What Is NATO?


What is NATO? NATO is the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. NATO was formed post World War II, and it was formed with the idea of trying to hedge against the Soviet Union. Now there are some good reasons for that in the Soviet Union was an evil empire in more ways than one. Albeit, I don't think we're quite honest with some of our relationship with the Soviet Union. We did partner with the Soviet Union to defeat the Nazis. After that there was this mad dash of who will control Europe and NATO was formed. NATO has 30 member countries. These countries, Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, turkey, which I never quite understood. United Kingdom and the United States. These are 30 independent member countries. And there is what is called article 6. The article 5 article 6 of NATO, which is the mutual defense clause of NATO, which is an attack on one, is an attack on all.

Coming up next