter slept. Pete Dunne's nipple off at least three times we wanna talk about how Walter slept Pete done back in time. I mean, can we just the one slap the one slap? We're he's got Pete laying across the top turnbuckle. Any just comes down with that massive bear mid of hand and just flack sim right there. It's like good God, I felt that that just sounded Hain ful, then he fell from the top rope to the floor to add at punishment to it. Like just beat the crap out of great. He he held his own picot, some some Lixin on wall to we're not saying he didn't I will say they went to the finger manipulation one time too many in this match. Oh, yeah. That's my only criticism of it is or one of my link criticism issues as because it was just like you had peaky going to that. And the problem was is it's like it just wasn't doing. What it normally does like it's because Pete doesn't have to use it as often like lock it in like once or twice, and then this kind of it, but he kept going to that. Because it was like every time it just got a little bit more desperate because this is all I got like, this is only thing I have to really beat you. And when it's a guy that's got at least a foot on you. And I think they said like ninety or hundred pounds. Angouleme enough. Honey, I'm sorry hitting going to be enough to beat him to give him the title to give it to him. This was brutal to me could have been five minutes shorter would've made for better match. But I think it dried up just a little bit too much. But in the end, it was really good. I'll turn the droid Pete done in this one. This. This is as close to as WWE is ever gotten to Japanese strong style match on sorry that second rope German suplex, just look sick it. It did not look like it was legal. Got dropped legitimately on his head. Yeah. Yeah. He then they replayed it and it just looked forward. Yeah. You put that in slow motion. You're like, oh, but after six hundred something days on seven hundred days, six eighty five is the total fix hundred eight five days, we have brand new w UK and exceed titles holder. Kettles fills folder it'll pills..

Pete Dunne Walter WWE hundred eight five days seven hundred days hundred pounds five minutes
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

03:08 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"On dream? So he has an excuse to have gigantic entrances over and over and over. He doesn't need about peptide game against as you should realize. Kate came out like the statue of liberty was some kind of Greek God. And like I want I want I want that next level to continue. That's all I think he needs to stay where he is in order to do that. I've seen people say he needs to move up. No, no, no do keep his ass. Right. Where it is. And you let him be glorious right there. Yeah. Don't don't send him up because they're not gonna understand him. They're not gonna know what to do with him. Just let him be him. Let him do his thing. And leave worry is like the fact that they are acknowledging that certain people d- to stay an inex- t to be successful is a very positive step. And that just me. Means that some people are gonna stay where they are in dream is one of them dream is a homegrown character that he needs to stay in that format because honestly the main roster format I don't think he's going to work for him. He can't be nearly an I'm gonna say as edgy on the main shows what he can do on the network because they can get away with just a little bit more on the network. I feel like we saw Khushi then the crowd. What was he doing? There is signing t. Aside from you know, the video that showed of triple h in willing regal signing him. Oh, that's right. Yeah. Thing. He's will be start with the brands here soon. Yeah. Yeah. Congratulations to the next day. It was on me. Hey can't be shins. Get you know, we shouldn't sky thing since Shinsegei was very happy on Twitter signed up next the WWE Hennessy UK championship titles. Oh, God this match. Okay. It's welter impede them before the match. They had hashtag hashtag annex t u k titles. There's more than one type. They weren't being defended. It's also the WWE UK title, the NFC. Kate Pete does been UK champion for so long. We're just gonna let them defend all the belts at once. Why not duplicating it? So therefore someone else gets a chance. Yeah. He's a tag team champions. He's the women's champions. Don't don't ask you know, he snarly enough that he could get away with being women's champion. I mean real realistically he could he just needs to be groomed to become women's champion. Yeah. Yeah. Trittin Tyler need to hold him down in just like groom him up just a little bit. They can break for tea and whatnot. But yeah, just they just need to like that. So mclamb up give him a glam up. So. Yeah. So mega. What part of Pete Dunne's body does. Walter hate the most. He hates his neck. And why does he hate the neck? I don't know. What was he doing to sudden IC stop the shit out of it every chance he got? Are. We going to top talk about how the fact that Walter slept..

Khushi Kate Pete Walter UK Pete Dunne Twitter Trittin Tyler Shinsegei
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

03:47 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"Crowd started chanting. Yes. Yes. Yes. And you deserve it. When the light turned off that was fantastic. That was hilarious. Well, I mean, it was so bright. It was picking up on the cameras then they differently. Those picking up on the cameras that was throughout the night because I guess they all I like this. Distracting on the camera. But hey least the crowd doesn't see this light rock Lindsey. Put it best. It was a light. It was richocheting smile. That was a luminated the crowd. Okay. Can we richocheting Doral? He's absolutely adorable. We need to change his moniker from one in only two sunshine in light because my favorite spot in the whole match, and there's a lot of favorite spots. But this is my favorite spot is it was towards the beginning. Where ouster does the flip off the top rope. Or does the flip off the bottom rope? And he goes into the the seat position ricochet kind of mimicked him, and they both go they both go into that position. They're both sitting there in Allister's Allister's grimacing, and he's growling and he's doing his best Kerr face. And then there's ricochet sitting there smiling like a goddamn labrador retriever. Like, just happy lamb like this is cool. This really cold. He's like smack analysis arm. Like, yeah. Is this cool fun in Allister's like do trying to be cool here and ricochets just happiest hell like I love him. I love him so much. So yeah, it's like the the like layer is nothing else. But Ricky's adorable smile because you don't notice it went away when Ricky shake went away. That's all I'm saying. It was thing. We're writers ended up retaining the titles. Ricocheted? Look. He got killed on the finish. So there's yeah, he did. I mean half the stuff rakish does looks like it should kill them. He he got checked out by the actors after the match up. We didn't see that on screen, but he was checked out by doctors because then we have the final current call. We had the bowels respect from both met. Both teams L stern ricochet had their final goodbye with the NFC audience. They tearing up kind of sorta. Rickett ricochet was full out tearing up. Yeah. Black with keeping cool, but get black. Again, was just being you know, like the big brother just like hold it together and ricochets you could tell it's just like I can't he's like this is so great this is so maisy 'cause yeah, they got a really nice send off everybody hugged after the match. We had the bows of respect, you know, the were raiders basically wished black end Rachelle luck, especially at wrestlemainia. And. Yeah, this this was a wonderful way to sim both men off and best of luck to them as they move forward. So, but this was a wonderful way to open the show. It was a great opener show was so far this week because Shay in to blacker over two and tunnel Mattis to and what does it say if they happen to win on the main roster when they couldn't win the raw belt by themselves and the annex t titles by themselves, and they need to split up and go their own separate ways pretty much what it means. I don't think I keep saying this. I don't honestly believe that they are meant to be a permanent tag team. I think it's just a way to get them up on the main roster and do it that way. And then that way like once they kind of lose their because there was a spot in the match with Rohan Hanson, where they're pinning row, and they've knocked Hanson out, but Hansen gets back up on the rain and Allister's got a hold of him. And basically the way that they described it was Hinson tackles Elster black through the pin. Breaking up the pin between row and ricochet. So we're Cochet they had at one.

Allister Ricky shake Rachelle luck Rohan Hanson NFC Shay Mattis Hinson Kerr Elster Hansen
"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

The Rack Radio Show

04:08 min | 2 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on The Rack Radio Show

"They just kinda curled up through the stage in the fog because it's covered in fog, and there's a red light. And all the sudden here comes row just out of the fog. And it's it was a really cool affect but it's like, wait, wait what is going on? Right now is the stage giving birth dividing. I'm confused very confused right now because then Anson popped out. And it's like oh God. Somehow that's worse. So had to be a difficult birth with those Antlers, right? Horns an Ehlers's and hair in things. Via the office pool. Cue me wrong. It was just. Yeah. It was weird. It was a little weird. But the great we have row and black have sort of a mutual friendship in the match little bit respective. I'm gonna spec you're moving. I'm gonna block here. We have discussed stand there looking at the stereo to go. Yep. Yep. I couldn't actually, but I didn't. But yeah, there was a basically this was a match where it wasn't. They don't they hate each other. Or they're fighting for any particular aggressive reason beyond black end, Ricky shea won't the titles. So it's we're not fighting you because we hate you were fighting you because you won the dusty classic. And so here you go here's shot. So they don't they they there was a lot of respect shown in this match before during and really after. 'cause it's also kinda served as Alastair ricochet swansong a little bit it really the will put him minute. But Hanson's Manuchehr wrestler Hanson gives fat boys all around the world. Hope. That it was a match of pairings because it was always row in black. There the strikers in they just wanted to beat the ever living hell out of each other and good job on that. And then you had ricochet in Hanson. And I can't believe I'm going to say this are the high flyers of the career. I was exactly what Morrow said Joe, which the the spot. I think that signified it was you had both of them going off the ropes. You had ricochet do a handstand bounce. I wanna say Hansen moved Hinson to the handstand into the flying elbow back. And it was just one of those. Oh, fat boys around the world are proud. Yeah. The handling backup. Can we talk about the dive off the top turnbuckle how terrified how terrify were those were everyone on the outside. I told Rocco's like that was an avalanche. That was a literal avalanche. Just occurred. Was progressively better. It was like okay Alastair win over. And then rogue goes through the ropes, and then ricochet who was wobbly ten seconds ago decide, hey, I'm going to jump over. I'm gonna do. I don't know many my thing. Yeah. He did like fourteen flips that which I don't know how he Suman. And then all of a sudden It gets the. over the rope. And everyone just goes. No. And then he dies and give them catch it. And they're like, Yep. Yep. That's the thing in on my God. Yeah. Hanson maneuver wrestler. All I say about that is amazing and Hanson running back and forth screaming between Alastair and ricochet. Is there like stacked up in the quarters and Hanson, just running back and forth and back and forth back and forth. Like six times just screaming the whole time. That was amazing fair about left number five. It was starting to hit him a little. Yeah. He's a little tired. We'd stopped leaves. But the that point fifteen twenty minutes into the match up itself. So it's like, yeah. You could see why little blown up. It was all he needed was a minute. It was great. Yeah. Oh, yeah. Look the Anson like legit love Hanson. He's he's awesome. I love row too. Don't get me wrong eleven both. But Hansen yet Hanson Sanson Hanson two month to take rose shine. So brightly as Brennan's the light that was blinding half the audience in the upper deck of how to get turned off where the crowd started chanting. Yes. Yes. Yes. And you deserve it..

Hanson Sanson Hanson Alastair Anson Hansen Ehlers Ricky shea Brennan Suman Rocco Morrow Hinson Joe fifteen twenty minutes ten seconds two month
"the new york review" Discussed on Intelligence Squared U.S. Debates

Intelligence Squared U.S. Debates

02:13 min | 3 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on Intelligence Squared U.S. Debates

"Eleven where did the compelling interest come from well i mean professionally it's very obvious when i first went into that and to which i went in by joining a pro north korean organization that's based in new jersey of all the places so i joined them and i went in for kim jong il who was then leader whose current great leader kim jong un's father it's east sixtieth birthday celebration that i went in for and i ended up doing a cover feature for the new york review books early two thousand comes right at the end of the great famine of north korea about a tenth of population had died so by two thousand the population we approximate right because you never know for you can verify the number ever but that's about how many people died and north korean population is twenty five million recounting about two to three million deaths so into that too and i went in the devastation was pretty much just in your face you know i didn't expect anything to be this tire and then great leaders birthday is in february which was freezing there was obviously i slept with a code on an i slept in the quarterback then because there was no heat but beyond that i think it was the sense of what this world was where you can go anywhere you can't say anything there's nothing except a great leader and i needed to understand this and then you got this unbelievably distinct unique look at the young generation so in two thousand eleven the key plot is that you got a job teaching english you pass yourself off as an english teacher at a school that specializes in teaching the sons of the power elite of north korea these are all the the golden boys and interestingly they learn english and you went in there for six months you spoke english every single day you are not allowed to speak korean and that's the amazing part of the book because if you were caught.

kim jong un north korea kim jong new york review six months
"the new york review" Discussed on Deadcast

Deadcast

01:38 min | 3 years ago

"the new york review" Discussed on Deadcast

"Does it new york review books was like it was like dinger asli big and we all told him that it was weird and he would just scoff like it's not the sort of thing where like somebody else's driving him and he watches on his phone there was like the tv that i have in my home was just like somehow propped up against a fucking glove compartment of his car while he's like wheeling down the whatever long island expressway like jury ridge like a video village next to his drivers that's insane though he could never be without the opportunity to watch himself like talk with his eyes closed to fucking whatever like kenneth hollick kissinger yes i think it needs to be diagnosed and treated who has anyone who has tv radio brain just has to be they they need to be like put in like rehab in detox and they're not allowed to be on camera for like five years it does seem like the sort of thing to that it's hard to have too much sympathy from people that have the wherewithal to do anything with their lives extremely rich whatever but all those things that people used to say his jokes you know that like a famous person kind of freezes at the moment that they become famous until justin bieber's and be fourteen for the rest of his life or whatever like that's actually you know whatever it's convincing enough i guess that's also sad that would be really fucked up to be fourteen years old for the rest of your life and to constantly be like chasing status and worrying about whether people secretly are talking about you behind your back or whatever it's fucking drag and the idea that he can you know yeah you can only live when people are like sucking up to and then you're just like rude to them and they thank you for it.

kenneth hollick kissinger justin bieber york review fourteen years five years