18 Burst results for "Princeton Review"

"princeton review" Discussed on Negotiate Anything

Negotiate Anything

05:55 min | 2 months ago

"princeton review" Discussed on Negotiate Anything

"Learn more about the work we've done in the past and it's a great refresher if you've been the listener for a long time. Enjoy kate thanks for joining us today. Thanks for having me. It is our pleasure. I've been excited for this. Or why a bit now. So how would you start by telling us a little bit about once you do. I wrote a book called the good boss. Nine ways every manager can support women at work and it's based on a lot of my own observations over the first couple of decades of my career. So i started out in the very male dominated field of investment banking and worked in finance in mergers and acquisitions that i at goldman sachs and move over into the education industry and works worked my way up for stewing deals and then taking on operating roles ultimately became a ceo at age of thirty nine. I became ceo of the princeton review and ran that tutor dot com non currently in my ceo at presence learning which which does special education tele therapy for k. Tall school. So i looked back on my own experience. Working my way up and then running companies and yo- throughout gender has always been a factor for me in something right become very attuned to the the workplace environment for women and a you know where where it works well where it puts up obstacles and you know more than anything what what managers can do what people with power can do to facilitate a better. At working syrians for women spent tastic..

kate Tall school goldman sachs princeton review
"princeton review" Discussed on Newsradio 700 WLW

Newsradio 700 WLW

05:18 min | 6 months ago

"princeton review" Discussed on Newsradio 700 WLW

"The Princeton Review Our good friend Rob Frantic, Rob, Welcome back. Thanks. Good to hear your voice is excited for the conversation. So, buddy, first off, Let's just talk generally about does that look like the college campus life is going to be more or less back to normal when when the kids go back in the fall? I'm going to say absolutely yes, And I can't imagine of chancellor or president or dean of admission that wouldn't want the face same, absolutely particular between now and May 1st and make versus the national decision deadline. That's what students who've been admitted to a bunch of schools. Acceptance, decide on the one school that they're going to go to, and student have been very, very clear. They want their shoes. There's want their their academic experience to be in person. Not on line. They wanna be in Callen campus together with their friends, of course, and then in class for regular study. Robbed. Evening numbers or attendance just encapsulated the impact that Kovar had last year on colleges and kids in rolling that sort of thing. Yeah, we do. And this is the humbling part of it, You know for students that were intending to matriculated show up on campus for fall of 2000 and 20. Some schools reported decreases in 5% some schools between 15 and 16%. And that's the hard number to reconcile. Right. I mean, most schools, but the school that you and I was at the three of us always talk about 3004 year schools in the country 95% of which our tuition driven so if students aren't there, they can't not only enjoy the academic experience and then school suffer financially as well. So let's get to the value colleges that This is what we wanted to concentrate on today. Here around the around the tri state. So what are we looking at? Is why And what by best value colleges. What are we talking about? They're wrong. Well, we have a couple of different criteria. This is our now 17th year, putting this the study together and available on our website for free for anybody want to take a take a peek at it. But it is talking about overall number one. The academic experience number two, the real sticker cost that students are paying. And then, of course, financially, that they're getting career services. And then what? What the what are students going to be doing after they after they graduate, so internships, brother in school, and then they're gonna be value. Once they're out of school, so those of the key metrics that we're looking and of course, there are lots of how schools You know, we all talked about this in the past from our house state. I mean, the Ohio State University big favorite part of the interview to University of Dayton, Ohio, Wesleyan. There are many house calls in the in the resource this year. So because every year it seems as though the University of Dayton is always mentioned in this list, And that's my only water, of course. And you got a fine education there. But, man, I know this. I know the cost of tuition there these days, and it ain't cheap. No, it's it's not. It's not tripping, and you know for the 209. And we're huge Fans. University of Dayton Robyn onto campus so many so many times over the over the years great academic experience for students, But you're right. I mean, some of schools in the best houses this year are pricey. There's 209 schools in the book roughly divided evenly between public and private, but for the private school, the average gift day that that those private Including University of Dating again, Part of that private school cohort is getting a 58 40 $48,000 average grant from public schools is just shy of $14,000. So I just want to repent to know that you know never to cross an expensive school offered them listed consideration just based on thicker costs alone because so many of them are really digging in deeply, particularly through the government crisis. This year to make sure that they have financial aid dollars available for students write that leads me to this question, which is in your opinion. What the numbers show what is like kind of the breaking point number. Where you know of where your average person is going to school. It was the average tuition costs and then it's like above that. That seems to be too expensive. And if you get below that, it's a deal. What What is that, for? For parents and folks out there for public schools has too many Republicans in private, with slightly different so on average across the states, And this is this for regular four year for your schools that are private and independent schools. This is tuition room and board fees and books is just a little Over $49,000 for the For the year. We're public schools on the other side of the fence. It's a little over $22,000 a year. So whenever I give Ah talk and you guys and I spent a lot of time talking to students and their parents, the first thing that I talked about Let's just get the you know the averages for what students and parents are actually paying for a four year college, whether it public or private, and you can Neil the You know the stress level go down in the room, because even though there's a big numbers, they're not The 70 80 $90,000 numbers that some students are assuming most school. Her charge. Yeah. Got you. So can you break it down? Just some of the some of the colleges here around the area. What about what about my boys? All my modern. Yeah. Another day. What dormers? What's going on with the dough? MERS E mean Notre Dame is is a perennial favorite of ours at the at the producer of Prince Review, of course, and we've been writing about it Not only through our best value colleges, but lots of financial aid stuff..

Rob Frantic May 1st $14,000 Rob 5% 95% Ohio State University 209 schools 17th year University of Dayton Callen 16% 20 Wesleyan over $22,000 today 15 four year Over $49,000 fall of 2000
"princeton review" Discussed on WFAN Sports Radio_FM

WFAN Sports Radio_FM

07:32 min | 1 year ago

"princeton review" Discussed on WFAN Sports Radio_FM

"Dion Dawkins is a left tackle the Buffalo Bills. We will do that now We're number three. But before I do anything else, and I'm hyped for this, too. I'm joined by the head basketball coach at Howard University. He's entering his second season as head coach. There. He was a McDonald's All American. He was a Gatorade player of the year in high school. He was a two time national champion. It Duke, and they open up their season against Belmont on November. 26th. Kenny Blakeney is the head coach at Howard. He joins me now, Kenny, Good. Beyond. How are you? What's up, Jim? How you doing, man? It's an honor and a pleasure to be on your show. Kenny. It is an honor and a pleasure to have you on this show. I really appreciate it. Appreciate you. Listen, there's so much I wanna talk to you about. We're less than two weeks away from the start of the season, but bring me up to date. How are you doing? And what's the vibe like around the program right now? Him. To be honest with you, man. It's a little bit like a crapshoot. Um, you know, right now, from what I understand, there's probably 26 teams across the country that are Paul's because the Koven And here, it, Howard. We're getting tested three times a week. We get a PCR test done and we get a rapid test done on Monday and Wednesday Friday, so we get six results a week. And so far so good. We haven't had any positive tests from our program, but it just seems like you know universities that are currently on campus. Um, we're remote right now. So we only have three sports teams on campus. There is no other teams students on campus. Are getting hit the most, and we definitely think there's gonna be some positive throughout the season on the Miss game. So it xylitol bit of a crap shoot. It's up and down, but right now Everything's cool. I appreciate that response. In fact, that would look at it just that way. Kenny Blakeney is joining us. So if we talk about the basketball aspect, I mean, what an unusual offseason and then over the summer, McCormick er of five star recruit announced that he was committing to Howard over programs like U. C. L, A and Kentucky He could have also gone to the MBA. So what kind of emotions did you have when he made it? Official? It was shocking. Um, I thought we were in there with the corps for a good time. I think, Jim the thing that we didn't know, And that we had questions about was if he would go to the MBA or not, Or maybe even To go to Australia, likely mellow ball and the young man from Texas Hampton. Those were all things that were on the table, but I knew if those options were not the options for him That we had just good a chance as U C l A or Kentucky, Hey, came to campus. He enjoyed himself and you know, we have a relationship with his guardian and mentor that goes back a number of years, So we were really diligent and confident that he would be Howard Bison. Kenny Blakeney is joining us all right. For those who do not know, like, what is he like is a person and as a player. As a person. He's really quiet, but I think he's a guy that really observes everything and takes it all in before. He kind of, you know, gets outside of his shell. Um, but he's really He's really smart. He's really bright. His cousin, con maker plays for that Detroit Pistons. He has another customer tour maker that plays for the D League team of the Houston Rockets. So he's been around a certain degree of professionalism for a while. As a player. Um, he is so, uh, physical and a hard worker. I was really shocked of how physical he is. At 6 11 7 ft in £230. Hey, loves contact, which is awesome, And it's It's great for our team. Um, he's a guy that wakes up at six o'clock in the morning or 5 30 in the morning. He's getting 500 shots up in the gym. You know, after that he does is yoga and he's onto lifting weights after that, and then he practices with our team s. Oh, there's a there's a certain degree of professionalism about him, and he's really driven and understands what he's trying to achieve. Can you blame me is joining us? You know that's really good background for the young man and I think gives a list of an idea of what kind of person he is. You know, he talked also about how much the culture of your program And of Howard meant to him. What kind of conversations then did you have with him during the process about the program and about the university? Well, I think with their university you know, we have a vice president elect vice President elect camel hairs. Who's uh, you know, an alum of class of 86 Thurgood Marshall, the first black Supreme Court justice. David Dinkins, the first black mayor of New York City. Uh, you know, you can go down the list of alums Elijah Cummings, Um Chadwick Bose, and there's so many, like, you know, incredible alums that have walked on our campus. That, you know, we call ourselves the mecca and we have a kind of Ah little bit of a logo for ourselves in the basketball program. We call ourselves the Dream factory. Because we really feel like this is a place where your dreams can come true. So it was war him getting the campus. I think seeing what this place was about Unterman of our basketball program. I think he really weighed a lot on my pedigree and our staff pedigree. Being able and lucky and fortunate to play a Duke University for coach Mike Schatsky having a chance to play the math, a Catholic high school for Morgan Wooten. Um, the places I've been my mentors, Kami am occur. Mike Brey at Notre Dame. Um, you know, I think it was war. So he understood my my background and felt really comfortable with who I was as a person And who I who I am as a coach. You have amazing pedigree. And I want to talk about that Kenny in one minute. I wanna ask you one more thought about this, though, Or one more question A big picture question. What does this commitment to you on your program? Mean, too, not just you in the program, but HBC use overall. Yeah, That's a great question, Jim. I think that you know for HBC using and specifically for Howard University. You know, when I When I was at Duke, I had a chance to see a little bit how that worked with the success of the basketball program. And there it meant more applicants applying for your university, which meant more money for applications. But also you got a greater selection of candidates. You choose from that had, you know higher GPS the higher as eighties. And that's really good for like the Princeton Review's or the New York uh, you know, times were academic. Ranking. Um, Secondly, I think you get a chance for bookstore sales. Um, you know, bookstore cells will increase with with McCord being here. More people want toe. I think, uh, be attached to our brands on understanding that the culture and what he brings to our university and our basketball program. No, we'll have a chance to have a lot of our games. Nationally televised this year, which is incredible on then the last thing I think it brings in a lot of corporate sponsorships and those kind of partnerships. There's a there's a real kind of like avalanche. I think situation that that comes from this, which is all totally positive. You know for Howard and I hope Moment, Um, continues with HBC use. I just saw the North Carolina anti got a top 100 kids a couple of days ago. So the momentum and the changes starting to happen with this movement..

Kenny Blakeney basketball Howard Howard University Jim Um Kentucky Howard Bison Buffalo Bills Gatorade Dion Dawkins McDonald Belmont HBC Detroit Pistons Duke University Princeton Review Mike Brey
"princeton review" Discussed on KGO 810

KGO 810

08:36 min | 1 year ago

"princeton review" Discussed on KGO 810

"Today. My sample ballots in the mail. And I'm going through them and and one of the ones that is well, there's a few that are confusing, but prop 16 is an interesting one because it's It's one of these bills that you could say has great intentions. But will they actually re true ish in the way they were intended? There's a piece in the Orange County Register. That's AH headline is prop 16 won't end injustice but will jeopardize equality under the law. It's written by one Khanfar. And I hope I got your name. Right. One Kong. Did I get it right? You got it right. All right. Good. All right. So let's talk about first of all props, 16 what it actually says, and and what it's intended to do not. I mean not to put it not to politicize it right here. But what is the actual props say? And it's a summarize it. No prop 16 is actually a proposition to repeal on the California Constitutional amendment passed in 1996, and that constitutional amendment was called dropped to nine and a prohibited California from discriminating Against on the basis of race in the areas of public contracting public employment in public education. Still, prop 16 would repeal that amendment. And and that's what I would do. Okay, so prop 16 says then it will be okay to discriminate. On the basis of race for private hiring. Is that correct? And you know it. Actually, does it have to do with public decisions Only. So you have public education and those air schools like C. Berkeley's a public contracting. That's when the government contracts with the construction companies, for example, to build public roads and public schools, and then you have public employment, which is obviously work for the state and local governments and no. Three area so it doesn't really touch on. Um, private practice is about the government domain. Is this mostly really about education, though about kind of fulfilling quotas in upper higher levels of education. I think so. I mean it. Certainly Maurine the arenas of education and contracting over employment in the in the States, in which That describes consideration and you know what I would say Discrimination on the basis of race has allowed. You know you've heard. I'm sure of the lawsuit going on, especially at Harvard University right now. Get out! Ah group of students alleging discrimination against Asian American student out there. I think of prop 16 were passed and Prop. Two and I were in fact repealed. Uh, you could see something very similar at schools like you see Berkeley and two of the best public school in the entire country. I will tell me what we would say. Say, let's say prop 16 passes. How do you think that will affect the I guess the both the educational and slay escape and contracting procedures that the government does now. Yeah, So I think you know, I think it's easy, says Century gets here because you already see a lot of what's going on in other places in the country so well respected education. I think you would see something very similar to what's going on at Harvard University. Ah, something similar to what has happened at places like the University of Michigan. And the University of Texas and that is in acting racial preferences for what the school considers underrepresented minorities and then I think the effect in some of these colleges Um, again, It depends on the college with some of the college as horrific stories of Asian American students reading college guide books like the Princeton Review on what the guidebook say is that you know you're not supposed to say that you want to be a doctor or major in mathematics and science. Because if you do you look like the typical Asian and that hurts your chances of getting in at so arm boy. Think every American Khun Khun, look at that and say that's harmful. That's not that's not the type of non equality before the law that we want to be thriving for in the field of public contracting that's from nation is less well known, but it's still very prevalent. A lot of different cities and state governments have what are called minority business enterprise programs. And those programs, in effect, set aside a certain percentage ofthe public contracting dollars for businesses designated as minority doesn't enterprises. And was that has what has happened in some of these states is that it led to a substantial fraud you have passed through which are not going to happen, but they sometimes happen anyway. In which someone bid a minority business and then packed with off the work to another business. Oh, and then keep the profit. So in other words, I mean what? What everybody's trying to avoid. Here is where somebody who's done everything right? Makes a bid on a contract or tries to get their kid in school. And they're told their kid doesn't fit in the quarter that the schools or the contract the state is trying to fill is that accurate? Correct. I think everybody wants me. But let me let me just jump in there quick, though, right? So I mean, this is the kind of thing I hear when I talked like I believe that we need reparations in this country. We need them bad and people say, Well, I never owned a slave. Why should have And that's not the point. The point is that African Americans even here in California there, you know when slavery was over. They were still slaves all across this nation. We have The after effects. The smoke from the Jim Crow era that you know actually came, you know, as a result ofthe, I guess, coincidentally, the same sort of probably look my face in this presidential election. You know, some backroom deals cut So blacks couldn't get access to voting or to running for office. The federal protections were pulled back and the Rutherford B. Hayes run for president, and so you know, we have this uneven landscape. And we're never going to progress. Unless we try to find a way to level it out. I can't speak to the minds behind prop 16 or 209. But I do know there's a lot of people like me and I am the poster boy for white privilege. And I want, you know, and I've worked hard my whole life and you know if, but for everything I have, but I know the doors that I wouldn't have gotten in. I wouldn't not been ableto enter. Had I not been who I am and who I look like so I mean, how do we fix this? How do we get people? To get government contracts and to get into schools who wouldn't get in without some sort of quota system. You know, I think I disagree with a lot of what you just said. But I think I do agree with the general principle that we need to be striving to be a place in which everybody has opportunities to make themselves the best that they can be, regardless of race and things like quotas and racial preferences. They just don't do that. They're counterproductive. I didn't I didn't. I asked the question and I don't really know the mechanics of of quarters and how they work. I'm just saying that on on a national level that we there has to be some sort of group consciousness that there is something awry here where you would agree to that right? Why? I think they're certainly there are certainly disparities and you know people who are, for example, come from low income backgrounds. And people that don't have the same sort of opportunities as other people. And I think what we should be looking too is look, we there is, you know, everybody wants to talk about equal opportunity. And I think that sounds good. But that is just not something that you can't have every single person in the entire world. Have you opportunity? I think most of us in America in the year 2020 have more opportunities, but someone from perhaps another part of the world. I agree that we can't have that. But we won't even admit it..

California Harvard University Orange County University of Michigan Berkeley University of Texas C. Berkeley Rutherford B. Hayes private practice fraud America Century Princeton Review Jim Crow president
"princeton review" Discussed on 600 WREC

600 WREC

02:05 min | 1 year ago

"princeton review" Discussed on 600 WREC

"By school. Harry says they want to do it in a way that will inform the public and still protect patient privacy. University of Alabama named the nation's number one party school. The Princeton Review says the ranking is based on several factors, including the use of alcohol and drugs. And the popularity of fraternities and sororities. Capstone is the only Alabama school to appear in the top 20. The designation comes is Tuscaloosa as mayor Well, Maddox orders a temporary shutdown of all bars in the city. That in a bid to slow the spread of the Corona virus, Maddox telling J. T on Alabama's Morning news Situation. Is dire Ball is in serious jeopardy right now, and this action was taken to say all I mean, it's It's a hell of a position to be in, but you've got to make some tough decisions now try preserve three months down the road. University reports more than 500 cases since the start of classes. Black Warrior brewing company in downtown Tuscaloosa remains open because it's legally classified as a manufacturer rather than a bar owner. Jason Spikes says he is concerned about business over the next two weeks or Definitely not back where we were before the shutdown. Ah, spring break. Um And I think this is going to affect us again on DA See it, Even our neighbours in restaurants and bars has been slowed down drastically. We're on a virus concerns, causing the cancellation or postponement of more high school football games. I'm Jim Farrelly. You're next news at 4 30 Coming up, Be it. Sean Hannity on Birmingham's News, Traffic and Weather Station News Radio 1055 w. C. Hello. Hi. I'm calling on behalf of the mice. Nest mice nest. Yes, Mice nest. It's a nest of mice. They finished chewing through your RV wiring, so the fire should start soon. Can we cancel that? Oh, sorry. One schedule. They can't really stop because they're mice. A nest of them..

Tuscaloosa Alabama school Maddox University of Alabama Jason Spikes Alabama Sean Hannity Harry Jim Farrelly The Princeton Review Birmingham football J. T
"princeton review" Discussed on 600 WREC

600 WREC

01:50 min | 1 year ago

"princeton review" Discussed on 600 WREC

"The Princeton Review says the ranking is based on several factors, including the use of alcohol and drugs and the popularity of fraternities and sororities. Capstone is the only Alabama school to appear in the top 20. Designation comes as Tuscaloosa as mayor Well, Maddox orders a temporary shutdown of all bars in the city that in a bid to slow the spread of the Corona virus, Matics telling J. T on Alabama's Morning news. Situation. Is dire ball is in serious jeopardy right now, and this action was taken to save Paul. I mean, it is a hell of a position to be in, but you've got to make some tough decisions. Now the trappers are three months down the road. University reports more than 500 cases since the start of classes. Black Warrior brewing company in downtown Tuscaloosa remains open because it's legally classified as a manufacturer rather than a bar owner. Jason Spikes, says he is concerned about business over the next two weeks for Definitely not back where we were before the shutdown. Ah, spring break. Um And I think this is going to affect us again on DA See it, Even our neighbours in restaurants and bars has been has slowed down drastically. And Corona virus concerns, causing the cancellation of more high school football games. Hueytown and Moody postponing games because of positive tests or symptoms. I'm Jim. Parity. You're next news at 2 30 coming up. Be it. Sean Hannity on Birmingham's news, traffic and weather Station news, radio 1055 We are C. Are you ready to go mad for Mercedes? Then come in and play it. Win Creek with Tonka. Because this September we're giving away a 2020 Mercedes been C three hundreds of them..

Tuscaloosa Alabama school Jason Spikes Sean Hannity Alabama The Princeton Review Mercedes Win Creek Maddox Hueytown weather Station Birmingham Paul Matics football Moody J. T
"princeton review" Discussed on Stand Partners for Life

Stand Partners for Life

04:06 min | 1 year ago

"princeton review" Discussed on Stand Partners for Life

"I did. Yeah curtis required this. Or i think if you're too young to take the sat than you're like promised to go to school while you're at curtis. This is a promise. This is an interesting story. So i went to encore school for strings every summer from seventh grade through senior year except after sophomore year of high school where my parents made me take the princeton review to increase smile. Psat's score did poorly the practice him in tenth grade. And so. I did that. But i was off campus. We call that off core. And i actually had to learn the viola so i could still participate in Music because they were short. Violas inside was getting ila training. Know literally just sight read this mendelssohn quartet on deal because that's how stupid as a teenager. Equality there were a few like wrong excels but other than that. It's pretty much experience. I did the whole third position in versus to press you into services. Violas prompts sexto. A totally worked the prince review increased. My score by three hundred points actually worked for the princeton review time not an ad for the princeton review to learn more about the prisoner..

curtis Psat princeton review
"princeton review" Discussed on KTAR 92.3FM

KTAR 92.3FM

01:44 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on KTAR 92.3FM

"Just a second here Alex rob frantic editor in chief at the at Princeton review dot com. there is no news news station KTAR news on ninety two three FM KTAR dot com and streaming live on the K. T. A. R. news that business owners and professionals face special challenges in divorce court in addition to everything else going on they have to contend with allegations that they are earning more than they are coupled with claims on their business or practice itself attorney CPA Joe Cordell an effective defense often hinges on sophisticated strategies strategies relating to income tax projections business valuations spousal support claims clients with assets depend on their divorce lawyer skills in these matters and that's why it's so important to hire someone that has those skills by the way unless you're in Missouri or Illinois I'm not licensed in your state but that's okay our attorneys in your state are content Cordell and Kordell to schedule an appointment with one of our firms Phoenix area attorneys support your men can count on online that Kordell Cordell dot com that's Cordell Cordell dot com office in Scottsdale Peoria and Chandler Cordell and Kordell sixty seven thirty north Scottsdale road suite two thirty Scottsdale Arizona eight five two five three Hey this is Jim sharp and with the help of thirty ten weight loss for life I have lost more than sixty pounds thirty ten weight loss for life is a safe extremely effective way to lose weight thirty ten was created by doctors to create a healthier you not just a thinner you a lifelong healthier you some plans have you eating what five hundred calories a day or drinking maple syrup and lemon juice or whatever those other companies I don't know what they're doing but no thanks.

K. T. A. Jim sharp Arizona Cordell Cordell Kordell Cordell dot Phoenix Kordell Joe Cordell attorney KTAR Princeton editor in chief Alex rob Chandler Cordell Peoria Illinois Missouri five hundred calories sixty pounds
"princeton review" Discussed on News Radio 810 WGY

News Radio 810 WGY

02:09 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on News Radio 810 WGY

"Cool to get one so as to be a true walking city where you can go from one point to another and using your feet instead of a car the project aided by a ten million dollar grant from the state market square at South Street is expected to open in spring twenty twenty one a new report shows Skidmore college makes the grade when it comes to the level of marijuana use among its students the Princeton review places Skidmore at number five on its reefer madness list the list is based on student responses to the question of how much marijuana is used at their school the university of Vermont was at the top of the list after one hundred forty thousand students were questioned at three hundred eighty five different colleges W. G. Y. morning news time is five thirty five R. next update at six o'clock I'm Alicia Daniels now trucking Kelly on news radio eight ten one of three one W. G. Y. the capital region's breaking news traffic and weather station which colleges that Saint rose get more or skip Martin I'm sure parents are really thrilled right now you know way back in the day in the dark ages when I was in college view was ranked by I think was playboy as the number one party and sex school and you were reading playboy at the time so you are aware of its ranking well just for the articles of course quality got number one thank you at one point yeah and this year I saw the light you know you have a lot of different rankings I just saw last week or maybe even earlier this week number one party school in the country Syracuse yeah self and I guess a based on freshman year the ranking on best sex school way off a polling of one freshman year marks all over me from women touching me with ten foot pole how are you guys were really good Rachel and I was telling Rachel Diane Diane do not in today in listed Daniels in for read and Rachel still hear of that this really don't sound so excited great show because I just don't care this is the Friday I don't care it's a Friday I don't care I could say anything like like a talking about freshman year so.

Skidmore college Princeton review Skidmore marijuana Alicia Daniels Kelly Rachel Diane Diane university of Vermont W. G. Martin Syracuse ten million dollar three one W ten foot
"princeton review" Discussed on KGO 810

KGO 810

06:32 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on KGO 810

"The Princeton review recently named Syracuse University America's number one party school said people in Syracuse this is a school the boy there are tens of thousands of Indian troops in Kashmir trying to get that'll settle down tens of thousands of may give without a doubt complete media blackout for the region boys India more less tries to take back the Kashmir region while Pakistan might not like that so keep your eye on that one we had a listener point out via email is great email it that win cash where first the you know the the Paxtang got carved often cash we're now had their status that it was actually majority Hindu Indian but the word came forth from the mall is in the email arms literally Muslim families have ten children all on demand you have ten children and they systematically change the demographics of it which is something I see a with all due respect them all we get six and things are nuts around here any chance we can just like caller good at six a red flag laws you get a lot of discussion we had that the news we're gonna have it again later in the day there's some signs at one of these murders scumbags was pretty crazy and his mom didn't think he should have a gun and is there any way for society to work that out I don't know we can well on the more later in the schools new for a long time this guy was suspended a couple of times as I recall for various terribly aberrant behavior of the sort that leads you to believe he's pretty not to Mostert people how is there no deferral program listen when I get a sentence in anything which is like the drug courts we'll send you a weirdo courts will work on that name but the the you know the you've obviously got a lot of anger and you talk about hurting people a lot courts front difficult constitutionally but not impossible so maybe we'll get to this later this hour because is a pretty good a guy who is a Marxist Leninist went to one of these democratic socialist get together is that we were mocking a few minutes ago and said alright this ain't gonna this ain't working this is not our future you know wow I'm a Marxist but this isn't the path forward any wildlings white pretty good well written for that anytime I'm at okay there's more of that to come a Steve Lopez is a columnist for the LA times and he's a super smart guy and he's very reasonable and he's not he's not crazy lefty nor is he distinctly a righty Justy he calls a like he sees it on he went out into a very spots in LA to talk to the the junkies and bombs and the homeless people and all and any lists quite a few who we talked to first name last and something about their backgrounds and ask them if you if they prefer to live in a shelter to being almost of a bad were available and here's this one fellow he who said no some of places have too many rules about coming and going and some of them separate couples downtown LA he talked a hard when you separate couples because you don't want to sweet bomb love going on your shoulders S. not or people hooking up or whatever I don't know I can you know they can find love but I'm still wondering the single most yeah wait a second I'm I'm alone in there a couple and I didn't mean to rub your face that they talk to Harvey you said the full it is easy feel safer in the tents we stand then he headed out to echo park lake there's Shane Isaacson is a military veteran said it's an interesting idea but I'd rather continue living in my jeep with my dog then move into a shelter and have to get rid of my dog I'm only one a homeless person I talked to my informal survey do David who also lives in the park so differently yes he'd take the shelter bad even though he understood why so many other homeless people might not this isn't even the question though all of this is due this is do you want to be completely on your own or in the shelter then it's a whole nother question of do you want to have a job you have to show up to every day doing something you might not love and rain and follow rules and listen to a boss or live on the street right right but listen to this now you got some LA county supervisors and the mayor of Sacramento California both involved in homeless issues for years they've of what they've proposed a new approach in which the state would establish a right to shelter if everything's alright nothing's aright anyway but to make sure there's a bed for every homeless person now camped on the streets riverbeds and parks every person must have a bad and the government must provide it bought listen it is here once the beds are available almost people would be forced to move inside said Stein we have a history with the public policy the state must be that people live indoors I see where you're going here so they figured out most these people won't go in if we tell him there's a place for you you have to go in the shelter get out of here yeah they think maybe they can get rid of them I can't believe it I'm sure I'll run into something that I find a port because it's coming out of Darrell Steinberg mouth but souls broader and and he has at times exhibited a little common sense on this issue the look come full of compassion but this is too much in a lot of pressure here's a quote imagine what our communities would look and feel like if people had both a right to come inside and an obligation to come inside yeah Tom incense unit force it by telling people they can't camp in removing the campsite in escorting people indoors what that escorting would look like I hope it's not like the two white cops on a horse with the rope around the the black man in Galveston I wasn't a good look no more on this to come in here saying I really quite a trend in some of these people I'm quoting are a lefty lefty right what's coming up here is Marshall ice raids on food processors is this just the first of more actions against companies employing nearly like going like Cuisinart no you misunderstand you better stay tuned yes I'm completely confused all and how even a Marxist can't handle the democratic socialist get together so stay tuned for a.

The Princeton review Syracuse University America Syracuse Kashmir India
"princeton review" Discussed on 760 KFMB Radio

760 KFMB Radio

06:32 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on 760 KFMB Radio

"The Princeton review recently name Syracuse University America's number one party school said people at Syracuse this is a school boy there are tens of thousands of Indian troops in Kashmir trying to get that'll settle down tens of thousands of may give without a doubt complete media blackout for the region boys India more less tries to take back the Kashmir region while Pakistan might not like that so keep your eye on that one we had a listener point out via email is great email it they win cash where first the you know the the Paxtang got carved often cash we're now had their status that it was actually majority Hindu Indian but the word came forth from the mall is in the email arms literally Muslim families have ten children all on demand you have ten children and they systematically change the demographics of it which is something I see a with all due respect them all we get six and things are not Sir any chance we can just like calling good at six a red flag laws we get a lot of discussion we had that the news were gonna have it again later in that there's there's some signs at one of these murder scumbags was pretty crazy and his mom didn't think he should have a gun and is there any way for society to work that out I don't know we can well on the more later in the schools new for a long time this guy was suspended a couple of times as I recall for various terribly abhorrent behavior of the sort that leads you to believe he's pretty not to mustard people how is there no deferral program listen when I get a sentence in anything which is like the drug courts what is sencha weirdo courts will work on that name but the the you know the you've obviously got a lot of anger and you talk about hurting people a lot courts front difficult constitutionally but not impossible so but maybe we'll get to this later this hour this is a pretty good a guy who is a Marxist Leninist went to one of these democratic socialist get togethers that we were mocking a few minutes ago and said all right this thing going to this thing working this is not our future you know wow I'm a Marxist but this isn't the path forward any filings whites pretty good and for that anytime I'm at O. okay is the more of that to come a Steve Lopez is a columnist for the LA times and he's a super smart guy and he's very reasonable and he's not he's not crazy lefty it nor is he distinctly a righty just the he calls the like he sees it and he he went out into a very spots in LA to talk to the the junkies and bombs and the homeless people at all and any lists quite a few who we talk to first name last and something about their backgrounds and ask them if you if they prefer to live in a shelter to being almost of the band were available and here's this one fellow he who said no some of places have too many rules about coming and going and some of them separate couples downtown LA he talked a hard when you separate couples because you don't want to sweet bomb love going on your shoulders guess not or people hooking up or whatever I don't know either you know they can find love but I'm still wondering the singles yeah wait a second I'm I'm alone in there a couple and didn't mean of your face that they talk to Harvey you said the full it is easy feel safer in the tent so we stand then he headed out to echo park lake there's Shane Isaacson is a military veteran said it's an interesting idea but I'd rather continue living in my jeep with my dog then move into a shelter and have to get rid of my dog I'm only one a homeless person I talked to my informal survey David who also lives in the park so differently yes he'd take the shelter bed even though he understood why so many other homeless people might not this isn't even the question though all of this is this is do you want to be completely on your own or in the shelter then it's a whole nother question of do you want to have a job you have to show up to every day doing something you might not love and Ryan and follow rules and listen to a boss or live on the street right right but listen to this now you got some LA county supervisors and the mayor of Sacramento California both involved in homeless issues for years they've of what they've proposed a new approach in which the state would establish a right to shelter if everything's alright nothing's aright anyway but to make sure there's a bed for every homeless person now camped on the streets riverbeds and parks every person must have a bad and the government must provided by listen it is here once the beds are available almost people would be forced to move inside said Steinberg we have a history with the public policy the state must be that people live indoors I see where you're going here so they figured out most these people won't go in if we tell him there's a place for you you have to go in the shelter get out of here yeah they think maybe they can get rid of them I can't believe I'm sure I'll run into something that I find important because it's coming out of Darrell Steinberg mouth but souls from our end and he has at times exhibited a little common sense on this issue the look come full of compassion but this is too much in a lot of pressure here's a quote imagine what our communities would look and feel like if people had both a right to come inside and an obligation to come inside it's common sense you know force it by telling people they can't camp and removing the campsite in escorting people indoors what that escorting would look like I hope it's not like the two white cops on a horse with the rope around the the black man in Galveston I wasn't a good look more on this to come in here saying I really quite a trend in some of these people I'm quoting Orlu laugh the lefties right what's coming up here is Marshall ice raids on food processors is this just the first of more actions against companies employing nearly like like Cuisinart no you misunderstand you better stay tuned yes I'm completely confused all and how even a Marxist can't handle the democratic socialist get together so.

The Princeton review Syracuse University America Syracuse Kashmir
"princeton review" Discussed on 77WABC Radio

77WABC Radio

02:05 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on 77WABC Radio

"He went to college damn right played when I still can't get to be only every went you what one year and played when I was going to happen is this is upstate New York upstate New York it's not Cornell is out as soon as school his hit thirty hit the third he is the color orange all I know what it is I know I know exactly what it hold on one of our no one is there see go girls go there there's an overdue Jim Boeheim's Syracuse yeah no it's not no it's not it's not well it wasn't so I told him what I thought was a soon all wrong so the top five twenty schools in America today according to the Princeton review number five two lane double for West Virginia number three Delaware number two university of Alabama at Tuscaloosa and number one Syracuse which makes sense because for about five months a year there is nothing that you can go outside buffalo to bubble bottles you yeah it was a state school my daughter went to Cortland I mean it's so slow yeah so there you have it others won't because this course more Albert a lot of the communications people when they've got the more house school of communications and everybody from more about work Mike to recall Gumbel I in eagle Craig Horton the list goes on and that's why that's really a partially explains the the one that sends it out of Syracuse it is so there you have it all right one eight hundred eight four eight W. A. B. C. one eight hundred eight four eight ninety two twenty two and busy day well party coming up for the president out of state yeah I think the president is up already boarded airforce one on his way to date and then after that el Paso it's ugly lot of drama surrounding it we have it all also a governor Cuomo feuding apparently with the NYPD Chemische Jimmy o'neill the.

el Paso Jimmy o'neill NYPD W. A. B. C. Albert university of Alabama Delaware West Virginia Princeton review Cuomo New York president Syracuse Craig Horton Gumbel Mike Tuscaloosa America Jim Boeheim Cornell
"princeton review" Discussed on 710 WOR

710 WOR

10:49 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on 710 WOR

"Our anniversary this week. So thank you. Honey? I for loving me through thick and then the best. So really door. My wife, most beautiful woman on earth. So, and I can never live up. She's just a great great person. So. What is going on with the economy? Are we headed to a Trump trade war, recession now, part of me says, no part of me says, yes? Part of me thinks is just blow over. I've been reading STAN Harleys reports heath, he thinks this is just a bump in the road of the cycles. There's a lot on the economy. The Dow dropped more than three hundred fifty points after Trump threatened new tariffs and posts a six week flied. Hooverism the threatening of tariffs, not a huge fan. I, I was against tariffs when this started. I'm against it now even more. Let's throw water on very booming economy with tariffs. Now, I agree with the president, that we have to stop China. But I don't know if you do that through. Tariffs. I think you that through more free trade, not less. But that's my own. I think they should flood the Chinese economy with pro freedom messages, and talk about how oppressive they are, and make everything free. You know, that's that we won over this, former Soviet Union, they wanted to Levi jeans. Yeah. That's what they wanted the kids, I think, so. Stocks fell on Fridays invested feared President Trump's surprise threat of tariffs on all Mexican imports amid a worsening trade war if I'm a betting person this blow over but here's the thing do you really want your financial life, the pendant on? The president's tariff policy or the tweets. I don't. And I'm not, you know, I think the president is largely done a fantastic job on the economy. But the problem that I'm seeing here is. You know, if he gets this trade deal done, it'll be fantastic. But you know, they can wait a while. I have heard that the trade deal is affecting Chinese like empty stores, and it is hurting them too. It's not just hurting us. So will they break he's gonna allow them to save face with their people on a deal, but we'll see? So Steve Blumenthal. Writes in his latest on my radar he talks about what he learned the yield curve. He quotes from David Rosenberg. The yield curve three month treasury bills, the ten year treasury note now inverted on more sustained basis one can expect downward pressure on equities more volatility and more credit spread widening. So the bond bears are wrong. You know, we've been hearing about a super bubble in bonds, and yet. Longterm bonds are where it's at right now. So that's a negative. So we may have now William White head of monetary. Economic department at the Bank of International Settlements is. He predicted the financial crisis of two thousand seven and on before the subprime prime meltdown he was one of the critics of Alan Greenspan's theory of the role of monetary policy any challenged. Former fed reserve chairman view that central bankers cannot effectively slow the causes of asset bubbles. So it looks like riding into some rough waters. If you're concerned about your portfolio, call us at eight hundred eight nine eight Josh for the risk review. So who do we have next violet on the stretch? IRA. Go ahead violent. Good morning, Josh. Good morning. Hi. To you and wondering what a stretch the decifit stretch review is I've never heard of a stretch and starting to beginning to come into Princeton your mating out there. Sure, will we have to meet Glen? I need more information. And I don't even know where to start with it. Sure will at the Princeton review or wherever we are Princeton Hackensack short hills, Tom's river. Red Bank Melville manhasset, Stamford, you can call today. Eight nine at eight Josh and reserve your spot for the free one on one review. We get to educate you brick by brick, we show, you your assets as they're laid out now, in never know where you're going to go unless you know where you start. So we would educate you on what you have first, and how you can make that more efficient and effective now under the stretch, and you are any of our listeners, you get two for one special today, when you call eight hundred eight Josh, so we'll give you a financial game board and you're so humble. But I've, I've met with people who think they know so much and they really don't because they don't have a game board. They don't have a way to. Evaluate I met with a guy. Yes. It was kind of funny, sit on my visors and knucklehead. He just calls me with stocks and he's done. Well, but I don't have any sense of a plan. I don't have any sense of a model with a game board laid out, and we can show you that at the Princeton review at eighty eight nine hundred Josh, but let's help you with the IRA and the stretch IRA concept and why the death of the stretch matters to you, and really any of our listeners, number one. Do you have an IRA? So in an IRA as the promised by the government to incentivize you to save money. Right. So they allow you to put money into an IRA or a 4._0._1._K and get a tax write off. It's a tax deferral instrument. You don't pay. You don't really get a deduction. You don't pay income on. You don't pay income taxes. Our income you've earned you're choosing to, to a ladder date. Does that make sense? Right. So you put in five grand a year for thirty years in your IRA grows. So your IRA's are about how much if you don't mind me asking. Fifty. Okay. So on three fifty you've never paid tax on that before. So the government is going to require you to pay RAM D when you're seventy and a half, you don't pay the armed day you have to pay significant penalties. So the stretch of the IRA is, when you die, if you leave your money to your heirs, they get to do a similar thing than you did. They get to stretch the distributions out over their lifetime. Does it make sense? Yeah. So just like you have an Orem d so on three hundred fifty grand, you'd have to take out. Let's say ten to twelve grand a year every year and grows. A little bit. It's the same with them. And they gotta pay tax in that that's called the stretch with that allows to do is you're only taking about three or four percent out of your money. The other money is still growing on a tax free basis. So you can build your bulk, and they sort of get an annuity stream of payments without being an annuity over their life expectancy that will be killed. And if you leave the three hundred fifty thousand they will have five or ten years, depending on which version of this Bill gets passed, and they will have to spend that over five years. And let's say it's a ten year rule that gets passed they left to take thirty five grand a year, instead of, like ten to twelve and that will go on their tax return, and then they'll pay more in taxes to the government does that make sense. Doesn't. Yeah. No. So it's, it's not it's not a good idea. The death of the stretches have had ideas, but four hundred seventeen Republicans and Democrats voted on this, because the sales pitches, you know that seventy nine a half number. We're going to raise that to seventy two. So you in exchange for the death of the stretch you get to grow your money, tax free for another year and a half, which to me, it's like big wop. You know, at least the Senate version, they ally to grow seventy five so it's better. But then the Senate version has a five year. Distribution. So it's craziness and that's why you in any of our listeners need their call us at eight hundred three to one zero seven ten and we'd love to help you. Okay. So give us a call now. And we'd love to meet with you. Eight eight nine eight Josh folks, eight eight nine eight Josh for the two for one special and the death of the stretch review will be back after these messages tax deferred vehicles, such as 4._0._1._K's, and I are as sound good up front. But did you realize that when you retire, you'll have to pay taxes on all your earnings? You can legally minimize your taxes, when you withdraw retirement funds with tax free IRA's and other tax favorite accounts. Call the Dolinsky advisory group now at eight eight eight nine eight eight Josh, that's.

Josh President Trump president Princeton Princeton review Bank of International Settleme STAN Harleys Soviet Union David Rosenberg Senate China Levi Alan Greenspan Red Bank Melville Steve Blumenthal
"princeton review" Discussed on WJR 760

WJR 760

02:54 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on WJR 760

"University as the deadline deadline is coming up. How many of you knew this, by the way, maybe you are parents of of seniors at high school, but this Wednesday may first is the deadline for what something like three million or so college applicants accepted at college for fall twenty nineteen to say yes to the colleges that they have accepted on our direct phone line. Now, the editor in chief of the Princeton review overseas all of their surveys, including their latest and the rankings. Rob frantic good morning to you. Should I quickly are could should we get to a fast comment on the feedback that you're getting as you travel around the country talking about college and university about that sweeping bribery scandal that kind of reignites? The debate. Really if you stop and think about it over college admission a pair of polls showing I don't know if you've seen this one or not that many Americans think the nation's universities place too, much emphasis on factors like wealth and family ties and athletic abilities. And obviously I allude to the two actresses their Felicity Huffman, and Lori Loughlin who are getting a lot of the publicity over the what thirty or forty or fifty parents who got their kids in sometimes paying five hundred thousand bucks to get them into place like USC. Yeah. I'm so glad that you brought it up to pleasure to be back on your on your show just thinking about the admission scandal, and we follow that so closely at the Princeton review, I think we should call it. What it is. It is cheating in two ways cheating on both the SAT on the ACT and then cheating on college. Admission trip through the channels that you were you were alluding to sort of back during admission true athletic recruitment, as we saw the scandal Midi. Of those athletes were not actually athletes in those particular sports. But it is it is cheating. What what I reassure? We we work with, you know, one out of every two college bound students at the prince review, I'm very proud of that place in their faith in us. I tell those parents that listen to our three million potential college bound students every year, the vast majority of whom are going to get into their schools based on their academic merit fair and square, we're gonna see this vicious, get bigger and more and more famous. Probably, you know, we at least speculating that it might get a get bigger. But let's reassure us three million, folks. The vast majority are gonna get insurance where all right? So the new survey that you've done the twenty nineteen colleges hopes and worries service about their dream colleges. Right. You ask them. If it mission were automatic and cost inconsequential. We'll get to that point as well. The dream college for students in parents turned out to be. Be for you guys the same one it is. And it has.

Princeton review editor in chief Felicity Huffman bribery Lori Loughlin Rob USC
"princeton review" Discussed on KIRO Radio 97.3 FM

KIRO Radio 97.3 FM

04:31 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on KIRO Radio 97.3 FM

"That's the candy. The winner is me, I one okay. So Mike we're gonna do later in the show will get to the stories that loss. Mike's fascinating about a bunch of money locked away in crypto currency account of a guy who died news a crypto currency king. Here's my story. And it comes by way of one of my favorite, blogs powerline blog group of lawyers attract things like this. It's become now a rage and a pretty common happening that parents are trying to get their kids into school are having their kids. Take DNA tests. To prove that they're African American or in the case of Harvard being sued for keeping Asians off the Harvard campus in it's a pretty convincing lawsuit to prove maybe they're not Asian. So given this trend. It's kind of not surprising that more and more people are doing this because there are racial preferences being employed that some of these schools, but there's a twist to this a young woman whose described because of course, she's suing. She would never name a twenty two year old young woman who graduated from Princeton University in two thousand seventeen at a bachelor of arts degree. She decided she wanted to be in their all scientists. So we do have a name. Her name is Nicole catcher, Nicole catcher, see Mike is read my story better than I am so Nicole catcher graduated with some pretty intense credentials. She'd been active in the school had various positions was an extracurricular. Volunteer was a works. As a counselor at Stanford University. Served as Princeton review whole a preview host volunteered with United for site and prince thown, then she maintained very good grades in her neuroscience major. So she got word that a school. She wanted to attend was going to have the director of admissions come out to visit. So she set up a meeting to talk with this woman named Dr Brookes visiting the campus to discuss Jefferson the school that she wanted to attend and this comes from higher Ed, by way of powerline blog. What happened next is pretty intense. So the young woman takes a meeting with Dr Brooks, and Dr Brookes immediately courting to the filings. The court filings steered the meeting torture, racial background. And at one point said, look, your background is kind of a mess and she was referring to her heritage. Because he said, look, I'm Caucasian European. I'm not black. I'm not native American. I'm not Elizabeth Warren. So the lady from the college continued to press that she get a DNA test. Look, maybe there's a chance, and she talked about some students who maybe we're able to turn that around found some African American heritage, but referred to her background as a mess, and then said, probably you can't get into my school, unless you are somehow proven to be sort of a racial minority. So the young woman refused to do that. And now this is going to court now, there's a lot to talk about here in my contention is now to get into the non objected portion of this. My contention is former racism, and it did exist. There was redlining. There was keeping African Americans other people out of schools Irish at the time Chinese it's happened. We know that it's a perverse part of our history. I contend that racism cannot be solved with racism, and this is a case of of just a true perversion sort of the Justice of bringing people into college. Yeah. So this is I would caution. Anyone who sees this and says? Trend. This was one admissions person in one school who is being sued. And if this is what she's told the person to get a DNA test. And we'll see what we could do, you know? Absolutely because she wasn't trying to enter under those pretense. I mean because the other problem, of course, is that the people who do try and enter under those pretenses and have no legitimate claim the so that so that would say, I would I mean if you look at the actual story, which the the the love the rather the the website you referring to links to the actual story. First published in inside higher education. And they would they it said it's like a single it missed so so to suggest that this is some sort of larger thing, I think probably isn't fair, but your point about do you have an issue with with? Whereas rather does does increasing racial preferences, solve issues that have been as a result of racial bias. I think we can talk about this more later. There was a very interesting way of trying to figure this one out and solve this one in California when it lost the right affirmative action in.

Nicole catcher Dr Brookes Mike Elizabeth Warren Dr Brooks Princeton University Harvard Stanford University Princeton review director United California prince thown Jefferson twenty two year
"princeton review" Discussed on Newsradio 700 WLW

Newsradio 700 WLW

10:29 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on Newsradio 700 WLW

"If you've got a kid of a certain age or are about to. You can't start planning right now. I know your kids, by way, we are. We got the five twenty nine going. I wish I had done that. I never did that. That's a great idea. Play. You're starting to think about where they're gonna go. What are they gonna do? We're talking about best value colleges. And when we start talking about that stuff, we talked to our good friend. Rob frantic from the Princeton review. Ron was pleasure. How you doing buddy? Hey, fellas. Really good. Thanks for the invite back. So I wished I had to five point nine grade point average as well. So rob when we're talking about value colleges around the area, and we're in right here. We're at it's a weird location because we got the tri-state so high obviously can tell Kentucky Indiana what around this area. Let's say within a hundred mile proximity hundred. Let's make it a hundred and fifty because I don't include Columbus and Louisville and Lexington and all that stuff. Oh, yeah. Oh, many. There's only two hundred schools in in the book. And then just as we called best value colleges. Two thirds of which are private the other third are are public. There are nine of them. You know, high oh alone. And we started out in in in the past from university of Dayton, Ohio state child big personal favorite Case, Western I I think Cleveland, they're just so many schools, but some of them. Mistake. Many students, and parents who are college bound make crossing inexpensive school off of their consideration. For free out what the dollar scholarship perspective could actually make that school more affordable than a local public local City College. Yeah. Rob frantic is our guest to rob. We talked about that before. And what my kid just did. And he's always said he wanted to go to UC. But I'm so do yourself favor. You're going to stay in Ohio. That's all I care about this because I don't want to pay the out of state thing. And I like go tour around looking a few schools. Well, yeah. Okay. Blah, blah, blah, blah, sent in his whatever resume, whatever you call it to UC, and oh you and he was going to send some other stuff out. Oh, you accepted him soon. As you see k goes, I'm going to UC. Good idea though to make almost gonna make them go. But there's nothing there that necessarily is what you wanna do. But go look at it. Anyway. Absolutely. You have to think about a wide range of three thousand four year colleges in the US alone. You're right. That's the one thing you might think about in your freshman and sophomore your high school since you're a little kid could ultimately that'd be the best fit for you. But there are other candidates out there that can be fit on several levels, academics culture. And then what we're focusing on investigating colleges it late fit and a career services would argue getting great return on your academic. And then and then you and your parents financial investment if you're. Romi SU. This our colleges in general are d- do their tuitions in again in general, keep going up and reason I asked I am pretty vocal about this. Everyone always talks about how you the detriment that is college loan debt, it cripples a lot of people people still north thirties can't pay it off. And I feel like the school's always just skate free. They keep raising tuition rates intuition. You know, take my alma mater, fringes Notre Dame. Right. They're all raising tuition. They got a thirteen point one billion dollar endowment raise. I mean, am I mean Harvard is twenty two twenty three billion dollar endowment where do these schools going to start getting some flack for continuing to raise rates when they have more money than God. I totally hear you and just to give you know, some broad brush BUSTER college tuition has actually leveled off slightly over the last three or four years. But when we first started a couple years ago college tuition would increase in time two to three times the rate of inflation every year for twenty years and that ended about three or four years ago where it started to level off that you're right. I mean when we to look at bicker costs there's so many Notre Dame being a good example, those schools are approaching sixty sixty five seventy thousand dollars NYU here. I live in New York City, seventy four thousand dollars versus southern California seventy five thousand dollars. So so those are just walked. But the truth is that there are some of those many of those schools that have the financial wherewithal literates endowment or just good clear planning. I know. Listen to books number nineteen hundred school in Ohio University, huge favorite of ours. Adventure financial aid can sicker costs. Locked then dollars after students and parent to make affordable the abbot in rob. What is the Kazan? We've talked about this before. But I think is good to continue to inform people. What's the best way apparent can can look at a college and see what sort of incentives, they give back because I feel like there's so many things that you're trying to digest. But it was the best way is it. Okay. If I if we'd get this this, and this we can get whatever, you know, four five six grand off that make your head spin, man. You try to go through all can't nuts. Absolutely. And I'm so glad that you've. That's why we do. I mean that might review that's have simply done the homework. Four college from their parents, and countless helping them along the way because likely although it's probably not going to invest in any usable state for the average parent. And you're right three thousand schools is overwhelming. We started with a thousand schools is a first cut off of it. And then what did it down to the two hundred? But let me tell you. It's a great financial aid each one of those two hundred school, and then you can look at your cancer. You can look at things like sticker caught average loan. Didn't you take me out, and then average merit based scholarship money? They don't have to pay back and our students getting chops after graduation better absorption. Yes. That's that's a key factor as well. People want to know more where can they go? What can they do? Apple. I mean prince review dot com, certainly has all the information that we talked about it. You'll see a big logo for the book that college. It's available in bookstores and online nationwide. Thanks, buddy. Always a pleasure. Thanks again. Thanks, rob. For an the Princeton review says soon, you did all that that you check up all the different ways. The or maybe more limited when it's in state. I gotta tell you. What we yeah. Yeah. But I got to tell you that was all Deb's thing because he he did it all why initially when Jack was going to school. I went through all this stuff and all those loans, and all the things you can apply for and you find out pretty quickly that a lot of it's not applicable to you. You know, you don't qualify, you're overqualified. And it doesn't take much to overqualified. Let me tell you that right now. And so she knew the drill. So now that Lucas senior going through it, all and bub-bubba. And like I said he's always wanted to go to UC don't know what it is his buddies are going there, his brother goes there, and for whatever reason to appeal storm. So am I gonna make them go someplace, you gotta go in butter your, but at the same time, but all the colleges more or less are of the same cost factor. Like, I mentioned, oh, you talk about some of the I mean Dayton is too is too expensive for our blood that type of thing. You know, you ain't gonna go there, but Ohio states reasonable as for him. What he talks about reasonable, whatever you call reasonable, right? Ohio state. Oh, you Cincinnati Ohio. Toledo all this. It's all basically the same. It's a wash. Okay. So just kind of going to the place has the majors you like has an important to you. Whether it's a smaller student body bigger student body stuff. And like I said, I think there's a comfort factor involved being around home is going to live on campus. I don't agree with it. He doesn't know this. He look if you're listening. Here's I presented this to my wife. I go what if I buy him a car, a new car, and he doesn't live on campus. And he lives at home, and drives it. What do you think about that offer? I think that's a pretty damn finder. That's a pretty good. I mean because he's going to save you money in terms of paying. I mean, I'm sure he's probably kicking something. So he would that would save him money on that. Right. So that's a pretty good deal. I dunno throwing it out there, especially if you've got some buddies, and this is kind of what I did like Notre Dame. As an athlete you can't live off campus until your senior year. Now, even my senior year. I kept kept my dorm a single on campus. Just because I was leaving. I was going training for calm offshore stuff. So I just didn't want to have the hassle with retinal that, but was great as I had my own like space where I get some peace and quiet. But then my buddies had the apartment that go there, we racket tear it up, and then I go home and maybe sleeping in filthy cesspool. When I'd go home and do this. He should look at it like that go gear buddies. Let them have the party house. Do all that nonsense. You go there reap all the benefits. And then we all the benefits of staying at home with you, do you realize we've been working together for a year and a half now steadily. And we've known each other for better part of four or five years. And you think for one second I believe you went over to that room by yourself to quote, unquote, meditate get away. Nine hours. I was born night. It wasn't last night as they say, they're rob. What do you have from the UC health traffic center? Looking for a primary care doctor near you. We can help call five one three four seven five eight thousand one that's four seven five eight thousand one. Westbound seventy four is backed up due to an earlier car fire from past the Brookville exit over to the Indiana, Ohio State line. You're also slow nor seventy-five from the lateral to paddock south seventy five Mitchell to seventy four then liberty to the bridge and a few accidents in this afternoon Jefferson at Brookline and Martin Luther King at Clifton. I'm rob Williams. Newsradio seven hundred wwl w. The forecast from the seven hundred wwl w weather center for tonight. More clouds moving in chance of snow showers..

Ohio rob Williams the Princeton review Notre Dame Ohio state City College Ohio University US Ron university of Dayton NYU Harvard New York City Kentucky Indiana Columbus Cleveland Indiana California
"princeton review" Discussed on 760 KFMB Radio

760 KFMB Radio

02:51 min | 2 years ago

"princeton review" Discussed on 760 KFMB Radio

"What? Vodka. Somebody. Is out to bring down burning. Yes. Videos been around somebody had that for a long time. Yeah. The story of him now. AM seven sixteen k. San diego. CBS news on the hour. Sponsored by zoom videoconferencing. I'm Deborah Rodriguez. The best advice if you're in the mid west house in many spots. It's colder than it is in parts of Antarctica frostbite can set in almost instantly and places like Detroit where the wind chill makes it feel like it's twenty nine below or layers of pants jacket, a sports jacket and a hoodie thermal. Reporter Bruce Marcus is in eagle river, Wisconsin where the real feel is minus forty five school districts in the northeastern part of the state are closed today and tomorrow as temperatures could plummet to thirty below Scott fosters administrator of a northern district. That's nearly five hundred square miles. It's really both kids safety stand in a bus stop at these temperatures frostbite sets in a lot of our kids have long driveways after stand. At the end of Auster also says his district's school buses, sometimes don't run when temperatures reach twenty below. Oh, at least six deaths are blamed on the deep freeze, which is expected to last another couple of days. A message from President Trump to lawmakers on Capitol Hill tweeting this morning, he warns if they don't talk about a wall or a physical barrier at the southern border. They're wasting their time on a compromise spending Bill. Senate minority leader Chuck Schumer. I'm very hopeful. I think that a good number of our Republican colleagues. Don't want to shut down the government go. She begins today with a deadline of February fifteenth, President Trump says Americans should not travel to Venezuela until further notice he's warning of massive protests. After the administration said it would recognize opposition leader Guido as the country's new president who's getting the most bang for their bucket colleges and universities these days live to CBS's Gary Nunn. The Princeton review survey of overall best value colleges, providing top return on investment finds three schools in California three in Massachusetts. Comprise six of the top ten led by CIT MIT's number. Four when picking a school editor in chief? Robert frantic says make sure that you're getting a job of substance upon graduation, and that it meets your salary requirements upon graduation and three your lifetime as well is a college education still worthy investment over ninety nine percent of those eleven thousand college pensions, and their parents just last year answered yes and job satisfaction. Also factored in Deborah. Get ready to roomba on your front line. Same company.

Trump president Auster CBS Deborah Rodriguez Chuck Schumer Wisconsin Robert frantic Detroit eagle river editor in chief San diego CIT MIT Bruce Marcus Reporter Gary Nunn Princeton review
Janet Jackson, Cardi B to headline Global Citizen festival

Sean Hannity

00:48 sec | 3 years ago

Janet Jackson, Cardi B to headline Global Citizen festival

"The performers are set for the two thousand eighteen. Global citizen festival in New York Cardi b. the weekend and Shawn Mendez will. Headline the festival which will take place in central park on September twenty nine Janet Jackson also set to. Perform along with a special performance from, John legend tickets are free and, can be found on the global citizen app or by joining the global. Citizen movement Hugh Jackman and dip relief for Ness are set to. Host the festival the university of Delaware is, the, number one party school in the nation the Princeton review has released its list. Of the colleges and universities most, likely to show students a good time. Rankings included things like alcohol consumption, and the, number of, hours spent outside the classroom, the company also ranks, stone. Cold sober schools with Utah's Brigham Young University at the top of that..

University Of Delaware Shawn Mendez Hugh Jackman Brigham Young University Janet Jackson Princeton Review New York Utah Ness John