35 Burst results for "Independent Review"

U.S. health officials raise 'concern' about data from AstraZeneca's vaccine trial

The World

01:55 min | 2 weeks ago

U.S. health officials raise 'concern' about data from AstraZeneca's vaccine trial

"Yesterday We heard good news about the U. S trial of the AstraZeneca vaccine. But today, US vaccine officials pushed back and question the data, which has yet to be released. It adds to this vaccines messy rollout in Europe, several countries halted vaccinations to investigate a very small handful of possible rare side effects. But public health researchers are cautioning against putting too much focus on all this confusion. No. Another time. This kind of thing has happened right where we have New information, even if it turns out to be a false alarm. That's Gillian Still Fisher, director of the global polling unit at Harvard School of Public Health, she says there's a broader lesson to be learned from what is happening with AstraZeneca. The main global and European monitoring agencies reviewed the global safety data found no proven lengths and concluded that the benefits far outweigh the risks. We should be glad that we have an alarm system. Right, so it's that we're actually doing due diligence. We're actually making sure that the public health side right that these vaccines don't just kind of go out and we don't know what what's happened Some we follow. It will make sure that there is effective in the community as they were in the trial. The AstraZeneca vaccine is one of the main shots being used in the global pandemic response. It is not yet approved in the United States. Dr. Paul off it with Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, says he and others will be assessing all the data to ensure any vaccine is safe and effective. Dr off. It is on the Independent review Committee for covert 19 vaccines in the US, We want to make sure that these studies were done carefully and well before would ever approve the vaccine for use in Americans. Julian. Still, Fisher says This should build even more assurance in vaccines so long as people understand the process and know that their concerns are being addressed. We have an opportunity to build trust in the infrastructure. The Globe currently has an arsenal of several vaccines against covered 19. So far, nearly half a billion doses have been administered

Astrazeneca Gillian Still Fisher U. Harvard School Of Public Healt Children's Hospital Of Philade Confusion United States Europe Independent Review Committee F Dr. Paul Julian Fisher The Globe
Canadian police discriminated against mother of slain Indigenous man, watchdog says

Native America Calling

01:40 min | 2 weeks ago

Canadian police discriminated against mother of slain Indigenous man, watchdog says

"Independent watchdog for the royal canadian mounted police found that the force racially discriminated against the mother of an indigenous man who was killed in two thousand sixteen has down carpenter reports. The twenty two year old was killed by a white farmer in saskatchewan. The incident took place during the summer of two thousand sixteen colton. Bucci was shot and killed when an suv. He was writing in traveled onto the property of gerald stanley. Near biggar saskatchewan stanley was charged with second degree murder. He was acquitted by a jury in two thousand and eighteen. He had testified that he fired warning shots and that his gun just went off an independent review found. Rcmp officers acted hurtful e when they informed bush's mother debbie battiste of his death when she had broke down in tears. They told her to get it together and questioned whether she had been drinking. They smelled her breath in searched her home. The complaints commission said on a second occasion they inappropriately visited bush's wake to update his mother. On the case. Perry belgarde the national chief of the assembly of first nations says the ruling by the complaints commission brought a sense of vindication for debbie baptiste. But she did say she experienced racism and discrimination. In nobody would believer the rcmp dismissed it but this independent oversight body proved it. They treated her with racism and discrimination and she persevered through that and now that we know that the big question is how do we fix. It has implemented almost all of the recommendations that stemmed from the reviews. Prime minister justin trudeau said the way the bucci family was treated was unacceptable. And the lawyer for the mother. Debbie baptiste says. Systemic racism underlines the entire case for national native news. I'm dan carpenter.

Gerald Stanley Saskatchewan Stanley Royal Canadian Mounted Police Debbie Battiste Bucci Rcmp Colton Perry Belgarde Saskatchewan Complaints Commission Bush Debbie Baptiste Assembly Of First Nations Prime Minister Justin Trudeau Dan Carpenter
Houston Senator John Whitmire warn Texans may switch to new electric providers amid ERCOT woes

Coast to Coast AM with George Noory

00:39 sec | Last month

Houston Senator John Whitmire warn Texans may switch to new electric providers amid ERCOT woes

"John Whitmire, Whitmire, warning warning many many Texans Texans may soon may be soon switched be switched to do electric to do electric providers providers is ERCOT is ERCOT his own his nearly own nearly $2 $2 billion billion from power from power companies, companies, many of many whom of whom can't can't pay pay in large in large numbers. numbers. For then, For about then, about two weeks. two weeks. I think I think you'll see you'll see large large numbers numbers going bankrupt. going bankrupt. To read To negotiate read negotiate their debt their debt or contest or contest today today blamed blamed rapid rapid price price fluctuations fluctuations during last during last month's month's ice ice storms. storms. But But an independent an independent review review show that show ER that Kant ER Kant left left those high those prices high prices in place in place 32 32 hours hours too long, too long, costing costing providers providers $16 $16 billion billion total. total. As a result, As a result, Presence Presence Electric Electric Power Power Co. Up Co. already Up already has filed has filed for bankruptcy, for bankruptcy, many many others others could soon could follow. soon follow. Department Department of

Ercot John Whitmire Whitmire Kant Er Kant Presence Presence Electric Ele Department Department Of
Houston senator warns of switch to new electric providers as ERCOT is owed billions

Coast to Coast AM with George Noory

00:39 sec | Last month

Houston senator warns of switch to new electric providers as ERCOT is owed billions

"Whitmire, warning many Texans may soon be switched to do electric providers is ERCOT his own nearly $2 billion from power companies, many of whom can't pay in large numbers. For then, about two weeks. I think you'll see large numbers going bankrupt. To read negotiate their debt or contest today blamed rapid price fluctuations during last month's ice storms. But an independent review show that ER Kant left those high prices in place 32 hours too long, costing providers $16 billion total. As a result, Presence Electric Power Co. Up already has filed for bankruptcy, many others could soon follow. Department

Ercot Whitmire Er Kant Presence Electric Power Co.
'I never intended to offend anyone or cause any harm,' says Cuomo

The New Yorker Radio Hour

00:21 sec | Last month

'I never intended to offend anyone or cause any harm,' says Cuomo

"After two former aides accused New York Governor Andrew Cuomo of sexual harassment. He issued an apology tonight, saying he didn't mean to offend or harm and he says he teased people about their personal lives and now understands that may have been insensitive. He says he wants an outside independent review of the allegations. It's the fourth statement Cuomo has issued today on the allegations.

Governor Andrew Cuomo New York Cuomo
New York Gov. Cuomo Asks AG, Top Judge to Appoint Investigator

Voice of San Diego

00:57 sec | Last month

New York Gov. Cuomo Asks AG, Top Judge to Appoint Investigator

"The state's attorney general and chief justice to appoint an independent investigator to look into sexual harassment claims against the governor. This follows The New York Times report yesterday, which says a second former aide came forward to say Cuomo made inappropriate advances. The latest allegation comes from a former executive assistant to the embattled governor. Charlotte Bennett claims Andrew Cuomo asked her quote questions about her sex life and if she ever had sex with older men and quote, a 25 year old former aide said the 63 year old made the comments back in June in his office, but said the governor never physically touched her. Limo denied the claims and asked for an independent review. Into them. This comes to stays after the first claim of sexual harassment by Cuomo from Lindsey Boylan, this all while the controversy over his nursing home scandal continues a gun store owner and Albany put up a giant billboard along the highway calling for Cuomo to be impeached, who's actually stronger? Cpac's headline speech

Charlotte Bennett Cuomo Andrew Cuomo The New York Times Lindsey Boylan Limo Albany Cpac
2nd former aide accuses New York Gov. Cuomo of sexual harassment

Winning Retirement Radio with Greg Taylor

00:30 sec | Last month

2nd former aide accuses New York Gov. Cuomo of sexual harassment

"York, with details. Charlotte, Bennett told The New York Times governor, Cuomo harassed her last spring, asking her questions about her sex life and leaving her with the impression he wanted to sleep with her. In a statement, Cuomo said he was trying to be a mentor never made advances and did not intend to act in any way that was inappropriate. The initial complaint was resolved internally, but the governor's now requested an independent review to be led by a retired federal judge. You're listening to ABC News Lot. Did you know that in just 10 days, you could be 16%

Cuomo Bennett Charlotte The New York Times York Abc News
Johnson & Johnson Covid-19 vaccine is safe and effective, FDA analysis finds

First Morning News

00:36 sec | Last month

Johnson & Johnson Covid-19 vaccine is safe and effective, FDA analysis finds

"Johnson and Johnson's single dose vaccine could win emergency approval from the FDA tomorrow. The FDA has already said it's safe and effective Independent review board for the FDA will scrutinize the data around Johnson and Johnson single shot covert 19 vaccine before making a recommendation to the FDA. If all goes well in the FDA approves the vaccine. White House covert response coordinator Jeff Science says it will add millions of doses to the U. S supplies. Johnson is announced. It ain't to deliver a total of 20 million doses by the end of March. He says 3 to 4 Million doses of the vaccine could potentially be added to next week's

FDA Johnson Jeff Science White House U.
Johnson & Johnson's single-dose vaccine is effective, FDA says

Afternoon News with Tom Glasgow and Elisa Jaffe

01:42 min | Last month

Johnson & Johnson's single-dose vaccine is effective, FDA says

"Today says Johnson and Johnson's single shot Corona virus vaccine Meets emergency requirements. ABC is Mark Rommel are joins us on the co Moh news line. What's this going to mean? Mark and how effective is this one shot vaccine compared to the others? Yes. So this is another step in the process of getting an emergency use authorization for this. The FDA and then they're scientists of essentially looked at the data and said exactly that it appears safe and effective. Now it will go to an independent review board on Friday who will scrutinize the data and make a determination or a recommendation to the FDA about what they think if they think that this vaccine should be approved or given some kind of Emergency authorization and then finally, the decision rests with the FDA to make that call. But what we understand from the data from Johnson and Johnson, as well as what the FDA said today is that there appear to be no major safety concerns with this, that the common side effects or what we've heard with other vaccines who like beavers, fatigue, headache pain at the site of injection, and then it's 66% effective overall at preventing moderate to severe Cove in 1985%, effective at preventing the most serious illness from Covert 19. And so while that does not reach up to the levels of the fighter and Madonna vaccines at 95%, effective at preventing you from getting covert 19 that even in and of itself could be significant in reducing strain on hospitals and the health care system, Because even if people could get this one does, and you know, maybe you get mildly sick from covert 19. That's still a lot better than ending up in the hospital or potentially dead from covert 19. So it does appear to meet the standards that the FDA is looking. Before in terms of safety and efficacy.

Johnson FDA Mark Rommel Headache Pain ABC Mark Madonna
‘Elijah McClain should still be here today’; Aurora Fire Rescue, Aurora police respond to independent review

Big Al and JoJo

00:32 sec | Last month

‘Elijah McClain should still be here today’; Aurora Fire Rescue, Aurora police respond to independent review

"Are reacting to the independent review of the death of 23 year old Elijah McLean at the hands of police in 2019. Outside. Investigators say Aurora police did not have a legal basis to stop. Alija McClain did not have the legal authority to frisk him or use a choke hold on him and that paramedics did not properly evaluate him before giving him a powerful sedative. Today. Police chief Vanessa Wilson reacted to the report. The bottom line is Elijah MacLean should still be here today, a state grand jury and the U. S. Justice Department are investigating the case as well. Laura

Elijah Mclean Aurora Police Alija Mcclain Vanessa Wilson Elijah Maclean U. S. Justice Department Laura
"independent review" Discussed on Newsradio 700 WLW

Newsradio 700 WLW

01:39 min | 3 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on Newsradio 700 WLW

"WLW News, TRAFFIC and Weather News radio 700 WLW Cincinnati Special prosecutor appointed in that cop shooting in Columbus. This is the eight o'clock report on Sandy Collins breaking now. Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost is now the man in charge of Ah, investigation into the officer involved shooting of an unarmed black man in Columbus earlier this week. His name was Andre Hill, 47 year old man who was fatally shot on Tuesday by Columbus Police Officer Adam Coy. Who was investigating a noise complaint on a non emergency basis. Franklin County Prosecutor Ron O'Brien says that Yost has been brought in to step in and assist him with independent review of the case. The Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation is handling the investigation into the shooting itself. The Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther, is calling for the cop to be fired for that unarmed Matt man's shooting. Get her side of the fact that Officer Adam Coy did not turn on his body camera until Andre Hill had already been shot and then failed to give medical assistance in a timely manner. Which is out to the side, hands out their side. Now it is an officer's duty. Not on Lee Summon a Matic. To render aid. No comment yet from coy. He's already been relieved of his duties, but he's still being paid. The public safety director there says that this is a process that needs to be followed before police officer can be. Terminate traffic.

Officer Adam Coy officer Columbus Dave Yost Andre Hill Ohio Bureau of Criminal Invest prosecutor Columbus Police Matt man Sandy Collins Cincinnati Ohio Andrew Ginther Franklin County Ron O'Brien director independent review Lee Attorney
"independent review" Discussed on 77WABC Radio

77WABC Radio

01:46 min | 4 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on 77WABC Radio

"Full FDA, American public demand and deserve Rigorous, comprehensive and independent review of the data. And that's what FDA physicians and scientists all of US career public health servants have been doing over days night. Weekend. And yet over the Thanksgiving holiday, the FDA is Dr door and think this coming as US reaches stark milestones in death from the virus, with 3124 confirmed deaths recorded yesterday, the highest one day total Yet more than 106,000 are hospitalized in the U. S. Pennsylvania, pausing school sports and ordering gyms, casinos and theaters. Too close and banning. Indoor dining is cases of covert 19 continue to rise there. Congress is still negotiating a new round of coronavirus relief, but hope is dimming. It'll happen this year, A group of bipartisan lawmakers continue work on a $908 billion coronavirus relief measure. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi wants a deal before enhanced unemployment insurance benefits expire The week of Christmas. Now if we need more time Take more time, but we have to have a bill and we cannot go home without it. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell is proposing moving forward with a bill that does not include two provisions that have stalled in agreement assistance for state and local governments sought by Democrats in a liability shield for businesses and schools from Kobe 19 lawsuits sought by Republicans issues he says, unlikely to be resolved by the end of the year. On Capitol Hill, Jared Halpern Fox News but attempted intervention from high profile figures, including Kim Kardashian West, the federal government has executed Brendan Bernard, who was 18 when he and four others killed a religious couple in clean Texas. America.

FDA Mitch McConnell US Brendan Bernard House Speaker Nancy Pelosi independent review Jared Halpern Senate Congress Kim Kardashian West federal government America Texas Pennsylvania
FDA panel approves Covid vaccine in US

NBC Nightly News

04:29 min | 4 months ago

FDA panel approves Covid vaccine in US

"Good evening we start with that breaking news from an independent. Fda advisory panel of experts late today giving its endorsement for emergency. Use a pfizer as covid vaccine here in the united states their recommendation. Now in the hands of the fda itself which could give its go-ahead any day now that would allow the start of an ambitious mass vaccination effort just as the country reels from loss of over three thousand people in a single day from the virus. Let's begin tonight with tom castillo. The virtual vote came after eight hours so back and forth on efficacy and safety and outside advisory panel of experts charged with giving the fda unbiased and unfiltered analysis of pfizer's covid vaccine the american public demand and deserve comprehensive and independent review of the data. Now the fda will decide whether to follow the uk and canada. In green-lighting the vaccine for emergency use. That decision could come within days or even hours. Fda commissioner hahn on we've shrunk in a process that normally takes months into one. That's taken weeks. And i have a one hundred percents confidence in them. And i believe the american people should as well wants. The fda approves operation warp speed will move into high gear thousands of ups and fedex trucks and planes mobilized nationwide the faa giving priority clearance to air cargo shipments. In the first week visor plans to ship. Roughly two point nine million doses each state's allocation based on his population with bigger states. Getting the most california receiving three hundred twenty seven. Thousand initial doses. Medium-size states like maryland. Minnesota about fifty thousand small estates and wyoming about five thousand initially across the country. Frontline medical workers will go first at the university of wisconsin mid center in madison. Their training to vaccinate the first two thousand staffers in the er icu and kobe. Units identified as group. One a you're talking about. Physicians advanced practice providers nurse practitioners and physician assistants respiratory therapists. Nursing assistants are registered nurses. That population has the highest touch points with the kobe. Positive patients already shipping one hundred fifty million kits that include syringes and p for starting the injection process all right. Tom joins us now. Tom some members of this advisory committee did raise issues some concern about those people on the uk who had some sort of an allergic reaction concern about that and some members want more research into the effect on sixteen and seventeen year olds also pregnant women that want to see how they fare with the vaccine. All right tom as you heard those frontline healthcare workers will be among the first to receive the vaccine once it gets final approval and an unprecedented distribution effort kicks in gabe. Beauty ariza's with some of them in michigan tonight in kalamazoo michigan just a few miles from this visor. Plant this staff at w. Med is preparing these ultra-cold freezers for some of the first doses of the vaccine. You're essentially one of the first parts of the supply chain yet. This is very cutting edge to be able to be one of those first people that potentially could get. That vaccine is is something extraordinary extraordinary because it feels like something out of the movies we expected vaccine rates and rollouts of vaccines and studies to take food or five years and the best of situations. This is six to nine months. This is like star trek. This is amazingly fast. Some healthcare workers have told us they feel some guilt taking vaccine i but they know they need it to better care for their patients. The medical community hoping to show anyone skeptical. The vaccine that it's safe is this the beginning of the end of the pandemic. I sure would like to hope so. Let's go ahead and take a deep breath for me. For dr eliza erskine the hardest part of treating cove is not always those infected. It's their families. I had one patient. I took care of icu that her son came to visit every day. It was glass doors there so he could come stand in the hallway and stare at her and he would come every evening in just watches. Mom for an hour. And it's heartbreaking here in michigan. This huge pfizer plant is at the ready at the. Fda approved some hospitals across the country are preparing to get their first vaccine doses. As early as monday

FDA Tom Castillo Pfizer University Of Wisconsin Mid Ce Tom Joins Hahn UK FAA Fedex United States Wyoming Michigan Canada Maryland Madison Minnesota Ariza California Gabe
US experts convene to decide whether to OK Pfizer vaccine

AP News Radio

00:45 sec | 4 months ago

US experts convene to decide whether to OK Pfizer vaccine

"Government advisers are meeting to decide whether to endorse mass use of Pfizer's cove in nineteen vaccine it's the next to last hurdle before what's expected to be the biggest vaccination campaign in American history outside advisers to the food and drug administration are conducting what's essentially a science court publicly weighing the vaccine safety and effectiveness the American public demand and deserve a rigorous comprehensive and independent review of the data the FDA's doctor during spring kicked off a day long session that's widely expected to end with the panel recommended clearing the vaccine for emergency use followed by FDA approval and millions of shots being shipped Sager made Donnie Washington

FDA Pfizer Sager Donnie Washington
"independent review" Discussed on News Radio 1190 KEX

News Radio 1190 KEX

01:48 min | 4 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on News Radio 1190 KEX

"Rigorous, comprehensive and independent review of the data committee member Dr Dorian Think, reminding members that despite the unprecedented speed at which the vaccine was brought to this point, they have to be diligent and thorough in their consideration. The U. S suffered its worst one day death toll from covert yesterday. 3124 people, the virus, also hitting close to home for The nation's top infectious disease specialist, Dr Anthony Fauci, His daughter's boyfriend, He says lost her brother. So there you have a 32 year old young man. Otherwise helping actually quite athletic and strong, who died Very sad. It was very much made of a really saddens my daughter. Great hospitalization count is also up across the country. A B C's Kaylee Hartung is that Arrowhead Medical Center in San Bernadino, California where they're running out of room. Arrowhead has started putting patients in that conference room. They adapted next the cafeteria, then they'll move into these tents. But we know a bed is only good if there is staff to care for it. This hospital is requested an additional 200 staffers from the state. They've only got two more Americans also losing their jobs in the pandemic. 853,000 laid off Americans filed new claims for unemployment benefits last week, well beyond expectations and a jump of more than 100,000 from the prior week. It's the highest number of first time jobless claims since early October. And it reflects the struggles of the labor force as infections rise and cities re imposed restrictions. She's Aaron Carter ski, the European Central Bank is passed to $600 billion Covad package. It'll buy more bonds helping keep credit more affordable. Facebook says It'll fight to lawsuits aimed to trying to break it up. The antitrust filing say Facebook size makes competition nearly impossible. Listening to ABC News. Our.

Kaylee Hartung Facebook Dr Anthony Fauci Dr Dorian Arrowhead Medical Center San Bernadino independent review ABC News U. S Covad California European Central Bank
"independent review" Discussed on C-SPAN Radio

C-SPAN Radio

08:13 min | 4 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on C-SPAN Radio

"This independent review Commission or committee. I should say to look at what is indeed, a national tragedy focused today are the nine findings and the 70. I'll repeat that 70 Review committee recommendations. After this extensive investigation into whether the command climate and culture at Fort Hood reflects the Army's values, including respect, inclusiveness and workplace free from sexual harassment and a commitment to diversity. Despite red flags popping up for years, leaders ignored them carried on and I quote from the report business as usual, causing female soldiers, particularly in the combat brigades, whose Slip into survival mode vulnerable and preyed upon, but fearful to report and the ostracized and re victimized unquote that a statement from the committee's report. It has been a difficult year for everyone with a raging pandemic, deep divisions and racial reckoning facing our nation, but it has been even more difficult. As a year for the soldiers and families of Fort Hood. Like the rest of us, they faced a deadly pandemic, civil unrest and extreme inequality. But unlike us They also must live and work on the most dangerous military installation in the United States. Let me repeat that the most dangerous military installation in the United States 28 service members have died at Fort Hood this year, at least five of them Specialists finessed again. Private first class Brendan Weddle Without more Alice, Private first class Scott Rosencrantz, Sergeant Elder Fernandez and specialist Freddie Bening. Go dela Cruz have died under suspicious circumstances. I might also add that we just got word that there was a suicide at Fort Hood just over the weekend. It is not just violent crime that's played. Taking Fort Hood but unlivable housing conditions rising instances of sexual harassment, a failing sharp program, increased rates of depression and a bottoming out of morale. Subcommittee chair Congresswoman Jackie Spear. You're part of the root of the Fort Hood Independent Review Committee confirms what I saw with my own eyes. The base once nicknamed quote Great Place Unquote because of the quality of life it offered to its soldiers has been transformed into Quote the place where careers go to die unquote. In September, I led a congressional delegation to Fort Hood We met with soldiers and their families. We saw their barracks with cracked foundations, moldy walls, dingy furniture and poorly lit hallways. Soldiers were living and rat infested tenements. Families were living in black mold infected homes with asbestos, tiling and cracking foundations. In my eight years on this committee, visiting military and Relations. I have never seen barracks and family housing in such deplorable conditions. We heard from teary eyed mothers who beg for assistance because their Children fact their infants were sleeping on moldy mattresses and developing asthma. We heard from military spouses who are afraid for their husbands and wives for their overworked They're exhaustion, their misery and depression, afraid they would come home to find their loved one hanging in the shower. Or dead on the floor. We met with junior enlisted women who described a cultural sexual harassment a culture of leaders watching as women and men were harassed before their eyes. That kept silent squad leaders and platoon leaders who seemed either unwilling or unsure how to help them. So they're harassment became just another hazard of being a soldier, and no one was held accountable and not one leader. Step forward. We visited the sharp 3 60 facility that a few enterprising and CEOs and soldiers design, taking furniture from their homes and spending their weekends painting the NCS. Was created an interactive training states for soldiers to train in real world scenarios. We know that death by power point is not an effective strategy for reshaping military culture to prevent sexual harassment and assault. Yet programs like these are underfunded, understaffed and under advertised. You cannot rely on a few soldiers that disparate installations to come up with their own training methods without proper support. But it turns out Fort Hood wasn't even training by power point. In fact, They weren't training their soldiers at all. The report also provides an inside look at a military installation where soldiers are suffering under leaders who have lost their way crushed by unsustainable training, calendars, deployment schedules and careless leaders chasing the next rank instead of caring for those soldiers, this report is a damning indictment of Fort Hood and its leadership leaders, who for years even as they paid lip service to Congress instead, all the right things away. Out of sexual harassment, sexual assault and toxic behaviors to fester Committee survey of Fort Hood soldiers found that 1339 soldiers observed a sexual assault in the last year. This is the Fort Hood Invest Independent Committee and 2625 observed sexual harassment. But very few actually made a report. I'm appalled, and I think the army should be appalled as well. I'm grateful for the time and effort. The Independent Review Committee put into this, The curtain has been pulled back, and I hope the Army sees the same traumatic environment and toxic culture that I do. This report is the culmination of a long, difficult year really a difficult five or 10 years for soldiers and families that Fort Hood, but I'm saddened that I took the deaths the five soldiers before anyone really listen to the pleas from southeastern Texas. I'm concerned that their commanders, their leaders, and the army ignored them for so long. But I promise that I'm listening, and I will keep listening until every one of these recommendations is implemented. Our soldiers and their families are too important to this nation to brush off. I promised to the soldier's families and all those who serve our country. I will keep listening, listening. I believe this committee will keep listening. We will hold the army and its leadership accountable. We won't stop asking questions until Fort Hood once again is quote the great Face unquote. It claims to be before I introduce our pal. I'd like to acknowledge the incredible work of our committee members during this congress, especially those participating in their last military personnel subcommittee hearing today, we're joined to my right by Congressman Woman, Susan Davis, the former chair of this committee who has served 20 years on the Armed Services Committee on day who will be retiring at the end of this year. Also To Gilles. This narrows Ralph Abraham and Paul Mitchell. All of you have been great participants and this committee's work before I offer ranking member Kelly an opportunity to make opening remarks. I would like to congratulate him on his promotion to Major general and the National Guard reserves. Congratulations to you, Frank. Remember Kelly? Congresswoman Jackie Speier,.

Fort Hood harassment Fort Hood Independent Review C Fort Hood Invest Independent C Army Independent Review Committee United States Congresswoman Jackie Speier assault independent review Commission Armed Services Committee Congress military and Relations Kelly Jackie Spear dela Cruz depression Brendan Weddle
14 fired or suspended following probe into Fort Hood soldier's death

This Morning with Gordon Deal

00:32 sec | 4 months ago

14 fired or suspended following probe into Fort Hood soldier's death

"Army says 14 leaders had Fort Hood in Texas have been relieved of duty or suspended. It comes after an independent review of Fort Hood following a year during which 25 soldiers from the fort or either killed, committed suicide or died by accident Secretary also announced that changing the way the army handle soldiers who don't report for duty. Anyone who doesn't report for duty will be classified as absentee unknown in the Army will take immediate action to find that person. We're on your side, telling you about

Fort Hood Army Texas
Army secretary condemns command climate

Mark Levin

00:58 sec | 4 months ago

Army secretary condemns command climate

"Over a dozen military commanders relieved of their post or outright suspended after an investigation into misconduct at Fort Hood military base, Fox's Jennifer Griffin at the Pentagon reports. Army Secretary Ryan McCarthy removed 14 Army commanders at Fort Hood in Texas after an independent investigation found a toxic command climate that enabled sexual assault murder and a high rate of suicides. I am gravely disappointed that leaders failed, effectively created climate. Treated all soldiers with dignity and respect. The scale of the punishment is unprecedented in the U. S. Army. The drastic measures were taken following a months long independent review after the mishandling of the disappearance and murder of 20 year old private first class finesse again. The young soldier was sexually harassed them brutally murdered and dismembered by a fellow soldier at Fort Hood, who took his life in July when police closed in at the Pentagon. Jennifer Griffin Fox News

Jennifer Griffin Fort Hood Military Base Ryan Mccarthy Army Fort Hood Pentagon FOX U. S. Army Texas Fox News
Army fires, suspends 14 leaders after systemic failures at Fort Hood, Texas

WBZ Midday News

01:20 min | 4 months ago

Army fires, suspends 14 leaders after systemic failures at Fort Hood, Texas

"U. S army reveals the findings of an independent investigation into a syriza of sexual assaults, missing soldiers, suicides and murders. All of Fort put based in Texas. I've determined the issues at Fort Hood. Directly related to leadership failures, leadership failures, according to Army Secretary Ryan McCarthy, who calls the results deeply troubling and disappointing. As a result, we've learned that 14 officers and enlisted soldiers have been fired or suspended. And this probe was launched after the murder of a young soldier Vanesa G. N earlier this year, McCarthy says this report has repercussions well beyond the Texas space Well, the independent Review focused on the command, climate and culture at Fort Hood. Findings contain the committee's report. Impact the entire army. More than one million soldiers, a culture of humiliation and among the more than two dozen station of Fort Hood who lost their lives over the last year. Brockton native sergeant Elder Fernandez, the young man took his own life, saying he was bullied and humiliated by his colleagues after reporting sexual abuse. Cold winds and hot

U. S Army Fort Hood Army Secretary Ryan Mccarthy Vanesa G. N Texas Mccarthy Sergeant Elder Fernandez Army Brockton Cold
Fauci says U.K. rushed vaccine approval, FDA won't cut corners

News, Traffic and Weather

01:56 min | 4 months ago

Fauci says U.K. rushed vaccine approval, FDA won't cut corners

"For the vaccines themselves. Americans, you would think they would have even more confidence in them because, Dr Fauci, Of course, you know, he's said that this is a good thing and it's going moving forward properly. He has criticized the UK that we're going ahead and granting emergency for approval of five years Cove in 19 vaccines. Or is there reason to some communities have reason for concern here? As far as I know? No. You know, I think what Dr Fauci was trying to express their was by saying that The UK was, as he put it, He said that they too him seemed like Someone running a marathon and joining in the last mile and and that he seemed to be under the impression that they did not thoroughly review the data, and they essentially just took visors Word. For what they say. Here's the safety information. Here's the efficacy of our vaccine. And he's according to Fauci and his interview with CBS, or at least what we've seen of it so far. According to him, Name cut corners, essentially or just moved too quickly and kind of rubber stamped. It was seemingly the way he put it now, he contrast did that to the US in terms of what he called the gold standard is the FDA approval of vaccines here in the U. S. And we know that this is going through. Review process right now. And remember the review process that's occurring right now Advisor submitted its application the FDA more than a week ago, they're going to meet on December 10th between the FDA and an independent review board to discuss whether or not this vaccine should be approved. We're not sure exactly how long it will take the FDA to make a decision on that. But it seems like the earliest six possibly be approved is December 10th for an emergency use, and right now there is an independent board. It's not the FDA. These air, non governmental, um experts, health experts, medical experts who are going through this data to look at it and so found, she says. Americans should have confidence. ABC is Mark Roma lard with US on the commoners line in

Dr Fauci FDA UK Fauci CBS U. S. Mark Roma ABC
"independent review" Discussed on KFI AM 640

KFI AM 640

02:19 min | 6 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on KFI AM 640

"OK, it's not AstraZeneca insiders giving us the good news Independent review shows that their vaccine works as intended and produces an immune response. It's doing what they wanted to Dio. Now That's a long ways away from testing 30 or 60,000 people to prove the safety, the efficacy. It just shows that it does work. OK, now, what do you do with that? That is the first step does this puppy work? And it's a Siri's of do aren't even doing mice testing. Ah, now on these Vaccines. Are they going? They're the blowing right past are in the very, very, I mean, we're way past it. But yes, in the very early days they were doing Those normal animal based tests. They usually don't go very quickly. Yeah, Usually they go on forever. Well, over months or years, just the rat part and then you have Ah, the monkey part. And and then there's huge controversy about you know, chimpanzees and monkeys. And you know all of that. And so, yeah, we are. This is going to go down just the history of how this vaccine was created so quickly. It may very well change how vaccines are made in the future. If it if you condone it in nine months, why did it take 10 years? Is what the case was. I think part of it honestly is that this was the first time that atleast in terms of the United States regulations for the first time the government got out of the way the way they did under this operation works. I mean, when have you ever had a government? You know? So boldly say we're going to allow an accelerated timeline. As a matter of fact, it's usually the other way around the vaccine companies. Pharmaceutical companies produce these vaccines. The FDA put up road blocks that you have to go around and they make it just difficult to go through the process. Well, now it's reversed. Everybody's on the same page. And there's no one in the way to move this thing at break at warp speed. Survey says. Survey says.

AstraZeneca Independent review FDA United States
HHS Secretary Alex Azar in Atlanta  says COVID-19 vaccine should be ready for most vulnerable late this year

Atlanta's Morning News

00:35 sec | 6 months ago

HHS Secretary Alex Azar in Atlanta says COVID-19 vaccine should be ready for most vulnerable late this year

"Of Health and Human Services Cesar says he's expecting a Corona virus vaccine by year's end enough vaccine to be that FDA authorized to be able to vaccinate all of our vulnerable into the most vulnerable individual. Now. The AstraZeneca vaccine trial will continue after a volunteer in Brazil die vaccine was in a phase three clinical trial run by the University of Oxford When the man from Rio Rio de de de Janeiro Janeiro Janeiro died, died, died, CNN CNN CNN reports reports reports he he he had had had reportedly reportedly reportedly received received received the the the placebo, placebo, placebo, not not not the the the vaccine. vaccine. vaccine. Brian Brian Brian shook shook shook reports reports reports an an an independent independent independent review review review found found found no no no safety safety safety concerns with continuing the trial. Hurricane Absalon is now a major

Janeiro Janeiro Janeiro Brian Brian Brian CNN Rio Rio Independent Review Hurricane Absalon Cesar FDA University Of Oxford Brazil
Volunteer in AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine trial dies in Brazil

Chicago's Afternoon News

00:20 sec | 6 months ago

Volunteer in AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine trial dies in Brazil

"Trial will continue after a volunteer in Brazil died. The vaccine was in a phase three clinical trial run by University of Oxford. He had reportedly received the placebo, not the placebo, not the vaccine. The university says an independent review found no safety concerns with continuation of the trial. Indiana Governor Eric

University Of Oxford Brazil Indiana
"independent review" Discussed on NewsRadio KFBK

NewsRadio KFBK

05:31 min | 7 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on NewsRadio KFBK

"They say that more people are going to have to borrow to pay for their kids college education In fact, 39% of parents who did not plan to apply for any federal aid. Now say this year in 2020 they will have to because of the pandemic. Tesla is going to be showing off its latest innovations today, and it's hotly anticipated battery. Day. Stock futures are mixed after yesterday's selloff. Dow futures Down 85 SNP futures down three but the NASDAQ futures showing some signs of life They're up 24 points. I made Cori with Ah Bloomberg Business Report on news 93.1 kfbk. All right, Ed. Thanks very much Talked again and a half an hour. We're going to go deeper now into a governor Newsome to decision to shut down the state's troubled unemployment office. It is of course, known as the Employment Development Department. It's going to be shut down for two weeks. They have to get caught up on old claims a backlog of claims that they have not yet processed. He says The agency also needs technology upgrades. That's why I created an office of digital innovation. Brought their riel guidance and expertise by recruiting new team of individuals running these agencies on bringing in some of the private sector mindset that I found very, very insightful over the course of many, many years. So he decides we're just going to shut it down. That's it. Two weeks were the absolute peak of unemployment in the history of California. We're shutting down the unemployment office for they can't keep up. He said it and he said also that he believes it would actually be worse. If you live somewhere else in the country, in the reports remarkable showed on independent review that showed our system eyes challenged as it's been, it's actually performing much better than the vast majority of states there I say. That as a nation, we have a huge problem, so we're performing better than a vast majority of other states. Now I'm wondering which other states in the United States of America have shut down their unemployment office for two weeks. I haven't heard of any. I haven't either. When you look at you know the people that are unemployed in the country, like half of them. Are in California. Oh, I'm not saying the system isn't overloaded. It's It's definitely overloaded. But you would think I mean with an eye problem that perhaps someone in the middle of our state Might be able to help with that. And perhaps when you have 40 million people, you build a system big enough to handle the fact that we have 40 million people. Also, Assemblyman Jim Patterson, hey, had this to say about our current technology can't build a new Amazon like experience. With the same old people, the same old contractors and less than ideal 21st century technology again. We have Silicon Valley right there. The state's computer systems have been a disaster for decades for decades. I mean, you know, I've been covering news in this town since you know 1919 1990. There was a debacle in the nineties at the DMV, Right. Remember that one? Yes, I d'oh. It's crazy. I can't get this figured out, he says the governor, This is again a sand woman, Jim Patterson, he says the governor needs to take responsibility. Governor needs to admit that the technology systems of the state of California are in fact so outdated. That none of them really work well. In fact, part of the recommendation was to suspend the Department of Technologies effort to upgrade and modernize because they were so bad and so unreliable And there have been attempts over the past 30 years where people have stepped forward and said, We've got to do something right? And then nothing got done. So now, if you're a business owner, right, you run a business and you got a technology issue and you got a backlog of claims. You shut down for two weeks or do you stay open and continue to do business And then maybe in the off hours at night? Do you fix your system? I mean, why do you have to shut it down for two weeks? Why can't you fix it when Everybody else has gone for the day. I mean, what? I don't understand how you can't do both governments don't pivot like like businesses Dio. I mean, they need to, especially during this time, but they don't do more than a million people on unemployment in California. And did you gonna shut it down for two weeks, right? I know before out there in name desperate straight. Yes, there are many to pay the rent to buy groceries for kids, right? And they're nobody's picking up the phone. Yeah, it's it's It's a failure of the state. Oh, my gosh. Massive failure Can Piquet and last year's Elk Grove Subaru have launched a program that were really excited about. It's called the Educator of Excellence Award, essentially what we're going to do. We're gonna honor those great teachers that are out there and there are a bunch of them and we'd love for you to help us out. And here's how you do it. You go to cape okay dot com slash teachers and then you can submit the name of a teacher and why you think that they deserve this award will be like 500. Bucks and prizes will honor them here on our program, and it's powered by schools, First Federal credit Union and I think we're gonna get this going pretty soon. We're looking forward to me, too. Okay, They're open for business, no matter what the governor says restaurants in two local counties. Define the governor's orders. They have opened their doors for customers, so Republican senators say they have the votes. President Trump expected a name his nominee and Democrats vowed a spirited fight. Political analyst Alex Castellanos. Join us with what we can expect in the weeks to come in the Supreme Court debate your morning headlines, Your forecast news from your neighborhood. Get it all right here in just three minutes stories that.

California Assemblyman Jim Patterson Tesla Ah Bloomberg United States Employment Development Departm Ed DMV Newsome independent review President Trump Amazon business owner Supreme Court Political analyst Alex Castellanos Department of Technologies
"independent review" Discussed on The Current

The Current

04:31 min | 9 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on The Current

"Nova, Scotia Justice Minister was asked yesterday. Who exactly had asked for a review? He responded no one so again. Why have you ignored all the families? Well I mean as I said Minister Blair. Minister Fury has been working with the families to find out what it is that they wanted. Business for sure I believe has met with all of the family member. Members directly to find out what the there remain concerns were and how the best address them and this is. This is a way that the minute that. That Minister Blair administer. Fury found where it's going to give the families what they want, so we're they hearing something different in in private than than public because there was a march that would that would be a question for Mr Blair, Minister Fury Okay. We all I will say is that you know the family want answers. Nova Scotia's one answers cadence. Want answers we want. Want answers. We want this to be something that you know is able to give us a way to move forward and to make sure that we're able to address it to the number of concerns that people have and to do this where you know, a review is one of the one of the ways that we can do it and we feel that it's the the. The way that timely. It's going to be less traumatizing for people. It's going to get an opportunity to address a number of the concerns I. Mean I heard the The the woman speaking before me about the women's the gender based violence component I'm extremely I was very concerned about that respect. Myself seeing that Leeann fitches. Part of this panel has his. has made me. A little bit and feel better about it because she is a person who developed national framework on international I in an intimate partner violence, and I think that these are you know three very credible panelists who are going to have a lot of of ability to dig into the issues that are extremely important here. Are you, not hearing the other side at all I. Mean I'm I'm hearing what you are saying is that people want answers but I. You know what I'm trying to get it is. It's the way that people want answers and that doesn't. I mean you are a minister? You are based in Nova. Scotia you're an MP? Nova Scotia did you not. You have a seat at the cabinet table. Did you not take any of these concerns from the people of Nova Scotia to Minister Blair on to Minister Fury when when you're talking about how best.

Minister Blair Minister Fury Nova Scotia Justice Minister Nova Leeann fitches partner
"independent review" Discussed on The Current

The Current

03:56 min | 9 months ago

"independent review" Discussed on The Current

"Throughout the nineteen eighty s strange phenomenon with sweeping North America. They were in a panic and like people in a panic they want solutions allegations of underground satanic cults, torturing and terrorizing children. The thing is. There were no satanic cults preying on children and nearly thirty years later. The people touched by it all are still picking up the pieces. A work of fiction. This is a work of history. Satanic panic. The latest CBC uncover. Available now. This is a CBC podcast..

North America
"independent review" Discussed on WCBM 680 AM

WCBM 680 AM

01:52 min | 1 year ago

"independent review" Discussed on WCBM 680 AM

"And independent review says, contracts awarded to board members of the university of Maryland medical system. We're not going to bid, and that there was a pattern by management of making decisions without full board, approval, US, Catholic, bishops reading, in Baltimore, vote to create a new national sex abuse hotline run by an independent entity to report alleged, sex abuse by priests the reports to be turned over to church leaders who would not be required to seek help from Li experts in investigating the allegations. President Donald Trump says he would be open to accepting dirt on a political opponent from a foreign power in an interview with ABC news. Trump said he'd want to hear what the foreign power had to offer, and that there's nothing wrong with listening, Vermont, Senator and presidential hopeful Bernie Sanders defending his political ideology of Democrats, socialism in front of a crowd of supporters at George Washington University in Washington DC, calling for an increase to take home pay for the average employee Senator Sanders took aim at president Donald Trump's economic and social policies, if there was ever a moment when we need it to stand up and fight against the forces of Allah, gawky and authoritarianism. This is that time. The subtler statement coming amid growing criticism. For the president, as well as other fellow Democrats, who believe a number of his ideas, would not be embraced by many Americans look at sports in a moment. DNA window tinting has Maryland's, most recognized entrusted, naming window tinting not only for your vehicles, but for your home.

President Donald Trump president Senator Sanders university of Maryland medical independent review George Washington University US Senator Baltimore ABC Maryland Washington Vermont
"independent review" Discussed on NewsRadio KFBK

NewsRadio KFBK

09:01 min | 2 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on NewsRadio KFBK

"And finally report by an outside expert. Blame consulting. So. I'm supposed to tell you that those same cereals are on another website that we're hearing from chief Deputy District Attorney Steve Griffey now who is explaining some of the background that goes into this. Said. I wanna start by saying a few things. The loss of life. You'll matter is always. Somber somber, very serious. There is no question. The Daf f- Stefan Clark. His family, but for this community. I can certainly understand. There is tremendous grief. By the Clark family. Have an opportunity this morning to meet with this parks. Mary. My job. Attorney to make sure. Full fare. Independent review of the shooting. That means that I follow the facts and the law. In that process of this review. Treat everyone with dignity. Today. We will be presenting our finding of this. I want to talk for a few minutes. About the role. Attorney's office. Go into the facts in the law. And before I start. Role in this particular slide. I want. Be reminded. This. Investigation. Death investigation. With the loss of any life. The details of that investigation. Very graphic. Very graphic because a human being died. But even more graphic we live in a world today a world of technology. Were those graphic details are captured. Camera video. The whole world. In this particular case. The investigation and the review. Body worn camera from Sacramento police department. As well. As video from the sheriff's helicopter. This event. The reality is as prosecutors we deal with graphic evidence every day. Every single day in that building across the street. We hear it. The real life. Consequently. But the fact that we see that every day in our profession does not take away from the reality that we are viewing. The loss of somebody's life. I want to warn everybody. What we're going to see? In fact, very graphic. The fact that we as prosecutors do this every day in our profession. Not me. We do not have compassion. Our responsibility. Has it always will be that? We look at the facts in what we call a dispassionate. Meaning that our responsibility is to look at those facts, objectively with the fact that we look at something in a dispassionate manner. That we lack. And so when I talk about today, I want everybody to understand very clearly because of this evidence that we have done our very best. It's a balance transparency. What sets to the Clark family? Sensitivity to this community. We have done our very best to balance after. Passion. When we talk about the role of the district attorney's office are question in this review is limited to one. Was a crime mid. It is a question. That we answer every day. Profession as prosecutors. It's a question of posts every district attorney's office across the state in the prophets. Was it crime committed? Question. The same evaluation that we do in all. And here in Sacramento alone. We answer that question somewhere thirty five forty thousand times a year. As prosecutor. And when I became a prosecutor almost thirty years ago, we all take the same. Natto is to follow the facts in making a decision. I want to remind everyone whether it's the media whether the unity what those responsibilities are. And there's a jury instruction. That's given in every criminal case in California. Every single criminal case, no matter what the charge. The jury would be the Trier of fact is hold in every case. You must only decide the facts based upon the evidence presented. You must follow the law. Whether you agree with that law or not. And you must not make a decision that is based upon bias or public opinion. Perhaps most importantly in every criminal case. Every day. That jury is reminded that you must not decide the case until all the facts. Again, the single question. We have today in art. Now, I want to explain a few things with many people understand perhaps not everybody understands. And that is what our review does not address. Our review does not address if there is civil responsibility or civil liability on behalf of the officers with the police department in his face. Our review does not address any police policy, and whether that pulse may or may not have been violated. And our review does not address whether or not there were other police tactics that could have been used in this particular case. It is important that everybody understands that. I acknowledged that. These are very valid. Be happy valid questions for people to have conversations that I look forward to being. But that is not the question of the day. These are not the topic of today. The topic of today that one. You're listening.

prosecutor Independent review Clark family Deputy District Attorney Attorney Stefan Clark Sacramento Steve Griffey California thirty years
"independent review" Discussed on WCBM 680 AM

WCBM 680 AM

01:41 min | 2 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on WCBM 680 AM

"Time three minutes past now no clock Baltimore police, detective, Sean suitor says his death is. Quote a, murderer, being covered up Nicole suitor rejecting the suicide findings of An. Independent review panel Baltimore County school board orders employees not to destroy documents or emails to ensure nothing was shredded or loss nearing. An external audit of the school systems. Contracts this after former superintendent. Dallas dance went to jail for failing to report his connection to. Affirm that a contract with the school system another shooting in Dundalk just a block away from a shooting that, killed two people, earlier this week a. Suspect sitting in a car fired at a man and a woman on a store parking lot, on, wise, avenue, police, don't believe. The two, shootings, are, related, weeks, after President Donald Trump tweeted, they photo of boats at an ocean city. Marina flying Trump plagues a member, of the ocean. City planning zoning commission is calling. On boat owners, to take down the Trump plagues which are being flown on, a large number of boats The Commissioner, says he is boycotting, restaurants and marinas with views of the. Trump flag but says, first amendment rights of the boat owners are the are to enable. Them to fly the flags I'll, have a look at sports, coming up in just a moment here many you guys know they're getting your teeth fixed something you've needed have done for a. Long time but you've, put it off now I used to fit into this category until I made my first appointment with Dr Ed..

President Donald Trump Sean suitor Baltimore County school Baltimore Nicole Dundalk superintendent Dallas Dr Ed Independent review Commissioner three minutes
"independent review" Discussed on Software Engineering Daily

Software Engineering Daily

02:02 min | 3 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on Software Engineering Daily

"Slight loss which at our scale can be millions of dollars in because right you've you've been doing it for potentially months that putting out a model now it's that still has to work its way through the system so those those more subtle deltas are the ones that we spend a lot of time thinking about keeping an eye on and they'll give him a model where you have forty fifty plus signals that go into it all with various various weights being off on you know one or two of them can shift things pretty subtle there's concern around bias in machine learning data sets and how that can affect opportunities for people who might fall into certain biased categories do you do anything to control for bias in the data sets well we you know we stay away from signals that that would lend the kind of lend themselves the obvious bias in one put like somebody's name or somebody's zip code into the model things that are kind of traditionally associated with a specially socioeconomic bias also and we do also review the results of so including independent review where we look at to what what did we do in how does that you know how did that sort of come down on different groups and then we sort of benchmark that against how does how does the rest of the industry performed to see exempt to make sure that were sort of going in the right direction with with these models so we disagree review so we look at it was generally a as well as through external providers to see how we're doing we generally you know we feel like we've been actually doing quite well on this in the sense that looking at looking at a lot of signals about you know what a power people actually paying in repaying how do they behave bay.

independent review
"independent review" Discussed on Software Engineering Daily

Software Engineering Daily

02:02 min | 3 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on Software Engineering Daily

"Slight loss which at our scale can be millions of dollars in because right you've you've been doing it for potentially months that putting out a model now it's that still has to work its way through the system so those those more subtle deltas are the ones that we spend a lot of time thinking about keeping an eye on and they'll give him a model where you have forty fifty plus signals that go into it all with various various weights being off on you know one or two of them can shift things pretty subtle there's concern around bias in machine learning data sets and how that can affect opportunities for people who might fall into certain biased categories do you do anything to control for bias in the data sets well we you know we stay away from signals that that would lend the kind of lend themselves the obvious bias in one put like somebody's name or somebody's zip code into the model things that are kind of traditionally associated with a specially socioeconomic bias also and we do also review the results of so including independent review where we look at to what what did we do in how does that you know how did that sort of come down on different groups and then we sort of benchmark that against how does how does the rest of the industry performed to see exempt to make sure that were sort of going in the right direction with with these models so we disagree review so we look at it was generally a as well as through external providers to see how we're doing we generally you know we feel like we've been actually doing quite well on this in the sense that looking at looking at a lot of signals about you know what a power people actually paying in repaying how do they behave bay.

independent review
"independent review" Discussed on KQED Radio

KQED Radio

02:04 min | 3 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on KQED Radio

"The road i understand the conversation i i actually do and i also understand what you know the company jed match put out after this occurred which is essentially that folks have put their information in there were on notice and so i i understand that again i will say that this particular situation was not a matter of solving car theft burglaries this was a magnitude of this case was extraordinarily and law enforcement did what they felt was necessary to alternately ended did in fact lead us to the conclusion with one question about the specifics of this case when we feed people upload their dna to these sites usually you're uploading your own dna or the dna of someone who you are the guardian for that was not the case in this case are you concerned at all about the legality of the evidence in this particular instance jad match so i understand the public conversation about it but i as i said i'm confident this is going to play out in a courtroom lastly before i let you go like to just shift to another case obviously there's still a great deal of concern and outrage in sacramento about the shooting death of stefan clark by two police officers and a lot of people in the community have been arguing that you need to act quicker to prosecute the police officers for that shooting can you just tell us where that stands why hasn't that happened yet well the short answer is that we don't we have not received any case from law enforcement yet to review on that as i've said many many times these cases take when it does re re get received at our office it will take a period of time my job as the district attorney is to do a fair and independent review so one we don't have the case and to when we do have the case along with the attorney general i'm quite confident we're going to do that but i understand people's frustration but i was elected to do a job and i intend to.

stefan clark independent review theft sacramento attorney
"independent review" Discussed on KOMO

KOMO

01:38 min | 3 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on KOMO

"Briefing today we have found some additional significant challenges with the streetcar project in this as you know the streetcar project is currently actually under construction on first avenue now comes in independent review which could take until mid june a hit and run into coma has left an eight year old boy hospitalized tacoma police say the child chased a soccer ball into the street last night near east sixty fourth street and east l street and got hit by a car that car didn't stop happened around eight o'clock and if you saw anything you are urged to contact police multiple crashes including one fatality forced and all night closure of interstate ninety over snoqualmie pass no good news is the passes is back open and komo's corwin hake has an update that unpredictable puget sound convergence zone brought sudden heavy snowfall to snowfall me pass and its foothills state patrol sergeant david border says troopers responded to a series of twenty or more weather related crashes easter sunday one of them deadly spinouts water vehicles of left the road there has been one fatality here while posts thirty area sadly that crash claimed the life of a pregnant woman and her unborn child that was the last straw and the state patrol shutdown i ninety from ellensburg to north bend after that state transportation department crews worked hard to clear the pass they set a goal of eight am to reopen the freeway and they met that goal in northbound corwin hake komo news five thirty four here's marina rockinger with our aaa traffic conditions northbound four zero.

independent review komo corwin hake david border ellensburg north bend soccer eight year
"independent review" Discussed on Boston Herald Radio

Boston Herald Radio

02:55 min | 3 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on Boston Herald Radio

"It was just he was more approachable basically it it turned out or team out during his profile read hillman that you are not allowed to call colonel henderson by his first name do not call colonel henderson charles or chock or anything charlie now none of that staff would be allowed when it comes to charles anderson you would probably be calling him it many thing but i suppose maybe you could call him colonel henderson or colonel henderson sir uh something to that effect let's see i'm just trying to yes so there is a sort of another final wrap up that says stop top state police managers censured cronyism low morale found in outside review and this is this sort of much delayed independent review that also comes out as wrote result of this horrific crash that that happened in 1995 in 1998 six may ninety ninety six this independent report comes out that says the state police are a listless in poorly trained on horse riddled with cronyism mismanagement and low morale burdened by top heavy command hierarchy that rewarded loyalty over merit according to a scathing report committee shen by the state the independent report based on a hundred interviews in surveys completed by nine hundred fifty troopers also documents numerous ways in which the demoralized culture of the agency had undermined its own law enforcement mission and that sort of i mean there's a lot of of just little things that come out even of that crash that totally highlight that right away i mean you know the guys will stick to their own in everything but he mean once you start to feel like nothing you do will matter just think about this this memo that this airline pilot has written i don't know how many times asking for additional training finally his final memo is this like heartbreaking memo where he's he's just brutally say saying that we really need more help here this is going to be my final ask him and the guy ends up dying in the very thing like he was asking them to do um i'm trying to find one of the stories the details his his letter a little bit more because it was just just horrific and sort of heartbreaking me he montana think it was pet him talking about oftentimes that henderson refuse the air wings repeated requests for more training quote unquote out of.

hillman colonel henderson colonel henderson charles independent review airline pilot charlie charles anderson cronyism law enforcement montana henderson
"independent review" Discussed on talkRADIO

talkRADIO

01:52 min | 4 years ago

"independent review" Discussed on talkRADIO

"To monitor what they were doing online and on the telephone which which of course was dubbed one would expect to and it would insured that the public were protected my belief is that those measures may well have saved a great many large another child funny from what the prime minister said on sunday morning on the steps or ten downing street she took threat for measures that need to be in that she'd moving forward one of them she said walls no safe space in the real world for terrorists and she the question we may have been made the statement that we might be too tolerant in the past to think she was right about that i don't think she was right to this point of discussion earlier about non violent extremism because we're are very come pre country because we value freedom of speech of course were reluctant to stop stay people expressing opinions he even if their opinions all wacky and on to war but that has done us no good as the events of the last three boats which shows we go for have to take the measures which are necessary to protect national security which is nothing more nothing less than the rights of every one of us sixty million all citizens to go about our daily lives without the risk of being blown up by people who have a mad religious heresy which is totally contrary to our way of life that it's caller speaking to me perote's on radio he's across from independent review of uk cherished legislation is now six thirty he won we've got the whether latest on the way after get those headlines from rachel radio full self people who were arrested after saturday night terror attack in nandan now being released without charge seven women and five men were detained him docking in the east of the city following raids scotland yard's named two of the three men who carried out the atrocity one of them 27yearold cure am thoughts was named.

prime minister independent review uk nandan scotland