23 Burst results for "New York Review"

Examining the media coverage of the Trump investigation

On The Media

05:20 min | 1 year ago

Examining the media coverage of the Trump investigation

"Is the media midweek. Podcast i'm bob garfield and it was a tough monday morning for one guy. Been waiting on this decision since the middle of october and now the middle of february. We're finally getting this decision from the supreme court they are saying that the manhattan district attorney cy. Vance can in fact get to former president. Donald trump's tax returns. This is something that has been playing out in the courts for more than a year. Now that there is an oldie but a goodie the intriguing prospect of an allegedly rule breaking tax dodging constitution shredding president on riled prosecutors and fulton county georgia have launched a criminal investigation into former president. Trump's january phone call with the georgia secretary of state where he told secretary reference burger to quote fine. Vote lean. while new york's attorney general is investigating whether or not the trump organization misled investors by inflating assets. We should probably expect that. There will be charges filed against him that he will be indicted on. This case will probably go to trial. I think there's an excellent chance that he will be found guilty and if he is found guilty. There's an excellent chance he'll wind up in prison. Yeah not so fast. Late last year in the new york review writer lawyer and former federal prosecutor uncooked kadoorie reviewed the various arguments including his own ford. The prosecution of donald trump elsewhere he had characterized such as quote insane among his critics. One too many former prosecutors himself included represented in the commentariat to too few defense attorneys. Who know how to find holes in any complex case and three as he told brooke in december. No one is willing to say. We just can't know. I guess it's not a great way to get twitter. Followers or cable news hits but it just fundamentally true. There are lots of things we don't know and facts could change. And you know it's very rare that anyone saying that which brings us back to august. Virus vans says painter last year to door shebang as part of its investigation into president. Trump's business dealings time says. The bank complied with that subpoena. When that news broke a lot of people were strongly suggesting there might be a bank fraud case. What the manhattan. Da is looking at here is overstating the value of your assets to get loans understating the value of your assets when it comes tax time that kind of thing is straightforward textbook fraud. It's much easier for prosecutors to prove those kind of charges. Well just compare the two and then you know. He's in huge trouble. If they're not the same a bunch of people were. This is not just a bunch of people but a bunch of prominent former prosecutors with significant followings on twitter and cable news contributor gigs i was just really taken aback because i founded the fundamentally very misleading basically said. The speculation was insane. That you've done this at doj and it's simply not how fraud investigations are conducted. That is the word used in the wall street journal insane in particular about the suggestion that had been made by former acting solicitor. General under obama. And you'll cut. You'll i think it's totally possible for all of this to come out before the twenty twenty election in terms of new york's prosecutors getting this information on in acting on it and so that was really surprising to be coming from someone who is at least supposed to know better. According to convicted trump lawyer michael cohen trump inflated his assets when it was opportunities so deflated them when that was profitable. And if cohen is right. Doesn't that mean that a prosecutor could just compare one accounting book with another. Find the mismatch numbers. And you know it's over. No i mean. It's a very reasonable supposition. But when you're investing financial fraud case the fact that some documents some numbers may differ from one set to another is often. Just the start of a case you have to figure out why they differ doesn't matter why they differ who prepared them if their lawyers accountants and auditors involved. What did they have to say about. The relevant figures trump did not have a huge business. Right this is something. That i think david farrell hold at the post has been very good at illustrating for the public. Ns fairly small organization but that organization still had lawyers had an accountant. That is going to substantiate complicate any investigation if the lawyers overstepped and they can't prove that this was a conspiracy with which trump was involved. Then he's not liable that's correct. We don't even really know what trump's involvement was in the preparation of any of these figures that would be the crucial question. You'd want emails if they exist and of course he notoriously email. You'd want to know whether he had spoken to people and provided with them potentially with oral instructions now in the case of cohen. That is what he says right. That trump instructed people to falsify these figures but he's not a great witness is not a great witness at all. So you would want people to corroborate that you'd want much more than michael cohen. Ideally

Donald Trump New York Review Kadoorie Bob Garfield Georgia Manhattan Fulton County Vance Supreme Court Twitter New York Michael Cohen Trump Brooke Ford DOJ The Wall Street Journal David Farrell Cohen
How Pundits Are Inflating Trump's Odds of Facing Criminal Charges

On The Media

07:16 min | 1 year ago

How Pundits Are Inflating Trump's Odds of Facing Criminal Charges

"This week saw americans of all political humor's bewitched by wishful thinking some seeing donald trump after many stumbles finally on the path to victory in states and join texas and support of supreme court lawsuit which seeks to stop george michigan wisconsin and pennsylvania from finalizing their election. Results president trump on twitter. Call this case quote the big one and others foreseeing delectable prospect of rule breaking tax dodging constitution shredding precedent on trial there are credible allegations of donald trump has in tach fourth bankruptcy for four instances of possible obstruction of justice that robert mueller outlined his report on russian interference in the election. Meanwhile the president and his family actually have a whole lot more to deal with. New york's attorney general is investigating the trump organization misled investors by inflating assets as court filings and news reports hinted investigations well underway certain. Team ounce within the talk of sphere. We should probably expect that. There will be charges against him that he will be indicted on in this case. We're probably going to trial. I think is an excellent chance that he will be found guilty. Pius found guilty. There's an excellent chance he'll wind up in prison last month. In the new york review writer lawyer and former federal prosecutor amish kadoorie reviewed the various arguments including his own for the likely prosecution of donald trump but kadoorie also conceded that in fact. Such speculation is quote insane among his critiques of the media. Commentariat that there are too many former prosecutors himself included represented and that there are too few defense attorneys who know better than anyone had a scrambler prosecution and that no one is willing to say we just can't know. I guess it's not a great way to get twitter. Followers or cable news hits. But it's just fundamentally true. There are lots of things we don't know and facts could change. And you know. It's very rare that i see anyone saying that which brings us back to august. Virus vans sadness subpoena last year to dorsey bank as part of its investigation into president. Trump's business dealings times says the bank complied with that subpoena. When that news broke a lot of people were strongly suggesting there might be a bank fraud. Case what the manhattan. Da is looking at here is overstating the value of your assets to get loans understating the value of your assets when it comes tax time that kind of thing is straightforward textbook fraud. It's much easier for prosecutors to prove those kind of charges love. Compare the two and then you know. He's in huge trouble. If they're not the same a bunch of people were saying. This is not just a bunch of people but a bunch of prominent former prosecutors with significant followings on twitter and cable news contributor gigs. I was really taken aback because i found fundamentally very misleading. You basically said the speculation was insane. That you've done this at doj and it simply not how fraud investigations are conducted. Yeah no that is the word i used in the wall street journal insane in particular about the suggestion that had been made by former acting solicitor. General under obama. And you'll cut yo. I think it's totally possible for all of this to come out before the twenty twenty election terms of new york's prosecutors getting this information on in acting on it in so that was really surprising to be coming from someone who is at least supposed to know better. According to convicted trump lawyer michael cohen trump inflated his assets when it was opportunity to do so deflated them when that was profitable. And if cohen is right doesn't that mean that a prosecutor could just compare one accounting book with another find the mismatch numbers. And you know it's over no So it's a very reasonable supposition but when you're investigating financial fraud case the fact that some documents some numbers may differ from one set to another is often just the start of case you have to figure out why they differ does matter why they differ. Who prepared them if their lawyers. Accountants and auditors involved. What did they have to say about. The relevant figures trump did not have a huge business. Right this is something that i think david farrell hold. The post has been very good at illustrating for the public. And it's fairly small organization but that organization still had lawyers had an accountant that is going to substantially complicate any investigation. If the lawyers overstepped and they can't prove that this was a conspiracy with which trump was involved. Then he's not liable that's correct. We don't even really know what trump's involvement was in the preparation of any of these figures that would be the crucial question. You'd want emails if they exist and of course he notoriously does not use email. You'd want to know whether he had spoken to people and provided them potentially with oral instructions now in the case of cohen. That is what he says right. That trump instructed people to falsify these figures it's not a great witness is not a great witness at all and so you would want people to corroborate that you'd want much more than michael cohen. Ideally if you're just playing the odds the odds usually disfavor an indictment right. People do things that look problematic. You look a little closer. There are some times innocuous explanations or maybe you just can't build the case to prove what you think really happened so charges are not brought. There may not be a criminal case against the president. Even if the justice department looks aggressively at what we know so far and digs up additional things and that's itself a big. If you say that there's a bunch of suctions built into this genre of reporting the reporting on the president's future prosecutions that baffles skew. Your i mean. One of the assumptions is that there is a criminal case. It's just you know which one where do you find it. Another option is that sivan's will definitely be charging the president. Are you talking about the new york magazine. Piece that said considering the number of crimes he has committed the time span over which he has committed them and the range of jurisdictions in which his crimes have taken place. His potential legal exposure is breathtaking though certainly one of them. I think the la times columnists that you mentioned that assumption is also built into his piece. There was a piece of politico on december third about trump's pardon power that said well. He's got all this criminal exposure in the states and you know criminal exposures kind of a term of art just means like the risk of potential criminal charges. It is not really that informative because a lot of people have come criminal exposure. A lot of times and never get charged. And you know vance's office in particular. I say i find it really strange that this assumption has sort of taken hold at all because his office history presuming complex white collar. Cases is quite checkered including

Donald Trump New York Review Amish Kadoorie Kadoorie Dorsey Bank Twitter Robert Mueller Michael Cohen Trump Pius David Farrell New York Supreme Court Wisconsin Pennsylvania Michigan Cohen Texas DOJ
"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

KQED Radio

07:48 min | 1 year ago

"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

"Then it led me to many other books. But It was funny reading it young because you don't have the critical capacity or kind of shocked to be in this incredibly not nine or 10 is young for the blues. Yeah, it was really too young. I was always reading ridiculous books, reading very but then coming back to them, and it's so now 43 reading again and reading it as a right. And being just blown away by the technique and wild. Can we talk a bit about the piece you just wrote for the New York review of Books, which had was really fascinating in defense of fiction and timely and maybe I'll just hand over to you to just talk, you know? Could you summarize what you What you were saying in that piece about cultural appropriation on the idea of how write what you know has become. Stay in your lane. Well, you know what I think I can't paraphrase it. That's exactly the issue. I Part of the problem with these arguments is that they're paraphrase down 240 characters until they reach absurdity thing with Arguments. Rational arguments is they take some unpacking and they take some time. If you remove any piece of that you remove the argument. So I can paraphrase it, but I was glad to write it, even if it was only a Zaha. I kind of think of it like enforcers. Two cheers for democracy, like he only thought to cheers. That's all they deserved. And that's how I feel about that. Like I'm not a kind of I have my suspicions about fiction. I always have a zoo process. But I wanted to defend. The psychological peculiarity of a certain kind of fiction because I know I'm not alone. But I also know there's two different kind more than two different kinds, but there is a kind of broad split. Between what you might call the inward fiction writer. The one outward and I think it's something which happens in childhood. Like I think it's a beautiful example of the inward writers. Rachel cost extraordinary, So she's a very strong sense of self hood. And then the books are kind of measurement. Off the other and the self himself in Rachel's case is usually correct. The others usually room but it's very formal relation and that it's it's striking in the books of great because it's that's genuinely her sensibility. That's how she is in the world. Nothing wrong with that kind of sensibility. But there is another kind of artists. Actors are very common example comedians or another, who always from childhood, wondering about everybody else. And processing everybody else. I'm taking everybody else through their minds, eventually quizzing them doing their voices. When I saw it with my brothers comedian When the things comedians have is a great years, they could do everybody Fiction has some relationship comedy of some relationship with acting. So I feel like even more than the defence of fiction's defense off this psychological peculiarity, the outward facing fiction writer and just as I I have no complaint about the inward one. You know, this division is so old, is an inward writer. Dickens was an outward once it is possible for literature to contain these, too. Different ways of being in the world without everybody fighting. It's just two different ways of being in the world, but I wanted to defend. The fact that I am this kind of person, but again in the end, if this kind of fiction is no longer useful, if it's no longer wanted, it will just vanish. I'm going to challenge you on that because I think these books show both kinds of writing the story. The stories in this book showed both kinds of Yes, I think old. I've been interested in the in the Buddha's if myself like like, Who am I? Exactly? I still don't have a perfectly good answer, but it's just slightly firmer than it was certainly when I was 15 18 24 32 When I really Didn't feel like anyone in particular. I felt myself just a vehicle of fiction as your commitments in life. No expands. I certainly am the mother of my Children. That's a lot of theoretical thing exists. So you're kind of pinned to the earth by these commitments, And that to me is like the existential principle. You're thrown into the world. And you make these commitments And that in the end is what forms you're not some Essential biological entity inside you. What could it possibly be? Not something running through your blood. But the things you choose to be interested in to be attentive to and to be committed to. That is what you end up being. I think that's something that that again really comes across in this book in, I'm thinking about and W as well. I have a bone to pick with you about that, which is that it's the only book that's made me cry in a very long time. Amazed whether I don't always so I didn't have the ability to make anybody think about saying It's I book statement, Nick. I can't stand all your books and books that made me cry Those just too fast. They just don't I'm much more likely to cry a cat food commercial than the book. I mean, just books Just don't make me cry. And and W did make me cry because I had empathy for and connected with the characters. They're people. I knew I felt like kind. Use him because I do know that right? And so I wondered if this is you know, we could talk a little bit about that idea is coming back to the defensive Feitian about that idea of getting in and connecting with those people and sort of looking outward from the inside. Every night. It's catharsis. That is interesting to me. I was had it recently reading this a little bit strapped book. I whipped the end. But I guess the feelings even more attracted to me than that feeling is the feeling I get when I'm reading philosophy, which is not Tears, but off being opened out. I can't really explain it, but being opened out to the world that to me is the most significant reading experience I can have. You know, I have it when I read kid. Good. I have it. Sometimes when I read bold when it's like a A feeling of being near the truth, the religious feeling really, And that's the most important sensation I can have in front of a book and much more likely to cry sentimentally at movies. You know anything visual. Anything openly sentimental. I think those things are I need those feelings, but the one I seek in a book is like Just a glimpse of reality. I really feel particularly now pressed in on all sides by mediation, you know, mediated every angle. And also, you know, kind of Lonely in the world sometimes, like no nature, no animals, no humans because you're all pretty busy with you things on and so the feeling of off one thing like Reality And sometimes when you're reading a good book, Maybe it's just the impression of a consciousness. You feel that you've come in contact with something and then I get quite excited whenever that happens. Well, I think we have to go to questions from the audience. Yes, there are some people out there so people will come round and raise your hand. People will come around to the microphone and you can ask a question, please. Hi there. I was hoping he'd speak about your first book, white teeth and enrolled in school. And maybe what your headspace.

writer New York review of Books Rachel Dickens Nick
"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

KQED Radio

04:08 min | 1 year ago

"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

"So now 43 reading again and reading it as a right. And being just blown away by the technique and wild. Can we talk a bit about the piece you just wrote for the New York review, which was really fascinating in defense of fiction and timely and maybe I'll just hand over to you to just talk, you know? Could you summarize what you What you were saying in that piece about cultural appropriation on the idea of how write what you know has become. Stay in your lane. Well, you know what? I think I can paraphrase it. That's exactly the issue. I Part of the problem with these arguments is that they're paraphrase down 240 characters until they reach absurdity thing with Arguments. Rational arguments is they take some unpacking and they take some time. If you remove any piece of that you remove the argument. So I can paraphrase it, but I was glad to write it, even if it was only a Zaha. I kind of think of it like enforcers. Two cheers for democracy, like he only thought to cheers. That's all they deserved. And that's how I feel about that. Like I'm not a kind of I have my suspicions about fiction. I always have a zoo process. But I wanted to defend. The psychological peculiarity of a certain kind of fiction because I know I'm not alone. But I also know there's two different kind more than two different kinds, but there is a kind of broad split. Between what you might call the inward fiction writer. The one outward and I think it's something which happens in childhood. I think of a beautiful example of the inward writers Rachel cost extraordinary, So she's a very strong sense of self hood. And then the books are kind of measurement. Off the other and the self himself in Rachel's case is usually correct. The others usually room but it's a very formal Relation and that it's it's striking in the books of great because it's that's genuinely her sensibility. That's how she is in the world is nothing wrong with that kind of sensibility, but there is another kind of artist. Actors are very common example comedians or another, who always from childhood, wondering about everybody else. And processing everybody else. I'm taking everybody else through their minds, eventually quizzing them doing their voices when I saw it with my brothers comedian When the things comedians have a great year, they could do everybody Fiction has some relationship comedy of some relationship with acting. So I feel like even more than the defence of fiction's defense off this psychological peculiarity, the outward facing fiction writer and just as I I have no complaint about the inward one Thiss division is so old is an inward writer. Dickins was an outward It is possible for literature to contain these two different ways of being in the world without everybody fighting. No, It's just two different ways of being in the world, but I wanted to defend. The fact that I am this kind of person, but again in the end, if this kind of fiction is no longer useful, if it's no longer wanted, it will just vanish. I'm going to challenge you on that because I think these books show both kinds of write these stories. The stories in this book showed both kinds of Yes, I think I like older. I've been interested in the in the Buddha's. If myself like like, Who am I? Exactly? I still have a perfectly good answer, but it's just slightly firmer than it was certainly when I was 15 18 24 32 When I really Didn't feel like anyone in particular. I felt myself just a vehicle of fiction as your commitments in life. No expands. I certainly am the mother of my Children. That's a lot of theoretical thing exists. So you're kind of pin for the Earth by these commitments, And that to me is like the existential principle. You're thrown.

writer Rachel New York review Dickins
"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

WNYC 93.9 FM

02:51 min | 1 year ago

"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

"Include The New York Review of Books, said Journal of Ideas Online only at N y books dot com A revolution in Mexican art. Lawrimore on millennials in an interview with Russ Feingold on how the right stole the court Swan galleries with fine books and manuscript online, now auction July 30th with autographs by musicians, artisan writers and early printed books. More information at swan galleries dot com and on this one galleries up W N Y C independent journalism in the public interest. 93.9 FM and AM H one NPR News and the New York conversation. So the flowers maybe will called Wait. You get away for stations. Clothes that didnt Tio. You and me underneath the roof can wait just a visit or is the way it makes. I hope it rains. You. Maybe will be waiting now. Ah, a mid sixties mid.

"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

WNYC 93.9 FM

06:23 min | 2 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

"Supporters include the New York review of books a journal of ideas the current art issue include Susan Thomas and Gerhard Richter Nicole Reddick on Simon Hanselman and Sophie Pinkham on socialist realism online at NY books dot com we're going through a health and economic crisis that is also an anxiety crisis so let's look at in the eye and move through it together I'm Brian Lehrer right now we're in this paradox of needing to support each other and isolated from each other at the same time W. NYC will be there for you bringing you the information you need to stay safe listener support powers are work right now we need your help if you can please donate at W. NYC dot org it's All Things Considered from NPR news I'm Mary Louise Kelly and I'm ari Shapiro dating wasn't easy before the pandemic and it certainly isn't now still many people are not letting the corona virus get in the way new they're not dating apps are reporting increased traffic at some couples are sheltering in place together but what if you just started seeing someone will moving in together might not be the best idea so what can you do to keep things going well you can go on a virtual dates eat dinner together or watch a movie and if things get stale look for ways to shake it up write letters take an online class together or cook the same thing at the same time and that's if they date ends poorly or the relationship sours be honest don't ignore texts and if you're gonna in things try a video chat now is not the time to ghost well most people are practicing social distancing in public some are also doing it at home as part of their hunker down series radio diaries brings us the story of Robert and Wendy Jackson four years ago Robert had a kidney transplant his immune system is severely compromised Wendy is an emergency room doctor who runs the risk of corona virus exposure at work so the couple made the difficult decision to live together six feet apart are you comfy in I am nice compass over ready to roll okay we are in our basement where I like to hang out in a house with his the man cave definitely not my natural habitat there's a bunch of turntables couple million CD's may be a huge TV screen a windy is about six feet from me she said in on a so for I'm sitting on a love seat that's opposite of her we've pretty much exists in the same house with at least six or eight feet apart we used to bathrooms we have more than one bedroom that we separate in yeah I'm glad you were able to put in action how social distancing although I was resistant of it and I don't understand it but I'm glad you did right definitely when I'm not doing what I'm supposed to do they made aware but you know it's still hard to stay six feet apart from someone you live with difficult yeah very difficult so we no longer can sleep in the same bed we can no longer occupy the same room for a long time so intimacy physical intimacy is definitely not happening right and that you know how important it is for me how do you think that affects you it's pretty rough I don't know what I miss most it's just the human touch a lot of things are better transmitted through touch them through talk I think there's just so much that we took for granted before all this started do you believe that you can be intimate without physical touch I think so and I might not have agreed are understood that prior to what's going on now you know just trying do little things like no fix your favorite meals are spray your pillow with lavender are the little emails or texts just you know little things to show that I'm still connected if not physically then emotionally I know for me the hard part is that night I think one night in particular that I remember when temperatures that dropped pretty low the wind was blowing really hard you know when we usually in bed together I can feel your warm feet next to mine so now it's like a co sheet so he was like an emptiness yeah no when it's bedtime missions okay night night going up or C. in the morning and that's it so sweetie are you fearful about getting sick contracting the virus well fear is not the word I would use but at the same time hello I'm not naive because I understand that being immune to suppress what that really means to me for me because I have to take you know a certain amount of drugs every day just to keep my body from rejecting his kidney I have to be careful this coming up I found myself feeling helpless a lot because I'm not sure you know what I can do you know we've been married for like what fifteen years I knew because I've seen you in action which you are very good doctor but what I didn't know is how serious you are about keeping me safe when I saw would describe Dimmick before you go to work you in tears because you are afraid you know that you're going to bring something home and and I have to encourage you that we are going to be okay I got a really good understanding of how much you cared about me my fear is infecting you even if I wasn't showing any symptoms at all it's always in the back of my mind because it's such a distinct possibility I understand why.

New York review Susan Thomas Gerhard Richter Nicole Reddick Simon Hanselman Sophie Pinkham journal of ideas
"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

KQED Radio

01:55 min | 2 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

"This wild New York review of books article and jelly fish in like twenty thirteen or something and you know it's like talking about you know the immortal jellyfish that you they can live forever and the ones that you can't differentiate like they don't know whether to call the jellyfish a singular or plural while and I I've never been able to meditate the people keep telling me that it would be good for me and I have found that this jellyfish cabin which is unbelievably beautiful you know is is the next best thing it looks like I'm looking at my phone right now it looks like we used to play behind psychedelic bands in the late sixties since like yeah what what else is keeping you sane G. and so V. do you know the only artist character I don't so is she it's this guidance name and character was sort of it's the sort of intimate as arising really joyful really pleading kind of how C. electronic music I'm in there his last album was called our love and came out in twenty fourteen and the title track from that song it was my number one favorite thing for like a year to listen to whenever I was on the subway it was sort of this like worthless meditation on connection and love and it would be maybe cry all the time in public I never cried in this new album which is called suddenly like it it really couldn't come at a better time I feel like I'm listening to a lot of things that the the music I'm listening to is the music that can supply the vibes that I myself cannot produce for myself at this moment and for this album it's sort of a focus and a command and I joined like a quiet joy it's hard to it's usually pretty easy for me to access it's a little harder when you're alone all day I mean everyone's on holiday.

New York
"new york review" Discussed on AP News

AP News

12:35 min | 2 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on AP News

"Governor Andrew Cuomo says New York City is getting 1000000 much needed and 95 masks right away and another 0 to other hot spots around the state which has identified 6000 new ventilators it combine he also wants for new field hospitals and says corona virus drug trials will begin here the FDA is going to accelerate 2 New York 10000 doses is soon as we get those doses will work with hospitals the governor who ordered a virtual lockdown starting Sunday night to stop the spread says now is the time to practice a little humanity don't let the little things get too annoyed that's New York at its best it was New York after 911 I'm Julie Walker

governor Andrew Cuomo New York City FDA New York Julie Walker New York
New York reviewing sites for more hospital beds, Cuomo says

AP News Radio

00:45 sec | 2 years ago

New York reviewing sites for more hospital beds, Cuomo says

"Governor Andrew Cuomo says New York City is getting one million much needed and ninety five masks right away and another million to other hot spots around the state which has identified six thousand new ventilators it combine he also wants for new field hospitals and says corona virus drug trials will begin here the FDA is going to accelerate two New York ten thousand doses is soon as we get those doses will work with hospitals the governor who ordered a virtual lockdown starting Sunday night to stop the spread says now is the time to practice a little humanity don't let the little things get too annoyed that's New York at its best it was New York after nine eleven I'm Julie Walker

Governor Andrew Cuomo New York City FDA Julie Walker
"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

WNYC 93.9 FM

02:24 min | 2 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

"Did you let that go that that rumor I mean all through high school yeah I didn't come out until I was an all boys Catholic school I didn't come out until after I graduated like the summer that I graduated that's when I told my family it just wasn't it was nineteen ninety seven it was not like a I couldn't just didn't feel like a safe space to to do that yeah so with your brave that's just funny that your brother was just so into it well I mean he was talking about it yeah I mean he was a senior when I was a freshman and I I think he was worried like here I was this like you know cut theater nerd who was going to this all boys school and yeah I'm sure he was like I'm sure he was concerned and then all of a sudden I was very popular with girls because I could dance well and I never touch them said I was very respectful was a very respectful date you write about your mom and your grandma having a big influence on your life very much on what was something that each of them taught you that you still carry with you alme I mean my mom my mom really taught me and my grandmother to that like you can be you can be kind but not be a pushover which I think that sometimes people who you know my mother is a very bike friendly open person and I think sometimes that can be taken as like that that person is in the consequential in some ways but they were both very there are both very strong people so I learned that from her that you can be nice but it doesn't mean that you're a pushover you can also have you know some strength behind that but it doesn't cost you anything to be kind but it also doesn't mean you have to be taken advantage of after grandmother was the queen of shade on my god she was so shady from just famous so shady and I mean I love her I loved her but she yeah she was real shady I mean she like might you realize like how my like I was writing this I was like wow they really talked a lot of you know they've she had a lot of opinions well you're searching for the words that I can say in public there we go well done I guess is interested in his book is too much is not enough a memoir of fumbling toward adulthood we'll have more with and you have to quick break support for WNYC comes from the New York review of books a journal.

boys Catholic school WNYC New York review
The Promise and Forgotten Journey by Silvina Ocampo

Bookworm

09:57 min | 2 years ago

The Promise and Forgotten Journey by Silvina Ocampo

"Of the joys on the path of a reader is seeing a name that you see for years and years. Who is this person as we know today? This person who we hear of and don't know is likely to be a woman who's been neglected. This woman Safina. Oh compo was considered to be one of the great unknowns of South American Literature. She worked with or who we spore his when he was putting together his collection of fantastic literature working on that anthology as well was her husband. Cassavetes who wrote a book that Voorhis praised very highly the invention of Morrell. I read born face and Casado race as a young man but until recently I had never read much to my discredit savina Ocampo. Now I can say in my defense. The two of her books a novel and a book of Stories have just been translated and published by city. Lights press many people know city. Lights Bookstore do you also know that froing getty has oppress attached to that bookstore? Yes there is a press and they have published Safina Compost Forgotten Journey which is a book of short stories. But if I am not giving away too much the forgotten journey is the journey out of the womb into the world. This is a journey. None of US succeed in remembering completely. He did not remember it or face. He saw that. Silvino aqap ball had the gift he said of clairvoyance and so now. We have to thrilling books. Forgotten Journey a book of her short stories and I mean the longest is six pages and then a novel called the promise and we say an awful because it is probably the longest thing she wrote. But it's fairly a hundred pages. I have three translators here who have been working on Silvino compo and they are just some of the translators who are working on Silvino Compo. Because she's about to be the discovery that we have all been waiting for. It's very exciting. And one of these translators is the marvelous Suzanne Joe Levin who goes by the name June. Wien many of you will know as soon as I tell you that. She has translated. Cabrera Infanta. Julio Cortazar Carlos Fuentes Man will tweak Severo Saad we hand Buick Assad Race. And she's translated a great deal of poetry more than forty book on translations she is the dean of Spanish South American literature and translation with her are to people who've been her students and who worked with her on each of these two books. Jill how did you come to know? Savina OCAMPO's work well I came to know Selena. Compost work Because I had the good taste and look to make amazing Literary critic when I was very young New York name a mirror years ago and he with him I was down in Argentina and Together we went to the House of Combo They were married. They were married and so I met them for the first time but of course I had already heard of them because I studied Latin American literature in college and And I was at graduate school that time so but getting to meet. These people was like so exciting. You know it's sort of like meeting Gods When you're a student you're studying. These people like absolutely amazing. Did you also meet for his? At that time. I actually met him the year before because he was brought to yell to give a lecture and evolve bone. Was there also Savino Campbell about whom we're speaking being cassavetes and all who were triumvirate of sorts? Once they married for fifty years he continued to be their dinner guest and You know he as I said. He said of her that she was clairvoyant. She didn't take many photographs. She did not like to be photographed when you see a picture of Safina or Campo. It's not unusual for hands to be crossed in front of her face and if fast if she were going to this or that party she would sing with this ugly face. Jessica Powell use started to read Cedar Fina under the direction of Jill Levine. Yes I was first introduced to Selena's work many years ago in a translation seminar that I took with Jill when I was a graduate student at UC Santa Barbara and after that class ended Jilin. I decided to collaborate on a novella which was actually the only work that Silvino Compo and her husband Blake Assad wrote together and so it was lower haight which is fantastic and we co translated it. And after that Jill and I started talking about you know Oh wouldn't it be wonderful to translate more of Selena's works and so then in Katie a? New Young came on the scene and she's completing her doctorate and her dissertation is in part on Compo Katie's Latif John worked on the translation of forgotton journey. A book of short pieces. There has been also. I don't want to confuse anyone a book of poetry from the New York review books as well as another book covering the entire spectrum of So Vena or Campos pros. I've found my own beginning point. Were these two thrilling little books. Let's here who would like to read a section of Savino Compo? Who'd like to go start with the first black? I can read a section of the Olive Green Dress. The first paragraph from journey forgotten journey. The very first book of Savino Gone Full. Let's hear the first paragraph of the Olive Green dress the olive green dress. The display windows stepped forward to greet her. The only reason she had left the House that morning was to go shopping. Miss Hilton blushed easily her skin translucent as a waxed paper like those packages who's wrappings reveal. All that's inside but beneath such transparencies where the thinnest layers of mystery behind the branching veins growing a little tree over the surface. She was ageless unjust when one noticed the deepest wrinkles on her face or her long white braids. It was possible to catch an unexpected glimpse of her youth in some childlike gesture. Other times she seemed to have the smooth skin of a young girl and light blonde hair precisely at the moment when she looked as if old age had caught up with her. The first paragraph of a very short story called the Olive Green Dress as I read. The stories seem to escape from me as I moved forward in them. There's a strange quality of presence and absence coal joint as she writes. It's quite extraordinary and this first paragraph. Because it's so zigzag you know I I saw it begins with a very odd sentence received like awkward. How could display windows stepped forward to greet you of course? That's that's very surrealist element of you. Know which was the time she was writing in but you know she she young as she old. It's like going from a woman's You know perception of herself but you were talking about how she felt about. She looked I mean. I thought this is kind of interesting example now. Above of that of of those issues and so as very twisty this is Jill Levine. Who is perhaps the Guardian Angel of these three translators bringing savina Ocampo's writing into our present

Jill Levine Silvino Compo Olive Green Dress Savina Ocampo Selena Savino Compo Cassavetes South American Literature Casado Lights Bookstore Savino Campbell United States Voorhis Cabrera Infanta Savino Morrell Julio Cortazar Carlos Fuentes Suzanne Joe Levin
"new york review" Discussed on WBSM 1420

WBSM 1420

03:33 min | 2 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on WBSM 1420

"Alters its the same pressure do you want to be reviewed in the New York review of books you want every two times for could you do you want to be on this flat out and made these insidious pressures can really work your integrity and make you you know soften your views and all and rust never did course you create the one of the ways you didn't do it if he created a and B. M. H. in a brown that was so much better than what they would have had to offer that he sort of just said I'm going to create my alternate my own alternate universe yes someone's texting and saying let's not talk in the past tense about rush will well I mean you don't say you know we what we do know we want to come back I mean I was you know I don't even marks line you know I you know I I appreciate him as the you know the best of the fill ins but you we want rush to come back obviously knowing my right eye yes there yeah I finished my column by saying that anybody who could defy the odds and reinvent a whole genre has the energy and spiritual top of that the penny but he can do what he can I think you count I've known people with stage four that people that have actually live a long life so nothing is just nothing is set in stone I have I'm train of the day that Russia is going to eat this I think you've got a good chance to do it yeah I I I I I hope so I I hope he does as well then you know you you another thing you mentioned that in a couple of the textures of mentioned is Air America I mean that was that was such a classic business model failure the build the liberal spot if they just bought a few a few towers and dying a am station day time only a am stations they could somehow create their own network they already had a network first part is called in PR but then yeah to think that they need they need it the first thing they needed was Rush Limbaugh it out yeah I don't I don't I I listened to it just for you were you know and it was well they got all these different talk show host and all will be put together didn't have rushes combined talents and they were so serious they were so angry all the time and Russia's you can get angry but he is one of the keys to its appeal of these is good nature and he takes himself not so seriously a lot he's got this you were but they were so that our gosh it was just the download listing to five minutes for the needles all I know I know the other no sense of humor and you know was so it was so touching yesterday when the guy called in and then asked to speak to boast nervously and than he is he offered his longs to rush that was that was just very emotional emotional moment well it's did you know rush did that was treated it that way but that's the thing about Russia me he didn't try to cover it up or anything like that you know or no he didn't and one of the reasons are I wrote it because it's not just because I admire large it is because of my I have a daughter who's twenty six he died of leukemia for years ago suddenly and brush remember you just you just spend so much time raising money for little employment leukemia society and that's one of the special charities and I you know when that happens people were giving money at so many people wrote me and said that they had started becoming interested in lymphoma leukemia because of Russian his mention of it on the show every year so he does things that we don't appreciate that.

New York review
New York judge orders Trump to pay in charity lawsuit

AP News Radio

00:33 sec | 2 years ago

New York judge orders Trump to pay in charity lawsuit

"One the suit of the most filed comprehensive by new York's reviews Attorney of deadly General school allege attacks the president finds that many and his times family the suspects illegally showed warning use signs the trump foundation a study by the secret as an extension service's national of his businesses threat assessment and a presidential center looked campaign a deadly school a attacks judge from has two ordered thousand the president eight to twenty to pay seventeen two million the dollars study found to that various most students charities who commit such attacks and also signed were badly off bullied on deals had to a history close of disciplinary the foundation trouble and distribute and their behavior about one concerned point seven others but million wasn't in remaining reported funds many were absent to other groups from school before in the the attack agreements often the president through school admits suspension personally the head miss of the national using threat foundation assessment center funds Lena Allah fari and agrees tells to the pay AP back the majority money spent of these incidents on sports are preventable memorabilia researchers and hope champagne the information at a gleaned charity from the event report will help train Sager school officials mag Donnie and law Washington enforcement on how to better identify students who may be planning an attack and how to stop them before they strike Jennifer king Washington

New York President Trump Attorney Deadly General School Sager School Mag Donnie Washington Jennifer King Washington
A York Review

The Final Furlong Podcast

03:59 min | 2 years ago

A York Review

"Hey what's in the water for in tipperary. You want to five race cheltenham festival over five days. Are you insane because because all all ireland medals course tipperary water and your last week would bandwagon and wagon jumper blake senior hurling matching his life but somehow decided grew up. They're still gonna throw it in kennedy space bruce when we often but fourteen points sorry. You're not talk while i thought he'd be too posh per exactly exactly rugby. Ah would you believe really blake played in goal for tipperary back in the day really hurts run-and-shoot of lake family. I take it all back a monster under twenty one goal for have you know i could. I could barely rise above the safe nice but it was going to say that your dad who listen to this podcast i'm sure is incredibly proud of all your achievements and this is with you daily but there must be a little part of them but just dies inside that you want you want to hear what are you talking about. My heart career sure it wouldn't come watch. The matches dead's dead serious because blaming sese. I'm i am not exaggerating her end. This hurler bosh they used used the play me on <unk> is true. They used to play midfield and put let me up against the opposition's best player and make me pull and drag knocked lumps over because that's all capable to do shots hit him that he's no relation and he couldn't watch. I don't watch it yeah. Thirteen hundred hurling retired at the age of sixteen and concentrate on the hour of the early a bit more suitable my skill set earlings and incredibly violent sport and anybody who tells you differently is is lying to your face <hes> you can be when you're youngster be told to just go out. There and hit hit tha fella. He's i'm reading the sheen's brick shinbone. I was told one day breaking shinbone. If i was a horrible hurling players resolved by the way football lisa simpson famous quote of hack the bone i want i want i want to do a final furlong. Podcast kevin blake's hack the bone years before we move on rec- were you a decent hurler alright. Bryce commercials or motor overs cheesy. You've got it all can twice by domino. Put your thirteen or fourteen sure everyone's good at that age or at least statements to be unknown say good now that a gap the gap grows as you get older. I found let me put it this way. Rec- were you picked last like me or were you picked. I we need out there and kill the man go ahead kevin submarine the mid late i was once given the apple later said africa's best ever come from where did that gopro. Are you doing your own. Vanessa riles on the show. Now jesus christ rick sees a spring book by bursch. Yes i forgot you put you don't have the trevor noah accent so it just confuses me every now and again you should be dropping in leonardo dicaprio's accent

Kevin Blake Bruce Ireland Trevor Noah Leonardo Dicaprio Vanessa Riles Lake Family Lisa Simpson Domino Bryce Football Africa Gopro Apple Five Days One Day
"new york review" Discussed on KSFO-AM

KSFO-AM

10:56 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on KSFO-AM

"The collective liberal mindset says dollars telling the Holocaust museum how dare you yes wow the museum's decision quote this is from the so called scholars yeah museums decision to completely reject ride any possible analogies to the Holocaust or two events leading up to it is fundamentally a historical the scholars wrote in a letter published in the New York review of books it has listen to this now it has the potential to inflict severe damage on the museum's ability to continue its role as a credible leading global institution dedicated to Holocaust memory man Holocaust education and research in the field of Holocaust and genocide studies wow and they think they're going to win the election they think they think that this is what will the this type of behavior I know these aren't the okay no wait a minute wait a minute I was gonna say I know these this does not include the candidates here's my question well somebody asked those candidates well somebody ask any of the candidates I know there've been related questions well but do they support if these three hundred scholars well yeah if in petitioning the Holocaust museum why wouldn't eight if if it's the liberals asking the question liberals are attempting to draw that analogy right there's no difference between you know that that that there is an analogy and a comparison to be made between the Holocaust and the legal immigration detention centers if they believe it then yeah they will ask the question should ask the question should they not hello wow I think so it's how they've acted up until now why stop now it's asked him the question if they support these three hundred scholars and petitioning the Holocaust museum yeah but this is again a demonstration as to as to where the left is right now and they're going further and further and further this isn't gonna stop it's not slowing down Gary remember November twenty sixteen after the election let's hark back we we don't park on off let's do some parking okay let's start back we're we're the biggest concern was we don't put on our books in jeans and go to the Midwest often enough where the folks are we need to listen to the folks now they sobered up about ten minutes later moved back to their liberal mindset at the at the media companies and decided not to do that but now you're at the point where it is just for what I don't want to hold anything back I want to punch my political opponents in the neck well since we're making comparisons and allergies why not continue it okay because I think it was a day after that article came out or maybe it was the same day was the same day that Snopes did the fact check of did Obama create the cages right and they said yes so then it is by the way you this is not for anybody listen this is not a path that we would ever go down worst simply responding to those who have gone down this path and are making these analogies and just stating that if we're going to follow these analogies that's continue it to its logical end right or it is illogical as the case may be so if Obama built the cages according to Snopes the left wing the fact checker then it is not Obama the head of the **** party that has built the concentration camps yeah I'm telling you is that it's never been more fun to do talk cranky what really has an I mean you're really you're dealing with children we're dealing we're dealing with children scholars are by the way there are no scholars left around scholars if if they're signing on to do this if they get it if they can't get that through their brain then there's nothing there right dollars three hundred dollars three hundred scholars people three hundred people that are smarter than you they must know they're also smarter Hey that they're also smarter than those at the Holocaust museum when it comes to things regarding the Holocaust wow Hey you idiots we really know what's going on yeah morons man I'm telling you I mean can okay first person and this is how this worked three hundred dollars right what's hard back you were working back as you too how this all plays out you get the first caller scholar number one is will call them saying all right what I'm gonna do I'm going after the Holocaust museum that's a good idea regarding surrounding the hall of the Holocaust now what I'm gonna do is I'm gonna go down the hall and find scholar number two the scholar number two is going to sign on watch this so now they're few hours later they're down the scholar number five who's a little bit skeptical but doesn't want to be called out for it okay final signed you would think that by the time the rich dollar number two hundred and twenty one someone says wait a minute you guys are just too but I'm I'm taking I'm taking your title as a scholar away we're not going to call you a scholar anymore here go shred this thing and don't be stupid anymore by the way one leg at a time that's how you put your pants on because you apparently I can't believe that you actually get dressed by yourself every morning without assistance this is so moronic because because because then they got they got to they got to like two hundred ninety nine and then you know what number we are number three hundred says well you're going to be number three hundred I'm gonna sign it I'm now what is this I'm signing again yeah we're going after the Holocaust museum and we're going to tell them where they're wrong when it comes to the Holocaust right they don't understand how detention camps in the United States that that they're denying that there's any type of comparison and of course we know they're exactly the same they're not scholars the Holocaust museum we are we're scholars scholars will tell them how it works wow wow so now so now you know we've gotten we're we're past we are now past the point where Martina Navratilova is the oppressor right now the Holocaust museum is the oppressor are the oppressors yes this is where we've gone now on the left the Holocaust museum are the oppressors wow for not making the absurd comparison that they're all great similarities between illegal immigrant detention camps and the concentration camps of **** Germany so now the Holocaust museum directors the staff the board did they are the oppressors of the victims so how did what was the context of the the first couple drafts of the letter dear organizer's administrators at the Holocaust museum with all due respect you guys don't know what you're talking about three hundred scholars you see now we while event occasion we get a we get a little frustrated with Republicans saying guys you can't beat this really if you're if if you if you and one we use some of just I don't know whether it's lazy I don't laziness I don't know what it is lack of imagination because you really don't need any imagination now like you can't message against this right you can't successfully message against this and dominate in the elections you actually lost seats in the house in twenty sixteen with a party that is supported by this kind of mindset it's not that hard no eight six six ninety run I for.

New York review three hundred dollars ten minutes
"new york review" Discussed on 77WABC Radio

77WABC Radio

02:15 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on 77WABC Radio

"We both or the descendants of slaves well there was pointing out that if you're going to go after him you must also ask the same questions of former president Obama yes exactly that's yeah and miss this story because we were on vacation Mr we can bring it to you last week because we were on vacation then missed the story we just didn't bring it to your attention because it's a story came out on on July first okay you ready for this no more than three hundred scholars okay can I say that a very did we qualify them as god it would add this is from the hill dot com I'm reading this I am not qualifying them as scholars more than three hundred scholars have signed on to an open letter urging the US Holocaust memorial museum to retracted statement that rejects comparisons between illegal immigrant detention facilities and concentration camps while all wow that's the collective liberal mindset sh yes dollars telling the Holocaust museum how dare you yes wow the museum's decision quote this is from the so called scholars museums decision to completely reject right any possible analogies to the Holocaust for two events leading up to it is fundamentally a historical the scholars wrote in a letter published in the New York review of books it has listen to this now it has the potential to inflict severe damage on the museum's ability to continue its role as a credible leading global institution dedicated to Holocaust memory man Holocaust education and research in the field of Holocaust and genocide studies what I'll.

president Obama US Holocaust memorial museum New York review
"new york review" Discussed on 760 KFMB Radio

760 KFMB Radio

02:09 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on 760 KFMB Radio

"There was pointing out that if you're going to go after him you must also ask the same questions of former president Obama yes exactly and it's yeah and miss this story because we were on vacation Mr when you bring it to you last week because we were on vacation and missed the story we just didn't bring it to your attention because this is the story came out on on July first okay you ready for this no more than three hundred scholars okay and I say that a very did we qualify them as god it would add this is from the hill dot com I'm reading this I am not qualifying them as scholars are more than three hundred scholars have signed on to an open letter urging the US Holocaust memorial museum to retracted statement that rejects comparisons between illegal immigrant detention facilities and concentration camps why how wow that's the collective liberal mindset she has got lawyers telling the Holocaust museum how dare you yes wow the museum's decision quote this is from the so called scholars yeah museums decision to completely reject right any possible analogies to the Holocaust for two events leading up to it is fundamentally a historical the scholars wrote in a letter published in the New York review of books it has listen to this now it has the potential to inflict severe damage on the museum's ability to continue its role as a credible leading global institution dedicated to Holocaust memory man all because education and research in the field of Holocaust and genocide studies wow.

president Obama US Holocaust memorial museum New York review
"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

WNYC 93.9 FM

03:57 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on WNYC 93.9 FM

"W. NYC supporters include the New York review of books a journal of ideas the new fiction issue includes Deborah Eisenberg on Italian Ginsburg Michael to Maskey on the democratic primaries and the call rooted on the women of sci fi in bookstores and in my books dot com WNYC is a media partner of the brick celebrate Brooklyn festival with Sudanese American MC Odyssey plus forty seven soul and RC Saturday night at seven at the prospect park bandshell details of brick arts media dot org from NPR news it's All Things Considered I'm Audie Cornish and I'm Mary Louise Kelley as the nation prepares to celebrate independence day some are sounding an alarm about the independence of the federal reserve president trump announced two new pics for the central bank's governing board this week this after the president's the last two choices backed out amid criticism they were true political and here Scott Horsley reports president trump announces nominees to help steer the fed in a series of tweets Tuesday night the first is a fairly conventional choice Christopher Waller's a former economics professor at Notre Dame who is now the director of research at the Federal Reserve Bank in Saint Louis it was tribes second pick Judy Shelton who raised eyebrows I think when you mention her name to a mainstream economists the first thing they think about is the gold standard that's not a compliment former fed vice chairman Alan blinder says advocating for a return to the gold standard as Shelton does is well outside the mainstream say it went out what high button shoes is far too terrible it's completely crazy idea blinders as tying the dollar to a fixed amount of gold would limit the overall money supplied to whatever miners happened dig out of the ground still he's not terribly worried about Shelton actually imposing the gold standard even if she wins a seat on the fed's seven member governing board I think most everybody else around the table would look at her political attitudes is if he landed from Mars James physical because of the American enterprise institute is not so confident he warns if Shelton makes it all of the fed board and president trump is reelected she could be in line to replace Jerome pal when his term as chairman expires in twenty twenty two given all the gold standard and given her criticism up the fed extraordinary actions during the financial crisis what would happen if you shop was head of the fat during another financial crisis I think that's really unclear at its worst during the Great session Shelton criticized the fed for its efforts to prop up the economy now she takes the opposite tack even though unemployment as low as it's been in nearly fifty years Shelton echoes trump's call for a cut in interest rates here he is on CNBC the last thing you want to do is start a a high growth productive economic trend by not providing the financial resources Shelton did not respond to an interview request experts can certainly disagree about fed policy and whether interest rates are too high or too low but you're gonna miss Diane's walk of grand foreign says Shelton's views seem to be driven less by economic conditions and more by which political party controls the White House and many years and when they get a one eight hundred years like that we can to be politically motivated instead of economically motivated the same complaint help to sink to the president's earlier fed picks Stephen Moore and Herman Cain but trump is not giving up in his efforts to put his own stamp on the central bank Scott Horsley NPR news Washington.

New York review W. NYC journal of ideas one eight hundred years fifty years
"new york review" Discussed on 860AM The Answer

860AM The Answer

06:05 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on 860AM The Answer

"W E L L dot com. I don't even have to respond to this just want to say to my audience. Tom soul would be one of the few. Well, household name intellectuals in this country, where he not on the conservative side that the New York Times does not review your books is a is a is good an example as I can give at all. About the other bias of that newspaper. You don't have to react. But you're free to if you want that's true. That's true in the new the New York review of books a many years ago about thirty years ago. They did they devoted to issues to a review of my books. And fortunately, he's really allowed me to reply, and I I think I did a fairly good job. And they have never reviewed a book of mindsets in thirty years. All right. Let's talk about the latest book, and it is titled discrimination and disparities, and that's exactly I mean to be fair, the not sexy titles. But that's exactly what it's about just discrimination cause economic disparity. That's essentially what it is about. And. Is another way of titling your book because there is actually a book by a man named Lawrence Harrison. Titled who prosperous is that another way of describing this book. Yes. And and and in fact, there's no question that discrimination is among the hundreds if not thousands of reasons why there is nothing resembling even distributions of individuals groups or nations and economic activities or any other activities. Right, which of course, flies in the face of doctrine of the left which holds that. The most obvious example is that black America lags behind white America, economically because of racism, well, actually, the the the. The difference between the incomes of middle aged Americans and Americans in the early twenties greater than the difference between blacks and whites. But of course, there's no political gain to be had by by saying that. So it doesn't you said that is a fascinating. Tidbit, by the way, talking about that. How do you react to the statement? This'll be the first generation in American history that is not better off than its parents. Oh, yes. I think the economic differences are not the only differences we have become overly regimented to the point where there will be soon. Be. That has no remembrance of having been free of all these things that didn't impinge on our lives from the government. The worst exam look being ObamaCare. You know, the lie repeated endlessly that you could keep your own doctor. They have in many ways made the medical system worse than it was the thing. That's really appalls me. The most is I hear about polls and all the evidence. The doctor today are saying they would not advise other people to go into medicine that it is made in the long run the consequences are unavoidable. The people who are doctors. Now, they're not gonna they're not gonna stop and become engineers bus drivers. But in terms of recruiting replacements qualitatively as well as quantitatively you they have turned medicine into such a bureaucratic nightmare that it has nothing like the attract. I once had for people who simply wanted to treat other people's illnesses. Well, there's another factor. I'd like you to comment on. And that is that they're not even cold doctors. They're cold healthcare providers. I think that's significant. Yes. These these kinds of word games, enable enable people to find more disparities. For example. What was a story about how airline employees in Britain that male line employees paid more than female airline employees? Now, you can call people airline employees. But that doesn't mean that there's no difference between a pilot and flight attendant and most pilots are male and most flight attendants female, and so by homogenising them under a given title, you create a you create a discrimination case out of the simple fact, that pilots generally, yet more paid one, in fact attendance, regardless of whether they're male or female, this is absolutely fascinating that has been widely reported in Britain that airline employees have a disparity of income between male and female lumping in everybody with pilots. Yes. So I want to ask you, I'm sort of putting you on the spot, and you could plead the fifth when people say that this is a riddle I have about the left, and it's meant utterly sincerely. And we'll take a break, and you can respond light. After I want to remind people about your book. Do they believe their lies? This is the only thing about the left. I don't know the answer to when they say, oh, look men are paid more as airline employees. But they lump pilots with flight attendants. Do they know that they are misleading? People the book is up at Dennis Prager dot com. Discrimination and.

Tom soul New York Times America New York review Dennis Prager Britain Lawrence Harrison thirty years
"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

KQED Radio

07:58 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on KQED Radio

"So there's a resonance in the fact that when the Nazis offered this sort of fake Cam to the world a lot of newspapers ran with it and publish those images, and sort of took the bait and to a certain extent we're seeing that again today. It becomes difficult decision for photo editors because even the state's supplied Potemkin village versions of internment camp reality are pretty horrifying and call attention to the stories that are beneath which are more horrifying still, but they kind of allied over the truth at the same time. So what is a news organization to do? Well, there are some other options. I mean, you know, there are many dozens of these camps that have been identified on Google earth. This imagery has been quite powerful. I think it doesn't include humans, which is something that media outlets like to have an image. But I think what they tell you is exactly the truth about our state of knowledge of this. Which is we don't know what's happening inside them. One of the other sets of images we have comes from local Shinjo. John government that was a publishing images for internal audiences before. There was an international awareness of what was going on. And those images tend to emphasize instead of these people are actually having a good time emphasizing we have the weaker under control look at the regimented rose look at the enormous number of police in what appears to be swat clothing guarding them as they sit and listen to lectures, look at the tall fences that they're in. And so we have these images. Now, one of the problems with those images is that they're low resolution, and some outlets have run with these. There was the cover of the New York review of books, for example, used one of these images, it's not just a propaganda photos. You are seeing the press make other mistakes that obscure the reality. What are they one? That's rare, but has appeared in a couple of places is the use of the Chinese government's own language. Guage? I'm thinking in particular of a story about a tour of these dressed up camps that was given to journalists in which the author of the peace sometimes called an internment camps, and then sometimes slipped into the Chinese government's terminology, which is right now that they're vocational training centers. They used to call them transformation education centers. And before that, they call them d- extreme if occasion centers, but we see sometimes journalists picking up that terminology a Wall Street Journal story, even call them residents at one point residents. That's just one short step away from guests. Right. Another thing. That's happening. Is that a lot of times, a news outlet will? I think what they want to do is provide an image. That shows that we are Muslims. And so what they end up doing is choosing an image. That has a for example, a weaker person praying in. Public or a woman with avail those common stereotypes of what it means to be a Muslim are precisely the kinds of activities that Chinese state has been cracking down on. So if you see a picture of a Muslim praying in public in Xinjiang in a newspaper story about this. It's probably going to be a stock photo from three or four years ago when in some places it was still possible to pray in public. But it's highly unlikely that anyone would do that these days, and this is again, a problem of access. You know, when the police are racing voters off of cameras every time the journalists go out there. It's very hard to get images. And so they have to rely on these older photos, but that's not the only mechanism for reporting on what's going on in these camps in the Atlantic reported on people like you scholars and citizen journalists who are gathering evidence that even the official press simply has no access to can you. Tell me more. Aside from the excellent journalists at Radio Free, Asia's weaker service. There are pretty much no weaker speaking journalists outside of China. So some scholars who do speak weaker and do have a long experience in the region have made visits recently to write about what's going on there. And then we also have examples of people finding very clever ways to dig up evidence from the Chinese state itself. Probably the most important study that was done was by a scholar named. Adrian's ends from Germany who looked at the Chinese government's advertisements asking for construction companies to submit bids to build these things that was what really brought this issue to wide-scale attention. So we know that the government is looking for construction of a five hundred thousand square foot facility with wire fences and guard towers. Yes. And enterprising. Journalists have also jumped onto this tactic AFP produce an amazing story from over a thousand Chinese government documents, which documented purchasing orders for cattle prods for batons handcuffs something called wolf's teeth, which is apparently spiked club. So these have been really important to showing the real nature of these campuses in spite of your work and in spite of some of the great journalism. The world does not seem to be up in arms about the plight of the workers. Where is the outrage? The number one reason for the shortage of outrage is the economic entanglement that almost every country on the planet has with China. It's exaggerated by the fact that at least until recently, very few people had ever heard a fit leakers. It's quite difficult to get people to care about a group of humans. They didn't even know exists. And I think another thing that for a while made this difficult to communicate to people is that the Chinese state had been ratcheting up controls on weaker movement. We expression we religious practice for thirty years. Now, it's been a steady increase of controls and since two thousand nine if you visited the place it looked like it's under military occupation with the caravans of military vehicles parading around the towns checkpoints everywhere. So I think initially a lot of news outlets were skeptical that something was really dramatically different. You've been studying for at least twenty years, and I must assume that many of the people, you know, have been caught up. And this network of internment, what has become of your friends? I don't have very good solid news for most of them. There's one who's definitely confirmed to be gone, the others. I haven't heard from quite a lot of my friends online presence disappeared. You never know. When somebody's social media account goes dark, whether it's because they've been taken away or because they're protecting themselves because if you have contacts with foreigners that one of the reasons that people get sent away there was one of your pieces a reference to someone actually leaving custody and the guard said something quite menacing. They threatened that. If if you speak up, your parents are here, and so are we Ryan thank you very much. Thank you. Thank you for your attention to this issue. Ryan.

Chinese government China Ryan Wall Street Journal New York review Shinjo Atlantic swat Asia Xinjiang John Germany AFP Radio Free official Adrian
"new york review" Discussed on On The Media

On The Media

04:52 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on On The Media

"I applied to come here voluntarily John most of the students not proficient in Chinese easy instigated and co host terrorists and extremists. Ideologies. If I had not come hit to study. Maybe I would have followed. Those religious extremists and walks down the path of crime. They have managed to inject those images into our media environment that they appear in quite a number of video segments, including one by CNN international reporters witness people singing learning Mandarin and the presence of government officials and stills from these videos often placed in newspaper articles and online news sources that's particularly powerful because we don't have any images of people in the camps that have been taken by independent media because the Chinese state is extraordinarily careful not to allow journalists into or even if they can help it near these camps. So if you want him image, you're basically stuck with what the Chinese government gives you and the ones that. Most recently passed out are incredibly deceptive. It's particularly chilling that these same propaganda techniques were used by the Nazis in the thirties and forties. If you look at the very famous film to raise in stock. That the model Cam slash ghetto that the Nazis presented to the world and gay people tours of there are some very similar images of people engaged in exercise or dance. Calisthenics images of people listening to lectures, images of people working at sewing machines, which looked like the labor section of the Chinese propaganda footage. So there's a resonance in the fact that when the Nazis offered this sort of fake camp to the world a lot of newspapers ran with it and publish those images, and sort of took the bait and to a certain extent, we're seeing that again today becomes a difficult decision for photo editors because even the state's supplied Potemkin village versions of internment camp reality are pretty horrifying. And call attention to the stories that are beneath which are more horrifying still, but they kind of allied over the truth at the same time. So you know, what is a news organization to do. Well, there are some other options. I mean, you know, there are many dozens of these camps that have been identified on Google earth. This imagery has been quite powerful. I think doesn't include humans, which is something that media outlets like to have an image. But I think what they tell you exactly the truth about our state of knowledge of this. Which is we don't know what's happening inside of them. One of the other sets of images we have comes from local Xinjiang government that was publishing images for internal audiences before. There was an international wariness of what was going on. And those images tend to emphasize instead of these people are actually having a good time there emphasizing we have the Wiegert. Under control look at the regimented rose, look at the enormous number of police in what appears to be swat clothing guarding them as they sit and listen to lectures, look at the tall fences that they're in. So we have these images. Now, one of the problems with those images is that they're low resolution, and some outlets have run with these. There was the cover of the New York review of books, for example, used one of these images, it's not just the propaganda photos. You are seeing the press make other mistakes that obscure the reality. What are they one? That's rare, but has appeared in a couple of places is the use of the Chinese government's own language. I'm thinking in particular of a story about a tour of these dressed up camps that was given to journalists in which the author of the peace sometimes call them internment camps, and then sometimes slipped into the Chinese government. Terminology, which is right now that they're vocational training centers. They used to call them transformation education centers. And before that, they call them DA extreme if occasion centers, but we see sometimes journalists picking up that terminology a Wall Street Journal story, even call them residents at one point residents. That's just one short step away from guests..

Chinese government John CNN Wall Street Journal Xinjiang New York review swat Wiegert
"new york review" Discussed on Brain Science with Ginger Campbell, MD: Neuroscience for Everyone

Brain Science with Ginger Campbell, MD: Neuroscience for Everyone

03:56 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on Brain Science with Ginger Campbell, MD: Neuroscience for Everyone

"The more precise is the stimulus. You have to put into the I to drive the cell in the retina all you needed was spots of like area v one oriented bars of light higher up in v. One bars of light that are moving in either direction, then higher up still far like moving in this direction. And so on those were so now what happens after area the one? Most vigil information goes onto area v two and what we find an area of two is that there are bands of cells some of which are primarily responsive just to movement. Others primarily to oriented line others that seem to be most interested in color didn't say anything about color in terms of the module that there are specific regions in the middle of these modules that respond selectively to color, so we begin then to see as we move from area b one two area the two that we're now segregating form those the oriented, so they tell you about the form of an image others movement, others color. So do you find from area the two that we go to probably three separate areas and area, quote, the five which selective for movement area before which things to be primarily involved in form. And then finally an area not as well defined. Some people call it VA, which seems to be concerned primarily with color. What is it significance of that? What are the implications of that? Well, you know, have some clinical cases a very famous one described by Oliver sacks. I in the New York review books of a painter who was driving in New York City one day, and it was hit by another car. He seemed to be all right. He went home and went to bed. Very tired woke up the next day and discovered he couldn't see color, and he would abstract painter the case of the colorblind painter. It was called. It was also in one of his anti. Jeez. And what almost certainly happened was that there was damage to his color sensitive areas in the brain where he could see black and white objects perfectly. Well, and he could be moving objects perfectly. Well. Well, he had no color vision. At all, of course for him. It was devastating because his art was based on color, abstract color paintings. Interestingly enough to make a very long story short. He went back to art, but mainly sculpture black and white drawing, and he also became a night person. Because what he said was that he knew the colors are so vivid in the day. He couldn't see them that he preferred to work and live at night because you can't really see colors at night. Very well people who have had strokes or lesions in area v five they can't sing moving objects. They can see color perfectly. Well, they can see static objects perfectly. Well, but they can't tell for example, if a car it's coming at them when they go to cross the road, they say, I look, and I say a car in the distance, and I look the other way and all of a sudden the is much closer. But I couldn't see it moving. They can't pour tea into a Cup because they say, it looks solid though what they do is they boarded overflows because they can't tell that the fluid is rising in the Cup and so on and so forth. Where does it permission visual information, go beyond areas?.

Oliver sacks New York review New York City One bars one day
"new york review" Discussed on KCRW

KCRW

01:31 min | 3 years ago

"new york review" Discussed on KCRW

"Christiaan jotting. Visit red cat dot org. This is press play KCRW, I'm Adeline brand President Trump's border wall and the government shutdown over it has dominated the news. Everyone has an opinion including California's new governor Gavin Newsom he raised the issue at his inauguration yesterday. But all kids, not just the children of the governor and a filmmakers should have a good life in California. Should be ripped away from their parents at the border. Be left, Hungary. Davy left, Hungary when politicians seek to pour billions into a wall that should never be built. But all this focus on the wall has taken some attention away from the federal government's efforts to deport undocumented immigrants already here, California is trying to protect them with its sanctuary state policy. But in article in the New York review of books shows that the policy may also have some unintended consequences, particularly in the rural farming community of the San Joaquin valley, author and journalist Michael Greenberg wrote that article it's called in the valley of fear, and in it, he really focuses on the culture of fear among the migrant workers in the San Joaquin valley. And there are some really compelling descriptions in it with families afraid to leave their house afraid to go to the market afraid to be in public at all because an ice officer might be lurking in a car across.

San Joaquin valley California Gavin Newsom Hungary Michael Greenberg New York review KCRW Trump Davy officer President